It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WRTG 105 What is Race: Origins, Meanings, Uses, and Discussions (Townsend): Home
It is important to use search terms that will appear in the scholarly literature. The terms or phrases that we use to describe race or ethnicity are continually evolving. Here are some common terms you will find in recent scholarly literature:
African American students
Asian American students
Hispanic American students
Native American students
People of color
Students of color
Note: This list is not comprehensive, but can serve as a starting point for choosing appropriate search terms.
This database is a great multidisciplinary database with full-text articles from social science-based disciplines such as sociology, anthropology, economics, political science, and gender studies. It also includes research from history, which some consider a humanistic social science.
Abstracts included from 1994-current; full text for many articles from 1994-current.
This database includes full-text journal articles focused on education and related fields, including research on education administration, teaching methods, curriculum, literacy, and government funding
Includes administration, teaching methods, curriculum, literacy and government funding.
This database focuses on sociology, education, and other social science literature - it provides a wide variety of peer-reviewed journals and books, many of which employ clear methodologies and theories to support their arguments.
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. [The Center] conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research."
Datasets and codebooks in political science, health and welfare, education and economics.
Datasets, with codebooks, on political attitudes, health and welfare, education and economic behavior. Almost all codebooks are online. If a codebook is only available in hard copy, you may contact us for more info.
This database includes key national and regional news sources from throughout the U.S. including major news publications such as The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune. It's a great place to find discussions and arguments around current issues.
Consisting of key 20th century Black Newspapers from around the United States, this database provides insight into the "evolution of black identity as depicted in the press, and the unique viewpoints of a major segment of our population."
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) Chicago Defender (1909-1975) New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
Artstor has a collection of over two million images from cultural collections around the world including 116,000 journalistic photographs from Magnum Photos.
including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.
Creative Commons (CC) provides creators with an easy way to "license" original works to others for free. The most common license - CC-BY - allows you to reuse a work for free as long as you provide proper attribution.