New Media, Cultural Studies, and Critical Theory after Postmodernism by Robert SamuelsThis book argues that we have moved into a new cultural period, automodernity, which represents a social, psychological, and technological reaction to postmodernity. In fact, by showing how individual autonomy is now being generated through technological and cultural automation, Samuels posits that we must rethink modernity and postmodernity.
Publication Date: 2010-01-13
Media Studies by Sue Thornham (Editor); Caroline Bassett (Editor); Paul Marris (Editor)Media Studies: A Reader introduces a full range of theoretical perspectives through which the media may be explored, analysed, critiqued, and understood. The Reader reaches back to essential statements from writers such as Raymond Williams, Stuart Hall, Marshall McLuhan, Jürgen Habermas, Jean Baudrillard and Michel Foucault, whose work was central to forming the field. It also includes wide ranging work on contemporary media formations from a stellar collection of diverse theorists, including Annabelle Sreberny, Paul Gilroy, Charlotte Brunsden, Angela McRobbie, Asu Askoy and Kevin Robins, Micheal Bull, and Nick Couldry, to name only a very few of those included. Finally, the Reader looks to the future, exploring new media formations and their significance, through the work of Mark Andrejevic, Lev Manovich, Jonathan Sterne and others.The sixty-five readings are divided into two main parts: 'Studying the Media' begins with a section on key theoretical perspectives and follows this with five sections opening up questions around the Public Sphere, Representation, Feminism and Gender, Audiences, and Everyday Life respectively. The second part, 'Case Studies', brings together concrete examples of how theoretical approaches can be realised through a series of case studies, covering for instance, reality TV, news, advertising, and new media. With easy-to-follow introductions and guides to further reading accompanying each section, Media Studies: A Reader equips the student to engage with key debates in the field. This new edition updates all sections with a rich selection of contemporary writing complementing re-chosen media 'classics'. In addition: * Further Reading lists have been comprehensively updated* Introductory essays to each section have been expanded and re-written
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
Arnheim for Film and Media Studies by Scott Higgins (Editor)In this volume, an international group of leading scholars revisits Rudolf Arnheim's legacy for film and media studies. The contributors bring Arnheim's later work on the visual arts to bear on film and media, while also reassessing the implications of his film theory to help refine our grasp of his landmark work Film as Art, among his other texts. The volume includes a foreword by David Bordwell and an afterword by Noel Carroll. This is essential reading for any film and media student or scholar seeking to understand the meaning and contemporary impact of Arnheim's foundational work in film theory and aesthetics.
Identifies articles on many subjects with some full text.
Includes full text from these databases, when available: General Science Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, Index to Legal periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Index, Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, and Wilson Business Abstracts.
Free: The Freedom Forum OnlineSponsored by the Freedom Forum, a nonpartisan foundation dedicated to free speech, this site provides information about the first amendment, diversity in journalism, and an interactive museum of news.
FCC Media BureauThe Federal Communications Commission Media Bureau page provides official information on broadcast television and radio.
Assignment EditorThis site is designed to help journalists find stories and do research on the Internet. It includes links to television news sites, various directories, online reference sources and much more.
Knight Digital Media Center @ USC AnnenbergThe KDMC is designed to help journalists, news organizations, and community groups succeed in the digital age. It includes resources and training in a variety of formats including self-directed, web-based learning modules, instructor-led virtual classes and workshops, and networking tools.