Click here to learn more about the searching capabilities within DiscoverUR to make your research easier and more efficient.
Relevant Databases
Black Literature IndexThis link opens in a new windowOver 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews from 110 African-American periodicals and newspapers.
Part of Black Studies Center.
Black Studies CenterThis link opens in a new windowIncludes the Chicago Defender 1910-1975, International Index to Black Periodicals and Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience.
MLA International BibliographyThis link opens in a new windowIdentifies articles, books, dissertations on literature, linguistics, film and folklore.
Project MuseThis link opens in a new windowFull text of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowFull text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from earliest times to today. Sourced from nearly 20,000 American and global newspapers from 1704 to the present, including over 400 African American newspapers.
Reading strategies for vetting sources for close reading
