It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MUSC 131: Rock Music in the 19070s: Home
This course surveys rock music in the 1970s, paying special attention to ways in which 70s styles developed out of 60s styles. Artists considered will include Jimi Hendrix, Cream, Yes, Led Zeppelin, The Who, The Allman Brothers, The Eagles, etc.
Welcome to the Art/Music Library
Welcome to the Art/Music Library. Please ask us for help! Our librarians and student workers at the desk can help you find resources and information.
The Art/Music Library is located on the ground floor of Rush Rhees Library. All scores (M call numbers) and music books (ML and MT call numbers) are located on the open shelves within the Art/Music Library, as are current copies of our music magazines and journals.
CDs are kept in the back and may be requested from the desk. LPs are stored in the Art stacks.
Recordings may be listened to in the Art/Music library or checked out for a limited time period.
Reference books are located in the rear left nook.
Finale and Sibelius music-writing programs are available at two of our work stations. Please ask at the desk.
Government Information, Economics, Law and Music Librarian
The Writing, Speaking and Argument Center can help you at any stage of the writing process. Whether you need a quick help sheet, or an appointment with a writing consultant, there are many resources available at here.
Useful materials for this course
These databases and books can all be found in the Art/Music Library, and are just a few that you may find on our shelves. Be sure to check the UR Catalog for more, which may also include items at Sibley Music Library.
Full text of complete runs of major trade and consumer magazines. Primary source material reflects the development of the entertainment industry as it evolved over the 20th century. Archive 1: Music, Radio and The Stage contains 17 titles such as Billboard (1894-2000), New Music Express (NME) (1946-2000) and The Stage (1880-2000. Archive 2: Film and Television includes 10 titles such as Variety (1905-2000), Boxoffice
(1920-2000) and Broadcast (1960-2000).
Includes a large section with films on all kinds of music.
The Rock History Reader by Theo Cateforis (Editor)
Call Number: ML3534 .R6333 2013
Publication Date: 2012-09-14
The Rock History Reader is an eclectic compilation of readings that tells the history of rock as it has been received and explained as a social and musical practice throughout its six decade history. Many entries also deal specifically with distinctive styles such as Motown, punk, disco, grunge, rap and indie rock. This second edition includes new readings on the early years of rhythm & blues and rock 'n' roll, as well as entries on payola, mods, the rise of FM rock, progressive rock and the PMRC congressional hearings.
Pink Floyd and Philosophy by George A. Reisch (Editor); Ilkka Niiniluoto (Editor)
Call Number: ML421.P6 P54 2007
Publication Date: 2007-11-28
16 scholars set delve into the heart of Pink Floyd by examining ideas, concepts, and problems usually encountered not in a rock band's lyrics but in the pages of Heidegger, Foucault,and Sartre.. The band's dynamic history allows the writers to explore controversies about intellectual property, the nature of authorship, and whether wholes, especially in the case of rock bands, are more than the sum of their parts.
American Popular Music by Larry Starr; Christopher Waterman
Call Number: ML3534.3 .S73 2006
Publication Date: 2005-10-27
American Popular Music: The Rock Years traces the development of rock from its roots in the mid-1940s to its current state in the twenty-first century, integrating in-depth discussions of the music itself with solid coverage of the attendant historical, social, and cultural circumstances. It strikes a balance between musical analysis and social context, showing how rock and American culture have continuously influenced each other over time.
Expands and enhances the global bibliography of writings on music with the addition of a million pages of full-text content from more than 200 key periodicals, many of which are not available anywhere else online.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
The jazz/R&B/roots music portion of the catalog comprises the Fantasy group of labels (Pablo, Original Jazz Classics, Prestige, Milestone, Stax/Volt, Riverside, Jazzland, Specialty, Takoma, Kicking Mule, Debut, Contemporary/Good Time Jazz, Bluesville, and others).
Cylinder recordings, the first commercially produced sound recordings, are a snapshot of musical and popular culture in the decades around the turn of the 20th century. With funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the UCSB Libraries have created a digital collection of over 10,000 cylinder recordings held by the Department of Special Collections. In an effort to bring these recordings to a wider audience, they can be freely downloaded or streamed online. On this site you will have the opportunity to find out more about the cylinder format, listen to thousands of musical and spoken selections from the late 19th and early 20th centuries, and discover a little-known era of recorded sound.
The Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) is a not-for-profit streamed audio resource providing CD quality audio, complete and original liner notes and essays from New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. (CRI) and other important labels. DRAM offers on-demand, high-quality (192kbps/MP4) streaming access to complete works. DRAM is accessible only at the Eastman School of Music, but does not limit the number of users at any one time.
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. The Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925.
This video streaming database contains 24,192 titles spanning just about every subject area: performing arts, visual arts, social sciences and the “hard” sciences. The Music & Dance category contains 900 films covering a huge variety of music and dance.
UR Catalog Search (using Articles, Books & More)
Use the Catalog Search in Articles, Books & More to search specifically for books or journal titles or other materials available at the University of Rochester Library. Use the full Articles & Books for searching for article authors and titles.