Skip to main content

Ebooks Help: Guide

Ebooks at the University of Rochester

The libraries provide a variety of ebook collections to support academics and research at the University of Rochester. Different collections have different interfaces, and individual ebook titles may have added limitations on use. Listed below are the major collections available through the libraries, along with links to relevant help files.

For more information about individual collections, see the browse by name list for databases.

General Troubleshooting Tips

If you are having problems with an ebook, here are a few things to try.
♦  For help from the River Campus Libraries, ask at any Q&i desk, or use  chat, Contact Us, or call.
♦  For Miner Library, use Ask A Librarian to find help.
♦  Reload the webpage.
♦  Make browser adjustments.
  ⋄  Close and re-open your browser.
  ⋄  Turn off pop-up blockers.
  ⋄  Wait a few minutes and try again. Some ebooks only allow a single user, and someone else might be using it.
  ⋄  Try a different browser.
♦  Make sure you're authenticated. You are authenticated with any of the following.
  ⋄  You're on campus.
  ⋄  You're using VPN.
  ⋄  You've used a library link to the ebook and entered your NetID & password.

Searching for Ebooks

To find ebooks on a particular topic, search in Articles & Books using keywords for your topic. On the results page, select the options for Full Text Online and Book/eBook. It is easy to change your search terms while keeping the boxes checked.

Or, look up the name of an ebook collection as a database, to access and search it directly.

Adobe Reader DC for PDF files

Adobe Reader DC is free software for reading PDF files, including those available in ebooks.

  

 

Help file for Adobe Reader DC

Ebook Security

We strongly encourage users of any electronic resource to be critical information consumers and to understand the privacy implications of their choices. We recommend that users read software agreements before installing programs on personal devices.

The River Campus Libraries' General Policy on Confidentiality of Library Records includes the following:
If you choose to access services licensed by the libraries from campus or remotely using VPN, please note that "cookies" or other information may be required in order to verify that you belong to the University of Rochester community. The libraries make every effort to sign agreements with third party suppliers that will preserve the privacy of patrons, but the RCL cannot guarantee the privacy policies of those sites. Please be sure to check the privacy policies of each site you visit.

The River Campus Libraries’ Ebook Central ebooks require a free Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) installation when an entire ebook is downloaded to a laptop or desktop computer. Libraries recently raised concerns about privacy in an earlier version of ADE. Those concerns have been addressed by Adobe in ADE 4.5. We suggest you install or update  to ADE 4.5 when downloading ebooks from ebrary.

Major Ebook Collections

Collection

  Can I Download?  

Can I Print?

 Limits 

Good-to-Know

 

  AAP Neonatal Resuscitation e-Book Collection
  Help File

YES YES  

Limitation: Downloading requires installing an app

         Tip: Print one page at a time

  Access Medicine Books
  Help File

NO YES  

Format:  Most of the text is in HTML; some tables are in PDF

          Printing: Allows section & chapter level printing

  ACLS Humanities E-Book
  Help File

YES YES  

Format: All text is in PDF

         Limitation: You can download and print blocks of 10 pages at a time

  ACM Digital Library
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: All text is in PDF

  ACS Symposium Series (American Chemical Society)
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: PDF and HTML links are at the chapter level

  AHA E-Book Library
  Help File

YES NO  

Limitation: To download, first install iPublishCentral Reader

  America's Historical Imprints (Newsbank)
  Help File

YES YES  

Format: PDF

         Limitation:  You can download/print up to 75 pages at a time

  Books 24x7
  Help File

Varies NO  

Limitation: Some titles can be downloaded, most cannot

  Business Expert Press
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: All text is in PDF

         Tip: Specific instructions for downloading are available in the Help File (column 1)

  Cambridge Companions Online
  Help File

YES YES  

Format: All text is in PDF

         Limitation: Ability to download and print varies by title

  ClinicalKey
  Help File

NO YES  

Limitations: Requires creating a personal account

                              Some, not all, chapters can be downloaded in PDF

  Cornell University Historical Math Monographs   
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: All text is in PDF

                        Some titles also available as HTML or text files

  CQ Press Library (Congressional Quarterly)
  Help File

YES YES  

Format: All text is in PDF

         Limitation: Ability to download and print varies by title

  CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: All text is in PDF

  Credo Reference
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: All text is in PDF

         Tip:  Use Print icon to download entries

  Early English Books Online (EEBO)
  Help File
  Text only versions available at EEBO-TCP

YES YES

 

Formats: Text is available in PDF and TIFF

  Proquest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary)
  Help File

YES YES  

Format: All text is in PDF

         Limitations: Ability to download and print varies by title

                              To download an entire ebook, you will need a UR NetID and you will need to create an Ebook Central account

  Ebscohost eBook Collections (includes NetLibrary)
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: All text is in PDF

         Limitation: To download, you will need to create an Ebsco account

 Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO - Gale)
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: All text is in PDF

         Access: You can download/print up to 250 pages at a time

         Limitation: Some images may be blurry

  Elsevier (ScienceDirect)
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: All text is in PDF

  Gale   (Making of the Modern World &
  Goldsmiths' Kress Library of Economic Literature)
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: All text is in PDF

  HathiTrust Digital Library
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: All text is in PDF

         Limitation: Book download and multi-page printing requires login with UR NetID & password on HathiTrust's website

  JSTOR eBooks
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: All text is in PDF

         Tip: Check "Books" as an item type on the search screen

  Knovel Optics & Photonics
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: All text is in PDF

  LWW Health Library
  PDF Help File

NO YES  

Format: All text is in HTML

         Limitation: Print one chapter at a time

  Medieval Travel Writing
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: All text is in PDF

  NCBI Bookshelf
  Help File

YES YES  

Format: All text is in PDF

         Limitation: Ability to download and print varies by title

  Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: All text is in PDF

         Access: You can download/print up to 250 pages at a time

         Limitation: Some images may be blurry

  OECD iLibrary
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: All text is in PDF

  Ovid Books
  Help File

YES YES  

Format: All text is in PDF

         ​Tip: Select "View in Book Reader" and export to PDF

         Limitation: You can download only sections and chapters

  Oxford Scholarship Online
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: All text is in PDF

  Project Muse (UPCC)
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: All text is in PDF

  Proquest Dissertations
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: All text is in PDF

         Limitation: Some dissertations do not have full text

  PsycBOOKS (APA)
  Help File

YES YES

 

Format: All text is in PDF

  PsychiatryOnline
  Help File

NO YES  

Format: All text is in HTML

         Limitation: You can print one chapter at a time

  R2 Digital Library
  Help File

NO YES  

Format: All text is in HTML

         Limitation: You can print one chapter at a time

  RKMA eBooks
  Help File (for Adobe Reader)

YES YES  

Format: All text is in PDF

  Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 (Gale)
  Help File

YES YES  

Format: All text is in PDF

Limitations: Download/print up to 50 pages at a time

                      Some images may be blurry

  Safari
  Help File

NO Single Page  

Limitation: Can only print a single page at a time

  Sage
  Help File

YES YES  

Limitation: PDF link is at chapter level

  SPIE Digital Library
  Help File

YES YES  

Format: All text is in PDF

  Springer
  Help File

YES YES  

Format: All text is in PDF

  Stat!Ref
  Help File

NO YES  

Format: All text is in HTML

         Limitation: Print one chapter at a time

  Synthesis Digital Library (Morgan & Claypool)
  Help File

YES YES  

Format: All text is in PDF

 

  UPSO (University Press Scholarship Online)
  Help File

YES YES  

Limitation: "View PDF" is at chapter level

  Wiley
  Help File

YES YES  

Limitation: "Get PDF" is at chapter level

  World Scientific
  Help File

YES YES  

Limitation: PDF link is at chapter level

 

Another Local Source for Ebooks

The Monroe County Library System (MCLS) offers its members online access to ebooks and audiobooks. All county residents, including students at the University of Rochester, are eligible to apply for a free MCLS library card. Here is specific information on how to sign up for a library card.

Once you are a member, you can access ebooks through the MCLS Overdrive system for digital materials.