Skip to main content

* American Sign Language (ASL): Research Resources

Guide to Sources for the American Sign Language Program at the University of Rochester

Databases

Journal Articles

pubmed logoPubMed - Identifies articles in medicine, biomedicine, neuroscience and psychology. If you haven't used PubMed before or are having problems, PubMed Quick Tours (1 to 3 minutes) may help. Feel free to contact me if you still have questions or would like a personal introduction to PubMed.

Web of science logoWeb of Science - Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from all disciplines, some with links to full text.


  • LLBA - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest):  Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics
  • SOCIndex (EBSCO): Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
  • MLA International Bibliography:  Identifies articles, books, dissertations on literature, linguistics, film and folklore.
  • CMMC - Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCO): Full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields

Streaming video

  • Alexander Street  Streaming access to 14,000 titles; browse by fields of interest
  • Kanopy  Streaming video database with over 20,000 movie titles from a large group of film producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber Edu, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, BBC Active Collection, and many others

Related Subject Guides

Books

Search Articles & Books or the UR Catalog to find books in the University of Rochester Libraries and online.

  • Articles & Books searches much of the library's content in a single search.
    • Search settings can be changed on the results page.
    • To limit to just books, select Book/eBook on the left of search results.
    • To further limit to just ebooks, also select Full Text Online.
  • The following UR Catalog subject terms are used for topics in Sign Language and Deaf Studies; click one to automatically search the catalog.
 Sign Language  Children, Deaf  Interpreters for the Deaf
     also, specific languages:  Children of Deaf Parents  Lipreading
 American Sign Language  Cochlear Implants  Older Deaf People
 Australian Sign Language  Deaf  Parents of Deaf Children
 British Sign Language  Deaf Children  Teachers of the Deaf
 Chinese Sign Language  Deaf in Literature  Video Recordings for the Hearing Impaired
 French Sign Language  Deafness  
 German Sign Language  Finger Spelling  
 Indopakistan Sign Language  Gesture  
 Irish Sign Language  Hearing Disorders  
 Japanese Sign Language  Hearing Impaired  
 Nicaraguan Sign Language  Deafblind People  
 Quebec Sign Language    
 Taiwan Sign Language    
     
     

Journals

There are many journals covering sign language and deaf studies. Here are some, but not all, that might be of interest.

To find other ejournals, search or browse titles on the eJournals page of the River Campus Libraries' website or search for specific journals (print and online) by title in the UR Catalog.

If you are looking for specific articles, use the Articles & Books search.

Reference Works

  • Sage Deaf Studies Encyclopedia (2016) online in Sage Knowledge
  • Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness (1987) online in Gale Virtual Reference Library and

    Rhees Reference HV2365 .G35 1987

  • E-Z American Sign Language (2011) online in Credo Reference
  • Encyclopedia of Deafness and Hearing Disorders   Rhees Reference RF290 .T93 2000
  • MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders  (2003)  online in ebrary and Rhees Reference RC423 .M56 2004
  • Random House Webster's American Sign Language Medical Dictionary   Rhees Stacks HV2475 .C663 2000
  • Random House Webster's American sign language legal dictionary   Rhees Stacks K52.A6 C67 2003
  • Signing in Fourteen Languages   Rhees Stacks HV2475 .P75 2000
  • American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary  Rhees Reference HV2475 .T46 1998
  • American Sign Language   Rhees Reference HV2475 .S77 1998
  • Deaf Persons in the Arts and Sciences: A Biographical Dictionary   Rhees Reference HV2373 .L36 1995
  • NTC's Multilingual Dictionary of American Sign Language  Rhees Reference HV2475 .N73 1995
  • Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology  (2010)  online in Wiley Online Library
  • Oxford Handbook of Cognitive Linguistics  (2007)  online in ebrary
  • Encyclopedia of Life Sciences  (1999-2010)  online in Wiley Online Library

Ask Me

Stephanie Barrett's picture
Stephanie Barrett
Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me at sbarrett@library.rochester.edu.
Contact:
Rush Rhees Library, 500 Joseph C. Wilson Blvd.
Rochester, NY 14627
585-275-9299