It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MUSC 147: Gospel Music in America: Home
This course explores how and why pop musicians create concept albums: full-length studio albums organized around a single compositional or narrative theme. Josef Hanson
Welcome to the Art/Music Library
Welcome to the Art/Music Library. Please ask us for help! Our librarians and student workers at the desk can help you find resources and information.
The Art/Music Library is located on the ground floor of Rush Rhees Library. All scores (M call numbers) and music books (ML and MT call numbers) are located on the open shelves within the Art/Music Library, as are current copies of our music magazines and journals.
CDs are kept in the back and may be requested from the desk. LPs are stored in the Art stacks.
Recordings may be listened to in the Art/Music library or checked out for a limited time period.
Reference books are located in the rear left nook.
Finale and Sibelius music-writing programs are available at two of our work stations. Please ask at the desk.
About this course
This course explores how and why pop musicians create concept albums: full-length studio albums organized around a single compositional or narrative theme. Examples include Quadrophenia (1973) by The Who, The Wall (1979) by Pink Floyd, American Idiot (2004) by Green Day, and the seven-part Metropolis series (2007-present) by Janelle Monáe. In addition to developing a broad perspective of the concept album’s significance within popular music history, each student will become an expert on one concept album of their choice and will share findings via a class presentation and final paper.
Books about Music and Sound. 33⅓ (Thirty-Three and a Third) is a series of books written about music albums from the last 50 years or so, featuring one author per album. The series title refers to the speed (33⅓ revolutions per minute) of an LP album.
Radiohead and the Resistant Concept Album by Marianne Tatom Letts
Publication Date: 2010-11-08
Beyond and Before by Paul Hegarty; Martin Halliwell
Publication Date: 2011-06-23
Pink Floyd and Philosophy by George A. Reisch (Editor); Ilkka Niiniluoto (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007-11-28
Radiohead and Philosophy by Brandon W. Forbes (Editor); George A. Reisch (Editor); Ilkka Niiniluoto (Editor)
Expands and enhances the global bibliography of writings on music with the addition of a million pages of full-text content from more than 200 key periodicals, many of which are not available anywhere else online.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
The jazz/R&B/roots music portion of the catalog comprises the Fantasy group of labels (Pablo, Original Jazz Classics, Prestige, Milestone, Stax/Volt, Riverside, Jazzland, Specialty, Takoma, Kicking Mule, Debut, Contemporary/Good Time Jazz, Bluesville, and others).
Cylinder recordings, the first commercially produced sound recordings, are a snapshot of musical and popular culture in the decades around the turn of the 20th century. With funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the UCSB Libraries have created a digital collection of over 10,000 cylinder recordings held by the Department of Special Collections. In an effort to bring these recordings to a wider audience, they can be freely downloaded or streamed online. On this site you will have the opportunity to find out more about the cylinder format, listen to thousands of musical and spoken selections from the late 19th and early 20th centuries, and discover a little-known era of recorded sound.
The Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) is a not-for-profit streamed audio resource providing CD quality audio, complete and original liner notes and essays from New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. (CRI) and other important labels. DRAM offers on-demand, high-quality (192kbps/MP4) streaming access to complete works. DRAM is accessible only at the Eastman School of Music, but does not limit the number of users at any one time.
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. The Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925.
This video streaming database contains 24,192 titles spanning just about every subject area: performing arts, visual arts, social sciences and the “hard” sciences. The Music & Dance category contains 900 films covering a huge variety of music and dance.
Government Information, Economics, Law and Music Librarian