LibGuides: Photography and the Everyday: Home

Subject Guide

Stephanie Frontz

her, she

Email Me

Contact:

Art/Music Library
University of Rochester
Rochester, NY 14627
585-275-4476

Subjects: Art & Art History, Dance, Film & Media Studies, Music, Visual & Cultural Studies

Multidisciplinary Databases

ProQuest Research This link opens in a new window

Identifies articles on all topics, many with links to full text. Includes articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, news, trade journals and more
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window

Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Wilson OmniFile This link opens in a new window

Includes full text from these databases, when available: General Science Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, Index to Legal periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Index, Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, and Wilson Business Abstracts.

Art & Photography Resources

Articles and Books
Start here to search the library's resources!

Photography: a Critical Introduction by Liz Wells (Editor)
Call Number: Art Stacks - Art/Music Library Call Number: TR145 .P48 2015
ISBN: 9780415854283
Publication Date: 2015-03-04
Photography: A Critical Introduction was the first introductory textbook to examine key debates in photographic theory and place them in their social and political contexts, and is now established as one of the leading textbooks in its field.
Photography: A Cultural History by Mary Warner Marien
Call Number: On Reserve in Art/Music Library
ISBN: 9780205988945
Publication Date: 2013-12-30
A richer, more kaleidoscopic account of the history of photography, incorporating the latest research and international uses of photography, Mary Marien's comprehensive survey shows how photography has sharpened, if not altered forever, our perception of the world. It provides a unique focus on contemporary photo-based work and electronic media.
Critical Terms for Art History by Robert S. Nelson (Editor); Richard Shiff (Editor)
Call Number: N34 .C75 2003
ISBN: 0226571661
Publication Date: 2003-04-01
Art history as a field has kept pace with debates over globalization and other social and political issues in recent years, this book consists of essays that cover a wide variety of "loaded" terms in the history of art, from sign to meaning, ritual to commodity. Each essay explains and comments on a single term, discussing the issues the term raises and putting the term into practice as an interpretive framework for a specific work of art.

Oxford Art Online (Grove Dictionary of Art)
Contains all of the print Dictionary of Art's 41,000 articles, index of 720,000 entries and 750 line drawing illustrations, links to 8,000 color images.

Art Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Identifies older articles (1929-1984) on the visual arts and architecture.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles, books, dissertations and exhibition catalogs on art from Impressionism to present.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles and cited references in selected arts and humanities journals.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles on architecture and design, history of architecture, city planning.
BHA and RILA This link opens in a new window
BHA and RILA cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. BHA includes articles from over 1,200 journals. BHA includes all articles within the subject scope of BHA regardless of the subject focus of a particular journal. Thus, many of the journals on this list are covered partially, as only some of their articles are within BHA's scope.

Finding Newspapers
Use these selected databases to find full text articles, current or past, from national and international newspapers.
Citation Linker
If you have a citation to an article, Citation Linker will check to see if the library has it online. Enter as much of the citation as you have. If nothing is found, try again after removing page numbers and dates.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000,000 images covering art, architecture,fashion and archeology. Software tools support teaching and research.
including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.
Visual Resources Collection Database This link opens in a new window
A collection of about 40,000 images of various works of art, created locally by the Visual Resources Collection of the Art & Art History Department.
Requires NetID and password for use on and off campus.

American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
The Library of Congress offers access to a portion of its photography collection and other historical document collections
AP Images
Containing the Associated Press' photos, most since 1995, and a selection of pictures from their image library.
Finding Images on the Web
Extensive web page from Boston Univ. Libraries, with many links to search engines and web pages.
Getty Digital Collections
Digital collections that feature areas of special collections from the Research Library are available online. Digital collections may complement a Research Institute exhibition or focus on a particular artist, subject, collection, or group of collections. In addition to images and other media, they may include contextual and historical information and links to related resources both inside and outside the Getty.
Library of Congress Flickr Photostream
Thousands of historic photographs arranged in 13 searchable groups or sets covering various topics, such as Jazz, Baseball, World War I, Abraham Lincoln, Women, the 1930's and 40's.
Google Art Project
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.
Life Magazine images
An online photo gallery, hosted by Google, that features millions of images from Life magazine's archives.
New Deal Network Photo Gallery
Over 5000 Great Depression era images from the National Archives, the FDR Library and many other sources.
Rochester Images
Database includes 22,000 historical and contemporary images from Rochester and Monroe County. Images were chosen from the collections of the Central Library of Rochester and Monroe County Local History Division, the City of Rochester Municipal Archives and City Hall Photo Lab, the Rochester Museum & Science Center, the Town of Brighton Historian's Office, the Town of Perinton Historian's Office, the Village of East Rochester Historian's Office and the Village of Hilton Historian's Office.

American Memory Project, Library of Congress
Browse the collection by topics.
Archives of American Art Photography Collections
Alphabetical listing of Photographers with links to oral interviews, papers, correspondence, images, recordings and more.
George Eastman Museum
The Image Licensing site provides images to the major collections, including Ansel Adams’ early and vintage prints, nineteenth-century photographs of the American West, early French photography and one of the largest collections of daguerreotypes in the world.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Access online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Identifies and locates books and other materials owned by libraries in the US and internationally.
Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of UR, in all disciplines and formats, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections.

tags: firstsearch, first search, world cat

Moving Images
Search using the "Moving Images" tab on the River Campus Libraries homepage. Restrict to either DVD or Streaming.

If you don't locate what you need using the Moving Images tab, which restricts the search to those items in the River Campus Libraries, search for DVDs and videotapes in the Art/Music Library, the Memorial Art Gallery Library and the Sibley Music Library, as well as streaming video titles, using the Voyager Catalog. Use the limit feature in Voyager to restrict to DVD or Videotape.

The Art of Writing about Art by Suzanne Hudson; Nancy Noonan-Morrisey
Call Number: ArtStack N 7475.H83 2015
ISBN: 128544258X
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
THE ART OF WRITING ABOUT ART serves as a quick reference for students writing various types of essays, research papers, exhibition reviews, and even examinations. THE ART OF WRITING ABOUT ART not only emphasizes skills in college-level composition, but also in verbalizing the experience of art -- the historical, social, economic, and political forces that shape art and artists; art theory; and the interplay between artist and viewer.
A Short Guide to Writing about Art by Sylvan Barnet
Call Number: N7476 .B37 2015 (currently on Reserve Art/Music Library)
ISBN: 020588699X
Publication Date: 2014-01-15
A Short Guide to Writing About Art guides students through every aspect of writing about art, from . how to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture, to the tools they need to present their ideas through effective writing. Coverage of essential writing assignments includes formal analysis, comparison, research paper, review of an exhibition, and essay examination. New to the 11th edition is a chapter on "Virtual Exhibitions: Writing Text Panels and Other Materials."
The Elements of Academic Style by Eric Hayot
ISBN: 0231537417
Publication Date: 2014-08-05
Eric Hayot teaches graduate students and faculty in literary and cultural studies how to think and write like a professional scholar. Combining psychological support with practical suggestions for composing introductions and conclusions, developing a schedule for writing, using notes and citations, and structuring paragraphs and essays, this guide to the elements of academic style does its part to rejuvenate scholarship and writing in the humanities.
Writing about Art by Henry M. Sayre
Call Number: ArtStack N7476.S29 2009
ISBN: 9780205645787
Publication Date: 2008-07-10
This straightforward guide prepares students to describe, interpret, and write about works of art in meaningful and lasting terms. Designed as a supplement to Art History survey and period texts, this efficient book features a step-by-step approach to writing-from choosing a work to write about, to essay organization, to research techniques, to footnote form, to preparing the final essay. For beginners as well as more advanced students.

Writing and Citing
UR River Campus Libraries website with links to citation guides, writing guides, and citation management software.