Do renewable energy sources really provide a realistic alternative to fossil fuels? How does wind power compare to nuclear power, in terms of the energy it can generate? How do we get energy from the tides, and is it really a useful source of power? Energy Science: Principles, Technologies, and Impacts integrates the science behind the key energy sources that are at our disposal today with the socioeconomic issues surrounding their use to give a balanced, objective overview of the range of energy sources available to us today. Covering both traditional and renewable energy sources, the book encourages the reader to evaluate different energy sources on the basis of sound quantitative understanding. It also explores the fundamental processes of energy generation, storage, and transmission, building a complete picture of energy supply and use--from wind turbines, nuclear reactors, and hydroelectric dams--to our homes. Different energy sources have different social and economic impacts; the book uses examples and case studies throughout to help the reader critically assess the information to hand surrreach a well-rounded, informed view of the relative merits and drawbacks of the utilization of various energy sources. Problems with current and future energy use and supply extend globally; Energy Science: Principles, Technologies, and Impacts introduces the potential solutions that science can offer, within a framework that encourages the critical assessment of the pros and cons of each.
Handbook of Energy, Volume II: Chronologies, Top Ten Lists, and Word Clouds draws together a comprehensive account of the energy field from the prestigious and award-winning authors of the Encyclopedia of Energy (2004), The Dictionary of Energy, Expanded Edition (2009), and the Handbook of Energy, Volume I (2013). Handbook of Energy, Volume II takes the wealth of information about historical aspects of energy spread across many books, journals, websites, disciplines, ideologies, and user communities and synthesizes the information in one central repository. This book meets the needs of a diverse readership working in energy, and serves as a vital method of communication among communities including colleges and universities, nongovernmental organizations, government agencies, consulting firms and research institutes of energy, environmental, and public policy issues. Interdisciplinary coverage appropriate for scientists in environmental sciences, social and natural sciences, and engineering Top Ten lists, written by prominent subject experts, provide personal reflections on key issues Chronologies covering 40 different subject areas provide all the significant events in a given field from the geologic past to the present day
Elsevier 2004 Cutler J. Cleveland Editor / In recent years our usage and understanding of different types of energy has grown at a tremendous rate. The editor-in-chief, Cutler Cleveland, and his international team of associate editors have brought together approximately 400 authors to produce the Encyclopedia of Energy. This highly topical reference draws together all aspects of energy, covering a wealth of areas throughout the natural, social and engineering sciences. The Encyclopedia will provide easily accessible information about all aspects of energy, written by leading international authorities. It will not only be indispensible for academics, researchers, professionals and students, but also for policy makers, energy and environmental consultants, and all those working in business corporations and non-governmental organisations whose activities relate to energy and the environment.
This set will provide an overview of the subject of energy in language accessible to readers at all levels. Articles examine the subject from various angles-concepts and sources; exploration, processing, delivery, and storage; applications and usage; and economics and regulation.
(Online) Science encyclopedia articles, definitions, biographies, study guides and graphics.
includes McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science and Technology,9th ed.,McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, 6th edition,McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science and Technology and more. updated daily.
includes McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science and Technology,9th ed.,McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, 6th edition,McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science and Technology and more. updated daily.
Energy Science by 
Handbook of Energy by 
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Energy by 
