There are a lot of library resources out there. This is not an exhaustive list but a very large list of some of the library and web resources that might be particularly helpful for your assignment. Consider discussing your work with your instructor or librarian, who can give advice on which resources might be most helpful to YOU..
Identifies and locates books and other materials owned by libraries in the Rochester region and nationally.
tags: firstsearch, first search, world cat, worldcat
Need an item that we don’t have in the stacks? ILL works with libraries all over the world to get U of R students, faculty members, employees, and affiliates the materials they need. Submit your request now!
The River Campus Libraries welcome suggestions for the purchase of materials for our library collections. Your request will be reviewed by library staff. Preference will be to acquire the eBook format where available. Please indicate in the Notes field if you would prefer that we acquire the print format.
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Journals from Sage Publications. Browse or search tables of contents, abstracts and full text articles in all disciplines.
Includes the Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. Full text available as indicated. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Identifies articles on many subjects with some full text.
Includes full text from these databases, when available: General Science Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, Index to Legal periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Index, Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, and Wilson Business Abstracts.
Selected book titles in all disciplines. Formerly known as NetLibrary.
Not all titles are downloadable. It depends on the agreement with the publisher, however many titles can be downloaded. If downloading is permitted, you will see a button in the results list that says "download offline," and on the record for the book itself, a utton that says "Download this ebook" Make sure that you have an up to date version of Adobe Digital Editions. Click here for more help.
This dictionary contains Seneca words that were collected over many years from various sources, both spoken and written. The collector was not a native speaker of the Seneca language, but he aimed for broad coverage and accuracy in spelling
A helpful tool when getting started with a new topic. Use the general information to take your research further, What are key topics, terms, or important names upon which you can perform subsequent searches? Use the reference list of the bottom of each article to follow previously written (and vetted) articles.
Provides a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. This digital archive highlights the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.
American Indian Newspapers aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. Representing a huge variety in style, production and audience, the newspapers include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. The 45 unique titles also include bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages.
A google search specific to this government agency can help you find relevant information from within the website.
EXAMPLE: "seneca nation" site:bia.gov
A google search specific to this museum can help you find relevant information from within the website.
EXAMPLE: Haudenosaunee site:americanindian.si.edu
A google search specific to the articles within this journal can help you find relevant information from within the website.
EXAMPLE: climate language site:jaie.asu.edu
