Skip to main content

Reference Managers: EndNote

Supporting students who want to manage their references and easily create in text citations and reference lists

EndNote Tutorals

00:00:17 - PubMed

00:01:05 - Web of Science

00:02:05 - Scopus

00:03:02 - Social Sciences Full Text (an Ebsco database, similar to CINAHL, MLA, ATLA, Political Science Complete, etc.)

00:04:18 - PsycINFO (a ProQuest database, similar to ABI/INFORM, GenderWatch, many historical newspaper databases, etc.)

00:05:24 - IEEE Xplore

00:06:24 - Reaxys

In EndNote Preferences, make sure you add your University of Rochester authentication information!

  • OpenURL Path: http://openurl.lib.rochester.edu/find
  • URL: https://login.ezp.lib.rochester.edu/login 
  • 00:00  Group creation and management 
  • 10:40  Syncing your desktop library with the web client (enables backups and sharing functionalities)
  • 18:10  Sharing entire EndNote libraries (desktop client)
  • 24:03  Sharing groups (web client)
Loading ...

EndNote Desktop

Install

The University of Rochester Libraries has a site license to EndNote so you don't have to pay for it! You'll get free updates as long as you're affiliated with the University.

EndNote 

  • Tip:  Always save your EndNote library to your local hard drive. It WILL become corrupt (unusable) over time if you save it to a flash drive, the cloud, or a network drive.

Introduction:

Learn:

An additional user guide is available on your computer:

  • Windows: usually ...\Program Files\EndNote X9\EndNote.pdf
  • Mac: usually .../Applications/EndNote X9/EndNoteX9MacHelp.pdf

Troubleshooting

For Mac users:

Mojave includes new Security & Privacy functions which can prevent EndNote from being able to correctly automate.  To correctly set these options...

1)  Go into the Apple menu

2)  Click System Preferences

3)  Click Security & Privacy

4)  Click the Privacy tab (along the top)

5)  Click the Automation options, along the left.

6)  Here, make sure that both "Microsoft Word" and "EndNote X#" are both turned on. With this automation turned off, the Cite While You Write functions will not work.


EndNote Customer Support

  • If a librarian is not available to help you with issues using EndNote their customer support is incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. Seriously.
    • Call: +1-800-336-4474, press 4; Monday-Friday, 9 a.m.- 8 p.m. Eastern
    • More info: https://endnote.com/contact

Additional EndNote Files

Here is the full list of connection files, output styles and import filters from EndNote.

EndNote Web

You may want the full version of EndNote if ...

__ You frequently work offline.
__ You save PDFs to your computer and want to link them to EndNote.
__ You'd like to search the full text of PDFs within EndNote.
__ You'd like to find PDFs to match your EndNote references.
__ You'd like to share your EndNote library with other people.

Compare Basic to Desktop at http://endnote.com/product-details/basic

EndNote - FAQ

Q: How do I add notes within my references in a bibliography?

A: For a MAC, in Word, position your cursor where you would like the superscript number to appear.  Find "Citations" in the EndNote floating tool bar, and look for the dropdown box next to it.  Click on the dropdown and then click on "Insert Note".  Type your note into this box and "Ok."  The number will appear in the text and the note will appear below in the bibliography.

A: For a PC, in Word, position your cursor where you would like the superscript number to appear.  Find " Insert Citations" in the EndNote tool bar, and look for the dropdown.  Click on the dropdown and then click on "Insert Note...".  Type your note into this box and "Ok."  The number will appear in the text and the note will appear below in the bibliography.

Q: How do I change my number from 1,2,3 to 1a,1b,1c for sources that are grouped together?

A: (For Mac) Edit Output Styles.  Then go to the Citations section and click on numbering.  Check the box that says "Use one number for references always cited together."

Q: My Mac Word 2016 says it's incompatible with EndNote's CWYW. What do I do?

A: Clarivate, the folks who support EndNote, are aware of this issue as of January 2018 and have created an update. Here is a link to the full support page:

https://support.clarivate.com/Endnote/s/article/EndNote-X8-Updates?language=en_US

You can download the update from the link above, or by clicking the EndNote menu > “Check for Updates, and following the update prompts.

Q: How do I export selected references or an entire library into Excel?

A: Watch the video below on creating custom output styles and how to import different types of references into Excel: 

EndNote Experts

Carlson Science & Engineering Library

Sue Cardinal
scardinal@library.rochester.edu
(585) 275-9007

Rush Rhees Library

Stephanie Barrett
sbarrett@library.rochester.edu
(585)-275-9299

Miner Library, URMC

Linda Hasman
linda_hasman@urmc.rochester.edu
(585) 275-3399

Daniel Castillo
Daniel_Castillo@urmc.rochester.edu
(585) 275-6873

Darcy Mulligan
Darcey_Mulligan@URMC.Rochester.edu
(585) 276-7094

EndNote Expert

Sue Cardinal's picture
Sue Cardinal
   
                             
        Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me.      
   
Contact:
313A Carlson Library
Phone: 585 275-9007
Video Chat via Zoom
ORCID: 0000-0002-9267-8235
OFFICE HOURS:
Friday 1 - 3 pm Carlson 313A
Website

EndNote Expert

Stephanie Barrett's picture
Stephanie Barrett
Chat is unavailable right now, feel free to email me at sbarrett@library.rochester.edu.
Contact:
Rush Rhees Library, 500 Joseph C. Wilson Blvd.
Rochester, NY 14627
585-275-9299