LibGuides: * Materials Science: Home

Materials Science Journals

Materials Science Journals via Browzine
Browse current Materials Science Journals that University of Rochester subscribes to. There is a mobile app as well. To find this download, see the upper right menu.

Nanoscale Advances
Nanoscale Advances is an international gold open access journal, publishing research across the breadth of nanoscience and nanotechnology.
Journal of Materials Research
JMR publishes materials research that demonstrates a significant scientific advance or understanding in materials science
MRS Advances
Reports snapshots of work in progress on key materials topics identified by MRS Meeting programming
MRS Communications
MRS Communications publishes materials research that is impactful, urgent, and of broad interest to the materials community

Materials Science Core Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Includes PatentPak, MethodsNow and Retrosynthesis Plan A separate registration is required before the first use. See About SciFinder for more detail.
To use off campus, use VPN.
Reaxys (2017 version) This link opens in a new window
Identifies chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions with references to journal and patent literature of chemistry. The data originates from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry, the Beilstein Handbuch der organischen Chemie and a Patent Chemistry database. To learn more, see About Reaxys.
Users should update their passwords.
ASM Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Data on metals properties and performance. Authoritative source on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology.
Online handbooks include: 26 volumes of the ASM Handbooks, 3 ASM Handbooks Supplements, and 2 ASM Desk Editions (Engineered Materials Handbook and Metal Handbook).
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full text of IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions and conference proceedings as well as active IEEE standards. Also includes access to the IEEE eLearning Library.
ThomasNet This link opens in a new window
Find suppliers or sources of components, equipment, supplies, raw materials and custom manufacturing services in North America.
The only free platform designed for sourcing components, equipment, MRO products, raw materials and custom manufacturing services. Discover OEMs, distributors and custom services; Meet certification, diversity and location needs; Send RFQs and RFIs.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and other literature on engineering, with some links to full text. Includes the Engineering Village backfile with access back to 1884.
Users should update their passwords.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
VPN required for off-campus access.
Users should update their passwords.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
Dimensions is a next-generation linked research information system that makes it easier to find and access the most relevant information, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy.
Patrons can register using UR credentials.
To request access to Dimensions Google BigQuery, please contact Dale Hess dale.hess@rochester.edu.

Materials Properties

Total Materia This link opens in a new window
Total Materia covers material information on over 700,000 material designations from over 80+ standard organizations and 1000s of producer data sheets. The platform covers both metallic and non-metallic materials as well as basic mechanical and physical properties, stress-strain curves, fatigue data, corrosion information and much more.
VPN Required for off-campus access.
MatWeb This link opens in a new window
Property data for materials including polymers, metals, alloys, semiconductors, fibers and other engineering materials.
Springer Materials This link opens in a new window
Data in the physical sciences and engineering from Landolt-Bornstein, etc.
Data in the physical sciences and engineering from Landolt-Bornstein, chemical safety data, the Dorthmund Data Bank Software and Separation Technology (DDBST), a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases. The chemical safety data is from REACH: Registration, Evaluation, Authorization and Restriction of Chemicals, GHS: Globally Harmonized System, RoHS: Restriction of Hazardous Substances and WEEE: Waste from Electrical and Electronic Equipment.
ASM Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Data on metals properties and performance. Authoritative source on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology.
Online handbooks include: 26 volumes of the ASM Handbooks, 3 ASM Handbooks Supplements, and 2 ASM Desk Editions (Engineered Materials Handbook and Metal Handbook).

DiscoverUR Catalog Search

Use the Catalog Search in DiscoverUR to search specifically for books or journal titles or other materials available at the University of Rochester Library. Use the full Articles, Books & More for searching for article authors and titles.

Need More?

WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
Identifies and locates books and other materials owned by libraries in the Rochester region and nationally.
tags: firstsearch, first search, world cat, worldcat

Interlibrary Loan
Not finding the article or book you need in the library? Use this free service to obtain library resources. A pdf of an article is usually delivered in 24 - 48 hours.
Recommend a purchase
If you think the library should purchase a copy of a book, report, or other types of materials, please fill out this form to let us know. UR login required.

Chemical Properties in Handbooks

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Data for chemistry, physics, and engineering. Requires JAVA to view & manipulate tables. Print books are also available for browsing.

Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards by Peter Urben (Editor)
ISBN: 9780123725639
Publication Date: 2006-11-28
Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards is widely regarded as the reference work in this field - an assembly of all reported risks such as explosion, fire, toxic or high-energy events that result from chemical reactions gone astray, with extensive referencing to the primary literature. It is designed to improve safety in laboratories that perform chemical synthesis and general research, as well as chemical manufacturing plants. Entries are ordered by empirical formula and indexed under both name(s) and Chemical Abstracts Registry Numbers. This two-volume compendium focuses on reactivity risks of chemicals, alone and in combination; toxicity hazards are only included for unexpected reactions giving volatile poisons.
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry by James G. Speight; Norbert Adolph Lange; John A. Dean
ISBN: 0071432205
Publication Date: 2005-01-10
Available in print at QD65 .L36 2005 and online, the Sixteenth Edition features an enormous compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings in every area of chemistry.Included in this massive compendium are listings of the properties of approximately 4,400 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds.This Sixteenth Edition offers 40% new or extensively revised content and starting with this edition, the author includes equations that allow users to calculate important values such as temperature and pressure. Contents: Organic Compounds * General Information, Conversion Tables, and Mathematics * Inorganic Compounds * Properties of Atom, Radicals, and Bonds * Physical Properties * Thermodynamic Properties * Spectroscopy * Electrolytes, Electromotive Force and Chemicals * Physicochemical Relationships * Polymers, Rubbers,Fats, Oils, and Waxes * Practical Laboratory Information

Tools for writing & citation

Writing and citing guide
Use this link to learn more about research strategies and various citation style guides

Dissertations in Materials Science

Print dissertations for materials science are located in Rush Rhees library, Level G100m at Call number AS38.6638 (PhD) or Call number AS38.4638 (Masters), and then in alphabetical order by author. These can be borrowed like books. They can be found by searching the author and/or title words in the catalog or searching on the call number. Searching the advisor name in quotes as a keyword may also find recent ones. Limit to the "River Campus Libraries" to see print only or to the "internet" to see ebooks. Most ebooks will not have a call number.

PhD Theses in UR Research
Search or Browse to find full text of ebook dissertations in Materials Science from 2008 to present.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Identifies Ph.D. dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities since 1861. Abstracts from 1980. Many with full-text.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Identifies dissertations, theses cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Covers all subjects.
Based on records contributed by OCLC member libraries (71,000+ worldwide. This database contains over 8 million records.

Ebook Collections in Materials Science

ACS Symposium Series
eBooks developed from ACS technical divisions' symposia

EBSCOHost eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
Selected book titles in all disciplines. Formerly known as NetLibrary.
Not all titles are downloadable. It depends on the agreement with the publisher, however many titles can be downloaded. If downloading is permitted, you will see a button in the results list that says "download offline," and on the record for the book itself, a utton that says "Download this ebook" Make sure that you have an up to date version of Adobe Digital Editions. Click here for more help.

Ebooks Help
by Kimberly Hoffman Last Updated Jul 26, 2019 13 views this year

Off Campus Access

All electronic library resources, including e-journals, databases, and course reserves, are available to current students, faculty, and staff from off-campus using either your My Account/NetID or VPN access. When you click on the link of a restricted library resource from the libraries' website, you will be prompted to login.

NetID
Info about your NetID and password.
Active Directory
Used to login to your Library account (My Account). For most people, it is the same as the NetID.
Remote Access (VPN)
Virtual Private Networking (VPN) establishes a connection so that you appear to be part of the University network. This eliminates repetitive logins. DUO two-factor authentication is necessary to set up your VPN.
DUO two-factor authentication
The University uses Duo to better protect University data. Duo authentication occurs after you log in with your user name and password using a mobile phone, tablet, or landline to verify your identity.

* Materials Science

Librarian

Carlson Video