ANTH 257 Chinese Society After Mao: Finding Sources

1. Do some general searching online
2. Scan encyclopedia/Wikipedia articles on your topic
3. Make note of specific words or phrases that are used when people are writing about your topic
4. Identify which websites are coming when you complete a general search (this will help for more specific Site Searching (described below).
5. Track sources you find or sources that are cited using a reference manager, Word/Google doc, etc.

Site Searching

• [enter keywords] site:[domain or domain url]
• URLs: .org, .gov, .int
  • domain specific to China: .cn
  • See https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/.cn for more information on Chinese domains
  • site searching using Chinese domains will not yield many results if you are searching in English
• No spaces between the word site and the domain!!!

​​

Social Media

• Twitter - https://twitter.com/search-advanced?lang=en 
• Reddit - https://www.reddit.com/
  • ​You'll have better luck searching Reddit using site search (see Site Searching section in this guide)

 Online Resources from the Syllabus

• ChinaFile The best site for expert commentary about current events in China. 
• Sixth Tone A great collection of Chinese journalism and opinion pieces translated into English 
• SUP China and the Sinica Podcast: Excellent news and analysis of China. The podcast frequently features expert interviews. 
• China Digital Times: Another good collection of important news and interesting tidbits on China from both English language and Chinese language media sources. Also check out their Grass Mud Horse Lexicon.

​News

• Google News - news.google.com
• Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window

  This opens a pop-up window to share the URL for this database

  Full text articles from the ethnic and minority press in the U.S.
• South China Morning Post This link opens in a new window 
  New
  This opens a pop-up window to share the URL for this database
  The South China Morning Post is a Hong Kong English-language newspaper, with coverage from 1903 to the present.
• Current Digest of the Chinese Press This link opens in a new window

  This opens a pop-up window to share the URL for this database

  Full text translations of Chinese news articles. Updated weekly, but with a lag of a few weeks while translation is done.

• Articles & Books - access news articles, scholarly sources and more using the library website
• Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
  This opens a pop-up window to share the URL for this database
  Identifies articles, books and book chapters on Asian history, geography and culture.