WorldCat searches library collections around the world. Try searching for geographic areas of interest as "subjects" (e.g. China, Ethiopia, Africa, etc.). To find books that are not in the University of Rochester's collection, select "NOT" from the dropdown and type li: RRR.
Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of UR, in all disciplines and formats, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections.
Book reviews can be a great way to identify titles of interest. Try searching Summon for scholarly book reviews on your topic, then go to the library's homepage to search for the title of the book to see if it's available in UR's collection
Google Books can be a great way to discover books or book chapters on your topic. Because Google indexes both scholarly content and popular content, try adding inpublisher:university to your search to find books published by university/scholarly presses these are the types of books often used for research.
Choice Magazine offers scholarly reviews of nearly 6,000 titles each year. The magazine also classifies books by readership level (e.g. undergraduates) and recommendation level (e.g. highly recommended). This link will take you to Choice reviews for African and African American Studies, as well as Asian and Asian American Studies.
The China Quarterly maintains an "up-to-date guide to books published on imperial, modern and contemporary China" based on books submitted for review. Try adding your search terms (e.g. Africa) to the search box to find books published on your topic.
Published by the Royal African Society and a top journal in the field of African Studies, African Affairs contains reviews of important new works in the field. Use this pre-made search to find African studies books focused on China and then check the University of Rochester's library website to see if UR has a copy in its collection.
One of the top journals in the area of Asian Studies, The China Quarterly contains reviews of important new works in the field. Use this pre-made search to find reviews for books of interest and then check the University of Rochester's library website to see if UR has a copy in its collection.
An important journal in the field of both African and Asian studies, try searching this journal for book reviews on your topic (be sure to select "Book Review" from the "Article Type" option that appears to the right of your search results). Then, search the library's website to see if we have a copy of the book in UR's collection.