Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books in Voyager
Here is a sample list of books on Ethnic American Literature in our catalog.
Jewish-American Literature by Jewish-American writing holds an essential place in America's literary tradition, and Jewish-American writers have flourished in many genres, including fiction, drama, poetry, and more. Encyclopedia of Jewish-American Literature examines hundreds of these authors and works, focusing on those that are part of the high school and college curriculum, as well as historically significant and very recent literature. Coverage includes: The Adventures of Augie March Woody Allen American Pastoral The Autobiography of Alice B. Toklas Saul Bellow Michael Chabon Everything Is Illuminated "Gimpel the Fool" Allen Ginsberg Joseph Heller Erica Jong Denise Levertov Norman Mailer Bernard Malamud Maus Arthur Miller The Natural Tillie Olsen Cynthia Ozick Dorothy Parker Chaim Potok Ragtime Philip Roth Isaac Bashevis Singer Susan Sontag Elie Wiesel and more.
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature by Asian Americans have been writing and publishing since the 19th century, but today the popularity and importance of Asian-American literature is greater than ever. Encyclopedia of Asian-American Literature traces American writers whose roots are in all parts of Asia, including China, Korea, Japan, Southeast Asia, the Philippines, the Indian subcontinent, and the Middle East. Emphasis is on works that are important in the high school and college literary canon, as well as the historically significant and the contemporary. Coverage includes: Carlos Bulosan Donald Duk Sui Sin Far (Edith Maude Eaton) Jessica Hagedorn David Henry Hwang Maxine Hong Kingston Interpreter of Maladies Gish Jen Ha Jin The Joy Luck Club Jhumpa Lahiri Chang-rae Lee Bharati Mukherjee Native Speaker No-No Boy Naomi Shihab Nye John Okada Cathy Song Amy Tan Waiting The Woman Warrior and more.
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
Ethnic American Literature by In Ethnic American Literature: Comparing Chicano, Jewish, and African American Writing, Dean J. Franco offers a comparative approach to ethnic literature that begins by accounting for the intrinsic historical, geographical, and political contingencies of different American cultures. These contingencies, he argues, dictate critical perspectives that are ultimately ethical and that establish the terms for the study of ethnic literature in the first place. Franco looks at a range of writing, from novels by Philip Roth, Cynthia Ozick, Toni Morrison, and Alejandro Morales, to literature and criticism by Tony Kushner, Cherrie Moraga, and José Limón, among others. While the early chapters focus specifically on what mourning means in these different cultural contexts in the representation of and response to trauma and loss, the later ones critically examine metaphors of the borderlands, diaspora, and nationalism. Proposing a method that both accounts for what is common in ethnic literary cultures and describes what is at stake in understanding their differences, the author extends current discussions of identity politics, race theory, trauma studies, and multiculturalism into a praxis of comparative ethnic literary criticism that is rooted in an ethics of respect.
Publication Date: 2006-11-14
Encyclopedia of Hispanic-American Literature by Hispanic-American literature has a venerable history, but it has never been more important and popular than it is now. Containing more than 250 entries, Encyclopedia of Hispanic-American Literature includes those authors and works that are an integral part of the high school and college literary canon, as well as those that are historically significant or gaining a reputation in today's literary circles. Coverage includes: Isabel Allende Julia Alvarez Rudolfo Anaya Bless Me, Ultima Chicano literature Junot Díaz Dominican-American literature El Bronx Remembered Cristina García Oscar Hijuelos Hispanic-American journalism How the García Girls Lost Their Accents The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love Jose Martí Pat Mora Nuyorican Poets Café Richard Rodriguez and more.
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Unsettling the Bildungsroman by What kinds of uncertainties and desires do generic issues evoke? How can we account for the continuing hold of the "Bildungsroman "as a model of analysis? "Unsettling the Bildungsroman: Reading Contemporary Ethnic American Women's Fiction" combines genre and cultural theory and offers a cross-ethnic comparative approach to the tradition of the female novel of development and the American coming-of-age narrative. Examining closely the work of Jamaica Kincaid, Sandra Cisneros, Maxine Hong Kingston, and Audre Lorde, the chapters foreground processes of constructing an alternative "art of living" which challenges the "Bildungsroman"'s drive for either assimilation or ethnic homogeneity and pushes for new configurations of ethnic and American female identity. Drawing on feminist/gender studies, psychoanalytic theory, translation theory, queer theory, and disability studies, the book provides a theoretically engaged rethinking of the "Bildungsroman"'s form and function. Addressing questions of aesthetics and politics, freedom and belonging, betrayal and responsibility, and tracing the "Bildungsroman"'s links with life-writing forms such as immigrant narrative, mother-daughter story, biomythography, and illness narrative, the study outlines the various ways in which the novel of individual development becomes an appropriate site for the negotiation of several enduring and contentious tensions in ethnic American writing. Of potential interest to scholars of American literature, but also ethnic, feminist and postcolonial literatures, and to students of American literature and culture, the book demonstrates the "Bildungsroman"'s ongoing relevance and expanded capacity of representation in an ethnic American and postcolonial context.
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
The Cambridge Companion to Jewish American Literature by Jewish Americans produced some of the most important writing in the U.S. in the twentieth century. This Companion addresses the distinctive Jewish American contribution to American literary criticism, poetry and popular culture. It establishes the broadest possible context for the discussion of Jewish American identity as it intersects with the corpus of American literature. Featuring a chronology and guide to further reading, the volume is valuable to scholars and students alike.
Publication Date: 2003-06-12