It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A unique interactive resource designed to bring dance to the Web and make it accessible to everyone. Dover Publications has graciously allowed the use of 170 terms from the Technical Manual and Dictionary of Classical Ballet, which are then demonstrated by ABT Company dancers.
With nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries, the Encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
Here’s what you need to know about the Hula. It’s an expressive traditional dance form originating from the Hawaii Islands. It comes together from the basic foot steps, circular hip movements and gestures symbolizing natural events and mythological subjects - so it’s basically a dance that tells a story. The other fun thing about it is that it’s really easy to learn, and it can also contribute to a healthy lifestyle, being a good and varied physical exercise.
With over 2,600 entries, the second edition of The Oxford Dictionary of Dance is a unique single volume reference on all aspects of dance performance written by two leading dance writers, Debra Craine and Judith Mackrell. The work covers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms and includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works and countries,
This database package includes online access to Grove Music Online, the largest and most comprehensive music encyclopedia. Grove Music Online includes articles related to ballet, modern, jazz, and folk dances in the context of their relationship to musical styles and theatrical works.
As the official reference manual of the Dance Masters of America, this tap dance resource contains more than 1,500 up-to-date entries about every facet of this uniquely American art form. It provides a history of tap dance as well as the dancers who defined it. This manual also includes a comprehensive dictionary of tap and dance terminology with a special section devoted to teachers.
Dance in a World of Change: Reflections on Globalization and Cultural Difference will help you understand how dance instruction is affected by globalization; discover the ways in which the discourse and curriculum of dance connect it to the critical, political, moral, and aesthetic dimensions of contemporary society; and learn from the rich and generative set of experiences of international dance educators, choreographers, critics, and scholars. Dance in a World of Change: Reflections on Globalization and Cultural Difference presents a range of international perspectives on dance pedagogy, the body, performance, and dance and culture.
This new collection of essays surveys the history of dance in an innovative and wide-ranging fashion. Editors Dils and Albright address the current dearth of comprehensive teaching material in the dance history field through the creation of a multifaceted, non-linear, yet well-structured and comprehensive survey of select moments in the development of both American and World dance.
Call Number: On Reserve in Art/Music and also Art Stacks - Art/Music Library Call Number: GV1588.6 .W5 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-09
While dance has always been as demanding as contact sports, intuitive boundaries distinguish the two forms of performance for men. Dance is often regarded as a feminine activity, and men who dance are frequently stereotyped as suspect, gay, or somehow unnatural. But what really happens when men dance? When Men Dance offers a progressive vision that boldly articulates double-standards in gender construction within dance and brings hidden histories to light in a globalized debate. A first of its kind, this trenchant look at the stereotypes and realities of male dancing brings together contributions from leading and rising scholars of dance from around the world to explore what happens when men dance.
As soon as you link, change Entire Collection to Performing Arts Dance Research (near bottom of list). Identifies articles in dance journals, books, videotapes, archival materials, etc. Some older material is only listed in print indexes, below.
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Dance comprises an entire world of spriritual and secular ideas, stories, emotions, and human experience, understood and expressed through movement. The rich history of dance in America serves as a reflection and a record of the nation's increasingly diverse, dynamic culture. The list of America's Irreplaceable Dance Treasures is intended to heighten public interest in the magnificence and richness of America's dance heritage and the imperative to document and preserve it for future generations.
Writing About Dance guides students through various processes of writing about dance, from the informal (journal writing and free writing) to the formal (critiques, essays, and research papers). When students learn both practical and artistic aspects of writing, they become better critical thinkers and writers as they deepen their understanding of dance technique, dance creativity, and dance as an art form.