LibGuides: CMTI Resources Guide: Home

STEM Librarian

Wendy Way

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

313F Carlson Library
River Campus Libraries
University of Rochester

Subjects: American Sign Language, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Engineering, Medicine, Science, General

Resources by TYPE OF INFORMATION Provided

The tabs in this box provide lists of databases by the type of information they provide: if you are scoping out a sector for your product, try the sources under the Industry/Market Research tab; if you're looking for news stories try the Business News & Articles tab; for companies try that tab... etc.

The tabs are arranged (roughly! ;) by frequency of use for entrepreneurial questions: Industry/Market Research and Company information are usually what people are looking for first; when more information is needed in either of those areas your next step should be to look for news or articles... etc. Make sense? If you have suggestions, please let me know!

Best Databases for Industry Research (in all areas except consumer goods - for that, see further down)

The first group of databases are keyword searchable:

Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Includes both technical reports and market analysis on emerging, high-tech and industrial markets in 50 countries.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry research reports; US & Global. Search by keyword or NAICS code. Market size, competitors, forecasts, valuation, & more. Includes Industry Wizard. The U.S. Spotlight Industry Report collection offers titles focused on ultra-niche industry categories that feature insights in condensed format focused on providing more charts, tables, and graphs
MarketLine GlobalData Intelligence Centers This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to Industry (reports by country), Company, and Country reports, plus Company News, Financial Deals, and Case Studies, Market size, segmentation, competition, and forecasts. MarketLine Explorer capitalizes on actionable intelligence spanning 22 global industries. Combining macroeconomic data and information on thousands of companies, Explorer offers detailed coverage of the global trends that are shaping industries, impacting companies, and driving innovation.
At the login screen, click on IP Access.
Additional modules within MarketLine:
Financial Deals Tracker: Track market activity with MarketLine's database of global mergers and acquisitions (M&A), private equity deals, venture finance deals, private placements, IPOs, and partnerships.
Company Prospector: Screen companies and build lists of potential business partners, clients, and investment targets in industries and countries of interest.
Investment & Advisory Prospector: Identify advisory & investment firms operating in specific industries, and gain insight into the investment and inorganic strategy of companies.
Company Report Generator: Generate fresh custom company reports featuring analytical text and charts which draw on MarketLine's company datasets. Example sections include company overview, history, SWOT analysis, M&A, partnerships and agreements, news and product information.
FirstResearch This link opens in a new window
Includes industry reports for consumer products, technology, and most U.S. industries.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Contains reports on the IT industry and the impact of IT on businesses. Search by market, topic, or industry.

Next: multi-industry resources, but you must pick-from-a-set-list (not keyword searchable).

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on business, news, and companies worldwide, current and historical financial quotes, and company profiles.
Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
Includes regional SWOT analysis, market trends, and forecasts for global emerging markets.

Best databases for consumer-oriented Market/Industry research:

Mintel Reports+Trends This link opens in a new window
In-depth market research & trends reports. Consumer products focus: brands/products, lifestyles, some finance & tech. US & Europe. The finance and culture & identity modules contain finance, sustainable consumer, and diversity, equity & inclusion reports. Each user must create a personal account using a UR email address.
Trends module adds analysis of consumer trends & how they align with business applications.
RKMA Market Research eHandbooks This link opens in a new window
Access to the complete collection of market research handbooks from RKMA; data goes to very granular levels.
Collection includes market research handbooks covering US and international consumer markets; entertainment & media; healthcare business; restaurants, food & beverage; retail business; sports marketing; travel & tourism; and casinos, gaming & wagering.
Sport Business Research Network (SBRnet) This link opens in a new window
Market research and industry news for sports equipment sales, participation, consumer expenditures and facilities.

If you can't find a nice pre-packaged report... then it's off to the article databases for you! Seriously, the article databases are your best bet for picking up anything that's been mentioned in trade publications, news, etc. about [your topic]. Go to the resources listed under the tab "Business News & Articles."

Company Directories of particular interest to Entrepreneurs:

CB Insights This link opens in a new window
Private company and investor database: deals, financing, M&As. Search by funding round or amount, location, name, industry, etc.
Each user must create a login using a UR email address.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Private company profiles and financial data (revenue, income statement, balance sheet, etc.), venture capital funding deals and investors, M&A, more.
Each user must create a login using a UR email address.
Yes – you CAN get financial data for private companies! Also very useful for creating lists of companies by geography, industry – with more granular detail than by NAICS or SIC, although those are available as well – rate of growth in revenue or employees, and whether or not the companies are PE/VC backed or not. Useful for career searches or entrepreneurial searches (who else makes this product? How many [x] are located within 50 miles of [place]? Etc.)
OneSource This link opens in a new window
20M+ companies, US/int’l; financials, SWOT analysis, analyst reports, news articles. Search by region, sector, business size, more
MarketLine GlobalData Intelligence Centers This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to Industry (reports by country), Company, and Country reports, plus Company News, Financial Deals, and Case Studies, Market size, segmentation, competition, and forecasts. MarketLine Explorer capitalizes on actionable intelligence spanning 22 global industries. Combining macroeconomic data and information on thousands of companies, Explorer offers detailed coverage of the global trends that are shaping industries, impacting companies, and driving innovation.
At the login screen, click on IP Access.
Additional modules within MarketLine:
Financial Deals Tracker: Track market activity with MarketLine's database of global mergers and acquisitions (M&A), private equity deals, venture finance deals, private placements, IPOs, and partnerships.
Company Prospector: Screen companies and build lists of potential business partners, clients, and investment targets in industries and countries of interest.
Investment & Advisory Prospector: Identify advisory & investment firms operating in specific industries, and gain insight into the investment and inorganic strategy of companies.
Company Report Generator: Generate fresh custom company reports featuring analytical text and charts which draw on MarketLine's company datasets. Example sections include company overview, history, SWOT analysis, M&A, partnerships and agreements, news and product information.
Reference Solutions via Data Axle This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive company/residential directory; build lists using 30 variables or Map Based Search. Includes consumer demographics and historical business data.
Reference Solutions is a series of databases from Data Axle, the largest business and residential data compiler in the US. Data is updated on a monthly basis and telephone verified for accuracy, and geocoded. Users can build lists of companies using more than 30 selections such as geography, industry, and employee size. Users can pinpoint their geographical parameters using Reference Solutions' Map Based Search feature which allows radii and polygons to be formed, allowing for the study of very specific areas. Data breakdowns can also be viewed in exportable graphs, charts and heat maps. Plus, the U.S. Historical Businesses database provides 10 years of historical data. Reference Solutions also maintains a database for US Consumers to allow the study of consumer demographics compiled at the individual level. The new US Jobs database is updated hourly with content on current job and internship postings.

Possibly also of interest:

Guide to Venture Capital and Private Equity Firms This link opens in a new window
Over 3000 VC/PE firms; global coverage; search by geography and keyword to quickly identify appropriate funders/employers.
This database provides contact and investment information on 2,300 venture capital and private equity firms including: firm name and address ; phone and fax numbers ; managing partners with their degrees, directorships, and professional background ; satellite offices ; e-mail and web site addresses ; mission statements ; average and minimum investments ; investment criteria/stage preferences ; industry preferences ; portfolio companies ; geographic preferences ; and fund sizes.

Databases that provide News - newspaper articles, press releases, and similar:

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on business, news, and companies worldwide, current and historical financial quotes, and company profiles.

Factiva Search Tips
Improve your search experience in Factiva with these useful tips. Really. You NEED to look at this, trust me!

Databases that provide Articles - arranged by the amount of popular vs. scholarly content they offer.

(i.e. ABI/Inform offers the greatest mix of contents: news wires, popular magazines, trade journals, reports, and some scholarly journals. ScienceDirect and the Web of Science contain only articles from scholarly, highly-researched, peer-reviewed journals. Strangely enough, they still fall in alphabetical order. )

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from academic business journals and business trade publications; plus industry reports, some market data, and company profiles from the Experian Commercial Risk database.
For alumni access, see link to Proquest Alumni Edition on the Alumni Library Gateway.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Contains articles, company and industry reports, marketing reports, and country reports. Includes Harvard Business Review.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit identifies articles, books, working papers and more, covering all aspects of economics. Some full text and links to more.
A tutorial on using EconLit in the EBSCO interface is available on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tT6UEfZaQlk
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journals from Elsevier Science and other publishers. Browse or search tables of contents, abstracts and full text of articles in all disciplines.
Includes the sciences, engineering, humanities, social sciences, and clinical medicine. Full text from 1995 on, except as indicated.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.

Databases that provide Working Papers (and other different kinds of documents):

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
Identifies working papers and articles in economics, accounting, legal studies and management, many with links to full text.
RAND This link opens in a new window
Reports, journals and books on national security, business, education, health, law and science from the nonprofit RAND Corp.
RAND publications can also be found in Voyager Catalog and PolicyFile. Rand Corporate provides PDF links when free ebooks are available. No special software is required to download ebooks.

Medical data:

Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
U.S. Health & Human Services
HealthCareBlueBook.com
Provides the costs of procedures - by zip code, even!!

"Hot Topics" data/stats:

Statista This link opens in a new window
A data aggregation platform with statistics, facts, and market data in a wide range of topic areas.
Downloadable in JPG, XLS, and PPTP.

US Business and industry stats:

County Business Patterns This link opens in a new window
Data on US businesses: number of establishments, employees, and payroll; from entire US to ZIP code level, by NAICS or SIC.
Data is annual; some series back to 1993 available online. NAICS and SIC are industry codes. Produced by the US Census Bureau.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
US and international statistics. Includes full text statistical tables and abstracts of additional statistical sources.
Covers material in American Statistics Index (ASI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and Statistical Reference Index (SRI). Googling for material not in full text in the database works quite well.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Current and historical data on employment, consumer and producer price indexes, wages, benefits, productivity, etc.
U.S. Census - Business and Industry
Includes data from the Economic Census and the Population Census that relates to business and industry.

US Demographic (consumer/market research) data:

American FactFinder - from the US Census
Easy-to-use, great source for demographic data for the national down to the neighborhood block level.

Mintel Reports+Trends This link opens in a new window
In-depth market research & trends reports. Consumer products focus: brands/products, lifestyles, some finance & tech. US & Europe. The finance and culture & identity modules contain finance, sustainable consumer, and diversity, equity & inclusion reports. Each user must create a personal account using a UR email address.
Trends module adds analysis of consumer trends & how they align with business applications.

Local funding sources:

Venture Capital information sources

(Both how you might find it, and how other people have found and used it)

Guide to Venture Capital and Private Equity Firms This link opens in a new window
Over 3000 VC/PE firms; global coverage; search by geography and keyword to quickly identify appropriate funders/employers.
This database provides contact and investment information on 2,300 venture capital and private equity firms including: firm name and address ; phone and fax numbers ; managing partners with their degrees, directorships, and professional background ; satellite offices ; e-mail and web site addresses ; mission statements ; average and minimum investments ; investment criteria/stage preferences ; industry preferences ; portfolio companies ; geographic preferences ; and fund sizes.
Foundation Directory This link opens in a new window
Information on private grant-making foundations, community foundations, operating foundations, and corporate grant makers.
To use off campus, use VPN.
Records include entries from the following Foundation Center print publications: The Foundation Directory, The Foundation Directory, part 2, New York State Foundations, Guide to U.S. Foundations, and National Directory of Corporate Giving. Principal sources of information are voluntary reports by many grant makers directly to the Foundation Center and information obtained from public information returns (990's)filed each year with the Internal Revenue Service by private foundations. Updated monthly, the directory contains information about the largest public and private foundations in the U.S. and links to foundation web sites.
CB Insights This link opens in a new window
Private company and investor database: deals, financing, M&As. Search by funding round or amount, location, name, industry, etc.
Each user must create a login using a UR email address.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Private company profiles and financial data (revenue, income statement, balance sheet, etc.), venture capital funding deals and investors, M&A, more.
Each user must create a login using a UR email address.
Yes – you CAN get financial data for private companies! Also very useful for creating lists of companies by geography, industry – with more granular detail than by NAICS or SIC, although those are available as well – rate of growth in revenue or employees, and whether or not the companies are PE/VC backed or not. Useful for career searches or entrepreneurial searches (who else makes this product? How many [x] are located within 50 miles of [place]? Etc.)

Should you need this information: SEC filings, including 10-Ks

OneSource This link opens in a new window
20M+ companies, US/int’l; financials, SWOT analysis, analyst reports, news articles. Search by region, sector, business size, more

SEC Homepage
Straight to the source: the Securities and Exchange Commission website.
EDGAR Website
EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, is the official electronic database of filings submitted to U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). It is freely accessible on the web.
Registrants were brought onto the EDGAR system in a series of discrete groups over a three-year period, which was completed May 1996.
Foreign private issuers and foreign governments generally are not required to file on EDGAR, although they may do so if they wish.

The USPTO provides a pretty understandable explanation of the Patent Application process.

Check the following resources for basic information on Patents and Patent Searching:

University of Texas Libraries > Guide to Patent Searching
University of Minnesota > Patents and Patentability Tutorial
University of Michigan > Patent Searching Tutorial

InnovationQ Plus This link opens in a new window
InnovationQ is a patent search tool that rapidly sifts through big data to quickly and efficiently pinpoint relevant patents, applications, and non-patent literature from IEEE. There are visualizations, advanced features, and the ability to locate "similar" patents to the target one..
Only one searcher permitted at a time. Must request permission and sign-on information from Kathy Wu, Business Librarian kathyw@library.rochester.edu.
Google Patents This link opens in a new window
Patents and patent applications from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Has a thumbnail viewer for drawings.
Sporadically updated. More about Google Patent Search .
FreePatentsOnline This link opens in a new window
Full text and images of U.S. patents from 1974+, U.S. patent applications from 2001+, and European patents 2000+.
View patent images as pdf or other formats.
USPTO Patent Database This link opens in a new window
Full text and images of U.S. patents.
To view the full text patents, a plug-in is required. Go to the USPTO help page for more information. Full text for patents from 1976 - current. Pre-1976 patents are searchable only by patent number and current classification code.
USPTO Trademark Database This link opens in a new window
Full text and images for pending, registered and dead U. S. trademark records.
Contains only those trademarks that are federally registered or that are pending (applications undergoing examination at the PTO).
Reaxys (2017 version) This link opens in a new window
Identifies chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions with references to journal and patent literature of chemistry. The data originates from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry, the Beilstein Handbuch der organischen Chemie and a Patent Chemistry database. To learn more, see About Reaxys.
Users should update their passwords.

WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization Patent Search
Search international patent applications
European Patent Office
Japan Patent Office
Chinese Patent Search

Once you have:

Done all your idea generation and screening
Checked Company Directories to see if anyone is already working in the area of your idea
Done the Industry & Market Research for your idea
Scoured the Articles & News Databases for bits of information if you didn't find an industry or market research report
Checked for Patent/Intellectual Property (IP) information, if appropriate...

Then you're ready to write a business plan. Here are some sources for Sample Business Plans:

Business Plans Handbook This link opens in a new window
Includes templates for business plans for start-up companies in a wide range of U.S. industries

Create Your Busines Plan - from the SBA
Detailed advice from a body that knows: the U.S. Small Business Administration.
Business Plan Books
This link takes you to a list of books on business plans - many of them are electronic; no trip to the library necessary.

You'll need to create a budget and financial projections for your plan, so it might help to look at the financials for other, similar companies (that might represent "what you want to be when you grow up"), find out what the typical ratios are for your line of business, and then explore which Angel Investors or Venture Capital firms might be appropriate to approach with your plan:

OneSource This link opens in a new window
20M+ companies, US/int’l; financials, SWOT analysis, analyst reports, news articles. Search by region, sector, business size, more
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Private company profiles and financial data (revenue, income statement, balance sheet, etc.), venture capital funding deals and investors, M&A, more.
Each user must create a login using a UR email address.
Yes – you CAN get financial data for private companies! Also very useful for creating lists of companies by geography, industry – with more granular detail than by NAICS or SIC, although those are available as well – rate of growth in revenue or employees, and whether or not the companies are PE/VC backed or not. Useful for career searches or entrepreneurial searches (who else makes this product? How many [x] are located within 50 miles of [place]? Etc.)

Financial Ratios

Key Business Ratios (Dun & Bradstreet) This link opens in a new window
Contains financial ratios for industries and services, arranged by NAICS and SIC industry codes.
To find key ratios for the industry of your company: look up the company. 1) Click "Industry Classification" in the left hand panel. 2) click the most appropriate line of business in the tree structure. 3) Click "Key Stats & Ratios" in the left hand panel.
RMA eStatement Studies This link opens in a new window
Contains corporate financial ratios and other financial data aggregated by industry.

Who is funding the current start-ups and private companies?

CB Insights This link opens in a new window
Private company and investor database: deals, financing, M&As. Search by funding round or amount, location, name, industry, etc.
Each user must create a login using a UR email address.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Private company profiles and financial data (revenue, income statement, balance sheet, etc.), venture capital funding deals and investors, M&A, more.
Each user must create a login using a UR email address.
Yes – you CAN get financial data for private companies! Also very useful for creating lists of companies by geography, industry – with more granular detail than by NAICS or SIC, although those are available as well – rate of growth in revenue or employees, and whether or not the companies are PE/VC backed or not. Useful for career searches or entrepreneurial searches (who else makes this product? How many [x] are located within 50 miles of [place]? Etc.)

Biodesign by Paul G. Yock; Stefanos Zenios; Joshua Makower; Todd J. Brinton; Uday N. Kumar; F. T. Jay Watkins; Lyn Denend; Thomas M. Krummel; Christine Q. Kurihara

Call Number: Carlson Reserves (Prof. Amy Lerner)

ISBN: 9781107087354

Publication Date: 2015-02-02

eBiodesign.org

The Medical Device R&d Handbook by Theodore R. Kucklick (Editor)

ISBN: 9781439811894

Publication Date: 2012-12-05
Handbook of Active Materials for Medical Devices by Andres Diaz Lantada

ISBN: 9789814303354

Publication Date: 2011-11-15
Handbook on Advanced Design and Manufacturing Technologies for Biomedical Devices by Andres Diaz Lantada (Editor)

ISBN: 1461467888

Publication Date: 2013-05-08
Handbook of Human Factors in Medical Device Design by Daryle J. Gardner-Bonneau (Editor); Matthew Bret Weinger (Editor); Michael E. Wiklund (Editor)

ISBN: 9780805856279

Publication Date: 2010-12-13
Biomedical Technology and Devices, Second Edition [Handbook series for mechanical engineering] by James Moore; Duncan J. Maitland (Editor)

ISBN: 1439859590

Publication Date: 2013-06-25
Spine Technology Handbook by Steven M. Kurtz; Avram Allan Edidin

ISBN: 9780123693907

Publication Date: 2006-08-14
Medical Devices: Surgical and Image-Guided Technologies by Hua Lee; Martin Culjat; Rahul Singh

ISBN: 0470549181

Publication Date: 2012-11-12
Medical Devices - Managing the Mismatch: an outcome of the priority medical devices project. by World Health Organization Staff

ISBN: 9789241564045

Publication Date: 2010-12-07
Clinical Evaluation of Medical Devices: Principles and Case Studies by Karen M. Becker (Editor); John J. Whyte (Editor)

ISBN: 1597450049

Publication Date: 2005-12-01
A Handbook of Medical Diagnosis for Students by James Bryan Herrick

Call Number: Google Books

Publication Date: 1895

Classic text from the past (interesting to compare, contrast).
Safety Evaluation of Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices by Shayne C. Gad

ISBN: 1441974482

Publication Date: 2010-10-27
The Handbook of European Intellectual Property Management by Adam Jolly; European Patent Office Staff (Contribution by); Jeremy Philpott

Call Number: See pt. 4: IP and Technology Frontiers: Medical Devices, pp. 104-109

ISBN: 9780749467562

Publication Date: 2012-05-03
Medical Device Software Verification, Validation and Compliance by David A. Vogel

ISBN: 9781596934221

Publication Date: 2010-11-30
Joining and Assembly of Medical Materials and Devices by Y. (Norman) Zhou (Editor); Mark D. Breyen (Editor)

ISBN: 9781845695774

Publication Date: 2013-05-31
Medical Devices and Biomaterials for the Developing World: case studies in Ghana and Nicaragua by Sujata K. Bhatia; Olumurejiwa A. Fatunde

ISBN: 9781461447580

Publication Date: 2012-08-31
Biological and Medical Sensor Technologies by Krzysztof Iniewski (Editor)

ISBN: 1439882673

Publication Date: 2012-02-16
Medical Device Design for Six Sigma: a road map for safety and effectiveness by Basem El-Haik; Khalid S. Mekki

ISBN: 0470168617

Publication Date: 2008-04-25
The Design of Everyday Things by Don Norman

ISBN: 0465072992

Publication Date: 2013-11-05
Emotional Design: Why We Love (or Hate) Everyday Things by Don Norman

ISBN: 9780465051366

Publication Date: 2005-05-11
The Design of Future Things by Donald A. Norman

ISBN: 0465002285

Publication Date: 2009-05-12
Nanofabrication by Tseng

ISBN: 9789812700766

Publication Date: 2008-03-04
Update on Life Cycle Strategy for New Implants and Medical Devices by Marvi Sri Harwoko

ISBN: 9781847354396

Publication Date: 2012-11-01

You might want to search directly in the e-book collections below for other titles:

Springer eBook Collection - Biomedical and Life Sciences

Full text of selected Springer ebook titles in biomedical and life sciences.
Safari Tech Books Online

Full text of the entire Safari collection of reference and how-to computer books.
Patrons must register using UR credentials to access individual e-books.
Business Expert Press

E-textbooks emphasizing real-world examples and applications. ~300 titles covering the gamut of business topics. Fully downloadable.

SUBJECT Specific Resources

MDDI Online
Trade magazine for the medical device industry. Addresses regulatory and manufacturing issues.
MedGadget
Blog of announcements and discussion of new medical technology/devices, written by medical professionals.
Medical Device Technology
News about latest products, services, and technologies available to designers and manufacturers in medical devices.

ThomasNet This link opens in a new window
Find suppliers or sources of components, equipment, supplies, raw materials and custom manufacturing services in North America.
The only free platform designed for sourcing components, equipment, MRO products, raw materials and custom manufacturing services. Discover OEMs, distributors and custom services; Meet certification, diversity and location needs; Send RFQs and RFIs.

MFG.com
Quality sources for manufacturing.

U.S. Health & Human Services

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology, many with links to full text.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes access to molecular and bioinformatic databases from the NCBI system (previous Entrez). Automatically expands (explodes) subject headings. Truncation turns off this automatic expansion of the hierarchical subject headings.
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Includes both technical reports and market analysis on emerging, high-tech and industrial markets in 50 countries.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journals from Elsevier Science and other publishers. Browse or search tables of contents, abstracts and full text of articles in all disciplines.
Includes the sciences, engineering, humanities, social sciences, and clinical medicine. Full text from 1995 on, except as indicated.
Miner Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Gateway to databases and full text journals and books in medicine, psychology and the biosciences.

HealthCareBlueBook.com
Provides the costs of procedures - by zip code, even!!

RKMA Market Research eHandbooks This link opens in a new window
Access to the complete collection of market research handbooks from RKMA; data goes to very granular levels.
Collection includes market research handbooks covering US and international consumer markets; entertainment & media; healthcare business; restaurants, food & beverage; retail business; sports marketing; travel & tourism; and casinos, gaming & wagering.

Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
Contains market reports, articles, business plans, business cases, and sample templates and forms needed by entrepreneurs.
Click the Browse option to access these specific topics: Business Cases; Business Plan Samples; Business Start-Up; Company Profiles; Funding Sources; Guides, Templates and Tools; Legal Issues; Management and Leadership; Marketing and Sales; Operations Management; Profit and Financial Management; Product Development and Management; Special Topics; and Tips and Advice video clips.
Entrepreneurship Essential Topics This link opens in a new window
Readings, reports, & predefined search macros for the most important topics in entrepreneurship: start-up, funding, legal etc.
List of topics: Business Cases; Business Plan Samples; Business Start-Up; Company Profiles; Funding Sources; Guides, Templates and Tools; Legal Issues; Management and Leadership; Marketing and Sales; Operations Management; Profit and Financial Management; Product Development and Management; Special Topics; and Tips and Advice video clips. (whew)

The Global Entrepreneurship Index (GEINDEX) 2009
(vol. 5 #5 of Foundations & Trends in Entrepreneurship)

Global Entrepreneurship and Development Index 2014 by Zoltan Acs; László Szerb; Erkko Autio
Call Number: Print; link goes to catalog record.
ISBN: 9781496176417
Publication Date: 2014-03-19

Entrepreneurship Organizations

Organizations

At the University of Rochester

In Rochester and Upstate New York

National and global

Entrepreneurship.org - free web resource; includes channels devoted to e-ship education (Kauffman Founders School), news and trending topics (Top of Mind), and the "entrepreneurial ecosystems of cities" (ID8Nation).
EO - Entrepreneurs' Organization
GEM: Global Entrepreneurship Monitor - world's largest study of e-ship: data, reports by country & globally, etc., all freely available.
Global Entrepreneurship and the U.S. (from the SBA)
OECD Centre for Entrepreneurship, SMEs and Local Development

Submit an ILL request
Need an item that we don’t have in the stacks? ILL works with libraries all over the world to get U of R students, faculty members, employees, and affiliates the materials they need. Submit your request now! (Note: there are exceptions. Do not request textbooks by ILL. Not happening.)

Recommend a Purchase
The River Campus Libraries welcome suggestions for the purchase of materials for our library collections. Your request will be reviewed by library staff. Preference will be to acquire the eBook format where available. Please indicate in the Notes field if you would prefer that we acquire the print format.