Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
World Lit in Voyager
Here are some books available on World Literature.
World Literature by World Literature is an increasingly influential subject in literary studies, which has led to the re-framing of contemporary ideas of 'national literatures', language and translation. World Literature: A Reader brings together thirty essential readings which display the theoretical foundations of the subject, as well as showing its conceptual development over a two hundred year period. The book features: an illuminating introduction to the subject, with suggested reading paths to help readers navigate through the materials texts exploring key themes such as globalization, cosmopolitanism, post/trans-nationalism, and translation and nationalism writings by major figures including J. W. Goethe, Karl Marx, Friedrich Engels, Longxi Zhao, David Damrosch, Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak, Pascale Casanova and Milan Kundera. The early explorations of the meaning of 'Weltliteratur' are introduced, while twenty-first century interpretations by leading scholars today show the latest critical developments in the field. The editors offer readers the ideal introduction to the theories and debates surrounding the impact of this crucial area on the modern literary landscape.
Publication Date: 2012-07-10
World Literature in Spanish by Containing roughly 850 entries about Spanish-language literature throughout the world, this expansive work provides coverage of the varied countries, ethnicities, time periods, literary movements, and genres of these writings. * Contains roughly 850 A–Z entries related to Spanish-language literature and related topics throughout the world, from the Middle Ages up to the present day * Includes contributions from nearly 200 scholars from the Americas, Europe, Asia, and Australia * Provides bibliographies containing major English-language print reference works, free electronic sources with peer-reviewed information, major academic websites, and well-established electronic journals * Contains an extended glossary of literary and cultural terms such as "subaltern" and basic cultural features of Hispanic society, such as "el barrio" and "Negrismo" * Includes a chronological appendix containing entries organized by date
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Combined and Uneven Development by The ambition of this book is to resituate the problem of 'world literature', considered as a revived category of theoretical enquiry, by pursuing the literary-cultural implications of the theory of combined and uneven development. This theory has a long pedigree in the social sciences, where it continues to stimulate debate. But its implications for cultural analysis have received less attention, even though the theory might be said to draw attention to a central -perhaps the central - arc or trajectory of modern(ist) production in literature and the other arts worldwide. It is in the conjuncture of combined and uneven development, on the one hand, and the recently interrogated and expanded categories of 'world literature' and 'modernism', on the other, that this book looks for its specific contours. In the two theoretical chapters that frame the book, the authors argue for a single, but radically uneven world-system; a singular modernity, combined and uneven; and a literature that variously registers this combined unevenness in both its form and content to reveal itself as, properly speaking, world-literature. In the four substantive chapters that then follow, the authors explore a selection of modern-era fictions in which the potential of their method of comparativism seems to be most dramatically highlighted. They treat the novel paradigmatically, not exemplarily, as a literary form in which combined and uneven development is manifested with particular salience, due in no small part to its fundamental association with the rise of capitalism and its status in peripheral and semi-peripheral societies as a 'modernising' import. The peculiar plasticity and hybridity of the novel form enables it to incorporate not only multiple literary levels, genres and modes, but also other non-literary and archaic cultural forms - so that, for example, realist elements might be mixed with more experimental modes of narration, or older literary devices might be reactivated in juxtaposition with more contemporary frames.
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Voyager: Postcolonial Lit & Theory
The following titles are examples of books on Postcolonial Studies. For more titles, see here.
Postcolonial Studies by <p>This new anthology brings together the most diverse and recent voices in postcolonial theory to emerge since 9/11, alongside classic texts in established areas of postcolonial studies.</p> <ul> <li>Brings fresh insight and renewed political energy to established domains such as nation, history, literature, and gender</li> <li>Engages with contemporary concerns such as globalization, digital cultures, neo-colonialism, and language debates</li> <li>Includes wide geographical coverage from Ireland and India to Israel and Palestine</li> <li>Provides uniquely broad coverage, offering a full sense of the tradition, including significant essays on science, technology and development, education and literacy, digital cultures, and transnationalism</li> <li>Edited by a distinguished postcolonial scholar, this insightful volume serves scholars and students across multiple disciplines from literary and cultural studies, to anthropology and digital studies</li> </ul>
Publication Date: 2015-09-08
Colonialism/Postcolonialism by A comprehensive introduction to the theory of postcolonial studies, including examples from historical and literary texts.
Contemporary Literature of Africa by This book focuses on a relatively neglected aspect of African literature. Tijan M. Sallah is a Gambian, and arguably the best known of the second generation of writers from that country. To date, he has published ten books: five collections of poetry, a volume of short stories, two edited anthology of poetry (the second one with Tanure Ojaide, the Nigerian poet), a literary biography of Chinua Achebe, the Nigerian novelist (coauthored with Ngozi Okonjo Iweala, currently Nigeria's Minister of Finance), and an ethnographic book on Wolof, the dominant ethnic group of the Senegambian people. Tijan M. Sallah won the Francis Hutchins award for literature in Berea College. Lenrie Peters, arguably the best-known Gambian author, and mentor to most members of the country's second-generation of writers including Sallah himself, Ebou Dibba, Nana Grey-Johnson, Sheriff Sarr and Gabriel Roberts, described Sallah as the most prolific, the most consistent, and the most original Gambian writer of his generation. This opinion is widely shared; for example, in reviewing Sallah's When Africa was a Young Woman for World Literature Today, Charles Larson, the American scholar of African literature, opined that "there is little question about Sallah's talents." Sallah writes using simple, accessible language but also demonstrates his adventurous side in his works (e.g., "Harrow Poems" in which he experiments with rhymes and quatrains). Gambian literature has suffered some neglect in African literary criticism. The reason for this lies in the erroneous belief that the country has produced little that is worthy of serious scholarly attention. To be sure, there already exists a fairly substantial body of critical works on the writings of Tijan Sallah; and many of them, again, are by well-known names in the field of literary criticism. Some of these scholars are Charles Larson, Tanure Ojaide, Emmanuel Obiechina, Ezenwa Ohaeto, Gareth Griffiths, Samuel Garren, Victoria Arana, Stewart Brown, Odun Balogun, Peter Nazareth, Ali Malhani, and Siga Fatima Jagne. As insightful as these writings are however, it is not often easy to access them, scattered as they are in disparate journals, edited books, and compendiums of essays. This book fills the gap by as the first book-length critical study both on Tijan M. Sallah and Gambian literature. The first part of the book delves into the background of the literature with a discussion of works by leading Gambian authors, including Lenrie Peters, Ebou Dibba and then Tijan Sallah. The core of the book then turns the focus on the works of Tijan Sallah. These chapters explore his growth and development as a writer and provide critical analyses into his major works. While some of the chapters take the works together in general thematic and stylistic discussion, others focus on specifically selected works, analyzing and studying them closely. At least two of the chapters adopt a specifically linguistic approach; another two locate the works within the trend of ecopoetry, an emerging genre of nature poetry; one explores Sallah's poems of convalescence, pointing out the therapeutic nature of the writings; and yet another employs the theory of phenomenology in carrying out an investigation of Sallah's poetry in comparison with the works of other major African poets. The final chapter is a detailed interview conducted with Sallah. It sheds light on his life, his Gambian background, and how this affects and influences his writings. Contemporary Literature of Africa: Tijan M. Sallah and Literary Works of The Gambia is important for all those interested in Gambian and African literatures, postcolonial writings and world literatures in general.
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Nation-Building, Propaganda, and Literature in Francophone Africa by What characterizes the relationship between literature and the state? Should literature serve the needs of the state by constructing national consciousness, espousing state propaganda, and molding good citizens? Or should it be dedicated to a different kind of creative social endeavor? In this important book about literature and the politics of nation-building, Dominic Thomas assesses the contributions of Francophone African writers whose works have played a key role in the recent transition to democracy in the Congo. Exploring the works of Sony Labou Tansi, Henri Lopes, and Emmanuel Dongala, among others, Thomas highlights writers intimately involved with government and politics--whether in support of the state's vision or with the intention of articulating a more open view of citizens and society. Focusing on themes such as collaboration, reconciliation, identity, history, and memory, Nation-Building, Propaganda, and Literature in Francophone Africa elaborates a broader understanding of the circumstances of African colonization, modern African nation-state formation, and the complex cultural dynamics at work in Africa since independence.
Publication Date: 2002-11-19
Writing India, Writing English by The essays in this book look at the interaction between English and other Indian languages and focus on the pressure of languages on writers and on each other. Divided into two parts, the first part of the book deals with the pressure that English language has exerted, and continues to exert, in India and our ideas of connectedness as a nation in the ways in which we deal with this pressure. The essays emphasise on the emergence of the hybrid language in the Tamil cultural world because of the presence of English (and Hindi); on the politics of 'anthologisation'; and how Karnad's Tughlaq deals with the idea of the nation, looking at its historical location. The second part of the book focuses on Indian English literature and deals with how it interacts with the idea of representing the Indian nation, sometimes obsessively, seen both in poetry and novels. The book argues that the writer's location is crucial to the world of imagination, whether in the novel, poetry or drama. The world is inflected by the location of the author, and the struggle between the language dominant in that location and English is part of the creative tension that provides energy and uniqueness to writing.
Publication Date: 2011-08-30
Where Worlds Collide by Pakistan's current generation of English-language novelists, born after the 1971 war and writing in the twenty-first century, must navigate between the ancient cultural history they have inherited and the relative youth of their country as a political construct. In this book, Dr David Waterman explores the works of seven writers of this generation, including both residents of Pakistan and authors from the diaspora, in order to examine the manner in which questions of history, culture, and identity arise from this process. Pakistan's history and its present moment have introduced a number of issues of urgent relevance that these writers explore in very practical terms: What does it mean to be a Pakistani now and what might it mean in the near future? How does one speak of past trauma without disrupting the present? What is the role for Islam to play in the governance of such a diverse country? How can we ensure the future of the boys and girls of this land, which is paradoxically both rich and poor? Where Worlds Collide is a survey of contemporary Pakistani writers and their efforts to trace the itinerary of Pakistan in the twenty-first century. The fictional portrayals of lives represented in the works of these authors take into account everyday issues, stories of individuals and their families, their joys and sorrows and fears, and place them in the context of the greater story of Pakistan.
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
Terror and Reconciliation by Terror and Reconciliation explores the English language literature that has emerged from Sri Lanka s quarter-century long ethnic conflict. It examines poetry, short fiction and novels by both diasporic writers and writers resident in Sri Lanka. Its discussion of resident Sri Lankan writers is particularly important because it calls attention to a rich and ambitious body of work that has largely been ignored in the Western academy and media until now. The book outlines the ways in which a wide range of resident and diasporic writers have sought to represent the conflict, mourn the violence and terror associated with the conflict, and present options for reconciliation in the conflict s aftermath. The writers discussed grapple with issues of terrorism, human rights, nationalism, war, democracy, gender, ethnicity, and reconciliation, making this a study of profound interest for students and scholars of South Asian literature and culture, postcolonial studies, race and ethnic studies, women s studies, and peace studies."
Publication Date: 2012-03-29
Jamaica's Difficult Subjects by Recognizing that in the contemporary postcolonial moment, national identity and cultural nationalism are no longer the primary modes of imagining sovereignty, Sheri-Marie Harrison argues that postcolonial critics must move beyond an identity-based orthodoxy as they examine problems of sovereignty. In Jamaica’s Difficult Subjects: Negotiating Sovereignty in Anglophone Caribbean Literature and Criticism, Harrison describes what she calls #147;difficult subjects”#151;subjects that disrupt essentialized notions of identity as equivalent to sovereignty. She argues that these subjects function as a call for postcolonial critics to broaden their critical horizons beyond the usual questions of national identity and exclusion/inclusion. nbsp; Harrison turns to Jamaican novels, creative nonfiction, and films from the 1960s to the present and demonstrates how they complicate standard notions of the relationship between national identity and sovereignty. nbsp;She constructs a lineage between the difficult subjects in classic Caribbean texts like Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys and The Harder they Come by Perry Henzell and contemporary writing by Marlon James and Patricia Powell. What results is a sweeping new history of Caribbean literature and criticism that reconfigures how we understand both past and present writing. Jamaica’s Difficult Subjects rethinks how sovereignty is imagined, organized, and policed in the postcolonial Caribbean, opening new possibilities for reading multiple generations of Caribbean writing.
Publication Date: 2014-09-28
Caribbean Literature and the Public Sphere by Bringing together the most exciting recent archival work in anglophone, francophone, and hispanophone Caribbean studies, Raphael Dalleo constructs a new literary history of the region that is both comprehensive and innovative. He examines how changes in political, economic, and social structures have produced different sets of possibilities for writers to imagine their relationship to the institutions of the public sphere. In the process, he provides a new context for rereading such major writers as Mary Seacole, José Martí, Jacques Roumain, Claude McKay, Marie Chauvet, and George Lamming, while also drawing lesser-known figures into the story. Dalleo's comparative approach will be important to Caribbeanists from all of the region's linguistic traditions, and his book contributes even more broadly to debates in Latin American and postcolonial studies about postmodernity and globalization.
Publication Date: 2011-10-17
South East Asia
Post-Colonial Essays on South Pacific Literature by
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Empire's Proxy by Part of the American Literatures Initiative Series In the late nineteenth century, American teachers descended on the Philippines, which had been newly purchased by the U.S. at the end of the Spanish-American War. Motivated by President McKinley's project of "benevolent assimilation," they established a school system that centered on English language and American literature to advance the superiority of the Anglo-Saxon tradition, which was held up as justification for the U.S.'s civilizing mission and offered as a promise of moral uplift and political advancement. Meanwhile, on American soil, the field of American literature was just being developed and fundamentally, though invisibly, defined by this new, extraterritorial expansion. Drawing on a wealth of material, including historical records, governmental documents from the War Department and the Bureau of Insular Affairs, curriculum guides, memoirs of American teachers in the Philippines, and 19th century literature, Meg Wesling not only links empire with education, but also demonstrates that the rearticulation of American literary studies through the imperial occupation in the Philippines served to actually define and strengthen the field. Empire's Proxy boldly argues that the practical and ideological work of colonial dominance figured into the emergence of the field of American literature, and that the consolidation of a canon of American literature was intertwined with the administrative and intellectual tasks of colonial management.
Publication Date: 2011-04-11