CHEM 131 - Chemical Concepts, Systems and Practices I: Reagents & Safety

(PRINT) A one-volume encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds. Information provided: chemical, common and generic names, Over 15,000 trademarks and associated companies, CAS Registry Numbers for over 12,000 compounds, Over 8,500 chemical structures, molecular formulae, weights and percentage composition, capsule statements identifying compound classes and scientific significance, scientific and patent literature references, physical and toxicity data, therapeutic and commercial uses, caution and hazard information.

Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens, Seventh Edition, has proven to be a reliable, accessible, must-have reference on hazardous materials for over thirty years. This updated and revised seventh edition is the most comprehensive listing of the hazardous chemicals commonly used, transported, and regulated in industry and the workplace. Sittig's Handbook provides extensive data for over 2,200 chemicals in a uniform format, enabling fast and accurate decisions in any situation. The chemicals are presented alphabetically and classified as a carcinogen, hazardous substance, hazardous waste, or toxic pollutant. This new edition contains expanded and reviewed information for each chemical listed (including chemicals classified as WMD) and has been updated to keep pace with world events, standards, and regulations.

Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards, Eighth Edition presents the latest updates on the unexpected, but predictable, loss of containment and explosion hazards from chemicals and their admixtures and actual accidents. The extensively cross-referenced book enables readers to avoid explosion and loss of containment of chemicals. Primary and more specialized sources are easily traced, and this new edition includes available record updates, also adding a number of new records. In this newly updated and expanded edition, the content is presented in a clear and user-friendly format.

4th Edition in Print at Carlson

Research Laboratory Safety explains the most important prerequisite when working in a laboratory: Knowing the potential hazards of equipment and the chemical materials to be employed. Students learn how to assess and control risks in a research laboratory and to identify a possible danger. An approach on the hazard classes such as physical, chemical, biological and radiation hazards is given and exercises to each class prepare for exams.