It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MUR 133: Musical Theater Workshop: Home
Welcome to the Art/Music Library
Welcome to the Art/Music Library. Please ask us for help! Our librarians and student workers at the desk can help you find resources and information.
The Art/Music Library is located on the ground floor of Rush Rhees Library. All scores (M call numbers) and music books (ML and MT call numbers) are located on the open shelves within the Art/Music Library, as are current copies of our music magazines and journals.
CDs are kept in the back and may be requested from the desk. LPs are stored in the Art stacks.
Recordings may be listened to in the Art/Music library or checked out for a limited time period.
Reference books are located in the rear left nook.
Finale and Sibelius music-writing programs are available at two of our work stations. Please ask at the desk.
Presents over 60 years of data about music charts, popular, jazz, and classical styles.
Includes tools to analyze, compare and contrast artists, songs, trends, and statistics.
The Cambridge Companion to the Musical by William A. Everett (Editor); Paul R. Laird (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017-09-21
The expanded and updated third edition of this acclaimed Companion provides an accessible, broadly based survey of one of the liveliest and most popular forms of musical performance. It ranges from the American musical of the nineteenth century to the most recent productions on Broadway, in London's West End, and many other venues, and includes key information on singers, audiences, critical reception, and traditions. Contributors approach the subject from a wide variety of perspectives, including historical concerns, artistic aspects, important trends, attention to various genres, the importance of stars, the influence of race, the various disciplines of theatrical production, the musical in varied media, and changes in technology. Chapters related to the contemporary musical have been updated, and two new chapters cover the television musical and the British musical since 1970. Carefully organised and highly readable, it will be welcomed by enthusiasts, students, and scholars alike.
Broadway by Ken Bloom
Publication Date: 2003-11-11
Acting Through Song by Paul Harvard
Publication Date: 2014-08-05
The Stage Directions Guide to Musical Theater by Stephen Peithman (Editor); Neil Offen (Editor)
Publication Date: 2001-11-28
Staging Musical Theatre by Elaine A. Novak; Deborah Novak
Publication Date: 1996-09-15
Acting in Musical Theatre by Joe Deer; Rocco dal Vera
Publication Date: 2008-03-11
The Oxford Handbook of Sondheim Studies by Robert Gordon (Editor)
Expands and enhances the global bibliography of writings on music with the addition of a million pages of full-text content from more than 200 key periodicals, many of which are not available anywhere else online.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
This video streaming database contains 24,192 titles spanning just about every subject area: performing arts, visual arts, social sciences and the “hard” sciences. The Music & Dance category contains 900 films covering a huge variety of music and dance.
Government Information, Economics, Law and Music Librarian