LibGuides: BIOL 204 Principles of Human Physiology: Library Resources

Articles & Books

DiscoverUR
Use DiscoverUR to explore all library resources.

DiscoverUR Search Tips
Click here to learn more about the searching capabilities within DiscoverUR to make your research easier and more efficient.

When searching in DiscoverUR, you can use filters to find Open Access resources:

Check the video below to learn how to find open access images in the library collection. The main tip is to use the Open Access filter on the left-hand side column, but always check the rights on the source itself.

Finding Open Access Images & Videos

Free access is not equivalent to open access, true open access allows you to re-use the image under a Creative Commons License. An image can be freely accessible on the web, and still under full Copyright protection. Check the Images tab for more ideas for finding open access resources using Google and other websites. Check the PDF linked below to learn how to find open access videos in YouTube.

Images

Use Google Advanced Search to find free images or videos on the web. Select the usage rights that you need.

Videos

Finding OA Videos in YouTube
Use this tutorial to find videos with Creative Commons Licenses in YouTube.

Course Textbooks

OpenStax - Anatomy & Physiology

Berne & Levy Physiology
ISBN: 0323523404
Publication Date: 2018

Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
Full-text series of eBook lectures on research topics in the biomedical and life sciences.
Each PDF e-book (50-120 pages) is authored by a leading expert in the field and intended primarily for non-specialists who are unfamiliar with the topic. Subject areas: Physiology, Neuroscience and Cell, Molecular & Developmental Biology.
Visible Body - Anatomy & Physiology Module This link opens in a new window
An introduction to human body systems in visual interactive chapters presented in 3D model sets, animations and illustrations; includes quizzes for assessing self-paced learning. Note that due to the image-rich nature of the resource, there will be a delay when loading Visible Body at the start. VPN required for off-campus access.

Other Recommended Books

Netter's Essential Physiology
ISBN: 9780323375849
Publication Date: 2016
Physiology by Linda S. Costanzo
ISBN: 9780323478816
Publication Date: 2017-05-08
Gray's Anatomy for Students by Richard Drake; A. Wayne Vogl; Adam W. M. Mitchell
ISBN: 9780323393041
Publication Date: 2019-02-22

Databases

Biology, Health & Molecular Biology

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology, many with links to full text.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes access to molecular and bioinformatic databases from the NCBI system (previous Entrez). Automatically expands (explodes) subject headings. Truncation turns off this automatic expansion of the hierarchical subject headings.

PubMed Central
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Embase This link opens in a new window
Indexes the biomedical literature on drug, medical device and disease-related research. Covers all MEDLINE journals plus 3,000 unique titles, and conference abstracts back to 1947.

Multidisciplinary

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.