LibGuides: CHE 231 CHEMICAL REACTOR DESIGN: Home

Reactor Design

Elements of Chemical Reaction Engineering 6th Ed (ebook) by H. Scott Fogler
ISBN: 9780135486221
Publication Date: 2020-07-24
(Online - Main TEXT) This Sixth Edition and integrated Web site deliver a more compelling active learning experience than ever before. Using sliders and interactive examples in Wolfram, Python, POLYMATH, and MATLAB, students can explore reactions and reactors by running realistic simulation experiments. The book thoroughly prepares undergraduates to apply chemical reaction kinetics and physics to the design of chemical reactors. And four advanced chapters address graduate-level topics, including effectiveness factors. To support the field's growing emphasis on chemical reactor safety, each chapter now ends with a practical safety lesson.
Introduction to Chemical Engineering Kinetics and Reactor Design by Charles G. Hill; Thatcher W. Root
ISBN: 9781118797839
Publication Date: 2014-04-24
(Online Supplementary) This text continues to offer a solid background in chemical reaction kinetics as well as in material and energy balances, preparing readers with the foundation necessary for success in the design of chemical reactors. Moreover, it reflects not only the basic engineering science, but also the mathematical tools used by today's engineers to solve problems associated with the design of chemical reactors. The first one-third of the text emphasizes general principles of chemical reaction kinetics, setting the stage for the subsequent treatment of reactors intended to carry out homogeneous reactions, heterogeneous catalytic reactions, and biochemical transformations.

Core Chemical Engineering Databases & Search Tools

Background, Definitions, Facts, Handbooks, Encyclopedias

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students. Contains Perry's & Marks's Handbooks.
VPN Required for off-campus access.
Knovel Chemistry & Chemical Engineering This link opens in a new window
Find technical chemistry & chemical engineering information, material properties and interactive equations and data from full-text reference handbooks, manuals, conference proceedings, case studies, and material properties databases.
Interactive equations have unit conversion; selected data tables can be filtered and points on enhanced graphs can be determined with precision. See Using Knovel Libguide for details.

Engineering Specific Search

Compendex This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and other literature on engineering, with some links to full text. Includes the Engineering Village backfile with access back to 1884.
Users should update their passwords.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full text of IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions and conference proceedings as well as active IEEE standards. Also includes access to the IEEE eLearning Library.
ThomasNet This link opens in a new window
Find suppliers or sources of components, equipment, supplies, raw materials and custom manufacturing services in North America.
The only free platform designed for sourcing components, equipment, MRO products, raw materials and custom manufacturing services. Discover OEMs, distributors and custom services; Meet certification, diversity and location needs; Send RFQs and RFIs.

Chemistry Specific Search

CAS SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Includes PatentPak, MethodsNow and Retrosynthesis Plan. CAS Formulus, and CAS Analytical Methods have recently been added and can be found under the three dot menu on the upper left. A separate registration is required before the first use. See About SciFinder for more detail. To use off campus, use VPN..
Reaxys (2017 version) This link opens in a new window
Identifies chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions with references to journal and patent literature of chemistry. The data originates from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry, the Beilstein Handbuch der organischen Chemie and a Patent Chemistry database. To learn more, see About Reaxys.
Users should update their passwords.

Searching for Any Topics

Dimensions This link opens in a new window
Dimensions is a next-generation linked research information system that makes it easier to find and access the most relevant information, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy.
Patrons can register using UR credentials.
To request access to Dimensions Google BigQuery, please contact Dale Hess dale.hess@rochester.edu.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
VPN required for off-campus access.
Users should update their passwords.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.

Litmaps.com
Use a visual citations map to identify useful articles. Articles are highlighted based on an algorithm. Need to create an account.
Compare Chemical Engineering Databases

DiscoverUR Catalog Search

Use the Catalog Search in DiscoverUR to search specifically for books or journal titles or other materials available at the University of Rochester Library. Use the full Articles, Books & More for searching for article authors and titles.

Need More?

WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
Identifies and locates books and other materials owned by libraries in the Rochester region and nationally.
tags: firstsearch, first search, world cat, worldcat

Interlibrary Loan
Not finding the article or book you need in the library? Use this free service to obtain library resources. A pdf of an article is usually delivered in 24 - 48 hours.
Recommend a purchase
If you think the library should purchase a copy of a book, report, or other types of materials, please fill out this form to let us know. UR login required.

Chemical Engineering Journals

BrowZine App
Browse current Chemical Engineering Journals that University of Rochester subscribes to using a mobile app.

CHE 231 CHEMICAL REACTOR DESIGN

STEM Librarian