It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MUSC 144: Beethoven and His World: Home
Prof. Aaron James
Welcome to the Art/Music Library
Welcome to the Art/Music Library. Please ask us for help! Our librarians and student workers at the desk can help you find resources and information.
The Art/Music Library is located on the ground floor of Rush Rhees Library. All scores (M call numbers) and music books (ML and MT call numbers) are located on the open shelves within the Art/Music Library, as are current copies of our music magazines and journals.
CDs are kept in the back and may be requested from the desk. LPs are stored in the Art stacks.
Recordings may be listened to in the Art/Music library or checked out for a limited time period.
Reference books are located in the rear left nook.
Finale and Sibelius music-writing programs are available at two of our work stations. Please ask at the desk.
Government Information, Economics, Law and Music Librarian
The Writing, Speaking and Argument Center can help you at any stage of the writing process. Whether you need a quick help sheet, or an appointment with a writing consultant, there are many resources available at here.
Expands and enhances the global bibliography of writings on music with the addition of a million pages of full-text content from more than 200 key periodicals, many of which are not available anywhere else online.
These books and recordings can all be found in the Art/Music Library, and are just a few that you may find on our shelves. Be sure to check the UR Catalog for more, which may also include items at Sibley Music Library.
Beethoven by Lewis Lockwood
Publication Date: 2002-12-17
This brilliant portrayal weaves Beethoven's musical and biographical stories into their historical and artistic contexts. Lewis Lockwood sketches the turbulent personal, historical, political, and cultural frameworks in which Beethoven worked and examines their effects on his music. Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. 50 illustrations.
Beethoven the Pianist by Tilman Skowroneck
Publication Date: 2010-05-13
The widely held belief that Beethoven was a rough pianist, impatient with his instruments, is not altogether accurate: it is influenced by anecdotes dating from when deafness had begun to impair his playing. Presenting a detailed biography of Beethoven's formative years, this book reviews the composer's early career, outlining how he was influenced by teachers, theorists and instruments. Skowroneck describes the development and decline of Beethoven's pianism, and pays special attention to early pianos, their construction and their importance for Beethoven and the modern pianist. The book also includes discussions of legato and Beethoven's trills, and a complete annotated review of eyewitnesses' reports about his playing. Skowroneck presents a revised picture of Beethoven which traces his development from an impetuous young musician into a virtuoso in command of many musical resources.
Beethoven by Jan Swafford
Publication Date: 2014-08-05
Jan Swafford's magnificent new biography of Ludwig van Beethoven peels away layers of legend to get to the living, breathing human being who composed some of the world's most iconic music. Swafford mines sources never before used in English-language biographies to reanimate the revolutionary ferment of Enlightenment-era Bonn,where Beethoven grew up and imbibed the ideas that would shape all of his future work. Swafford then tracks his subject to Vienna, capital of European music, where Beethoven built his career in the face of critical incomprehension, crippling ill health, romantic rejection, and fate's hammer, his ever-encroaching deafness. Throughout, Swafford offers insightful readings of Beethoven's key works.
The Ninth by Harvey Sachs
Publication Date: 2010-06-15
"All men become brothers . . . Be embraced, ye millions!" ; The Ninth Symphony, a symbol of freedom and joy, was Beethoven's mightiest attempt to help humanity find its way from darkness to light, from chaos to peace. Yet the work was born in a repressive era, with terrified Bourbons, Hapsburgs, and Romanovs using every means at their disposal to squelch populist rumblings in the wake of the French Revolution and Napoleon's wars. Ironically, the premiere of this hymn to universal brotherhood took place in Vienna, the capital of a nation that Metternich was turning into the first modern police state. The Ninth's unveiling, on May 7, 1824, was the most significant artistic event of the year, and the work remains one of the most precedent-shattering and influential compositions in the history of music--a reference point and inspiration that resonates even today.
Use the Catalog Search in Articles, Books & More to search specifically for books or journal titles or other materials available at the University of Rochester Library. Use the full Articles & Books for searching for article authors and titles.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
The jazz/R&B/roots music portion of the catalog comprises the Fantasy group of labels (Pablo, Original Jazz Classics, Prestige, Milestone, Stax/Volt, Riverside, Jazzland, Specialty, Takoma, Kicking Mule, Debut, Contemporary/Good Time Jazz, Bluesville, and others).
Cylinder recordings, the first commercially produced sound recordings, are a snapshot of musical and popular culture in the decades around the turn of the 20th century. With funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the UCSB Libraries have created a digital collection of over 10,000 cylinder recordings held by the Department of Special Collections. In an effort to bring these recordings to a wider audience, they can be freely downloaded or streamed online. On this site you will have the opportunity to find out more about the cylinder format, listen to thousands of musical and spoken selections from the late 19th and early 20th centuries, and discover a little-known era of recorded sound.
The Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) is a not-for-profit streamed audio resource providing CD quality audio, complete and original liner notes and essays from New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. (CRI) and other important labels. DRAM offers on-demand, high-quality (192kbps/MP4) streaming access to complete works. DRAM is accessible only at the Eastman School of Music, but does not limit the number of users at any one time.
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. The Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925.
This video streaming database contains 24,192 titles spanning just about every subject area: performing arts, visual arts, social sciences and the “hard” sciences. The Music & Dance category contains 900 films covering a huge variety of music and dance.