CHEM 414 - Biological Inorganic Chemistry

(print) 'Biological Inorganic Chemistry' gives both an overview of biological inorganic chemistry & presents a detailed look at metal-ion containing biological systems.

(print) The text will provide a set of problems covering mechanistic, structural and spectroscopic issues in inorganic chemistry. Specific areas to be covered include coordination chemistry, physiochemical aspects of solution chemistry, inorganic chemistry of biological systems (both natural biomolecules and bioinorganic models). Illustrative worked examples will be included. The problems will be categorized by topic chapters for ease of reference and use in courses. They will provide a valuable resource for instructors, providing a means of testing and developing the many principles covered in texts and advanced courses. Often students find it difficult to find practical problems to test the principles they have learned in class. This text will provide a series of questions to test understanding and worked examples as a pedagogical aid.

(Print) Written by major contributors to the field, this book provides students with an introduction and overview of bioinorginic chemistry and gives them the background required to read and follow the current research literature. Each chapter is designed to define and teach underlying principles of bioinorganic chemistry while at the same time describing the state of current knowledge about the particular topic of the chapter. This text-reference is suitable for use in advanced undergraduate and graduate courses.

(print) As one of the most dynamic fields in contemporary science, bioinorganic chemistry lies at a natural juncture between chemistry, biology, and medicine. This rapidly expanding field probes fascinating questions about the uses of metal ions in nature. Respiration, metabolism, photosynthesis, gene regulation, and nerve impulse transmission are a few of the many natural processes that require metal ions, and new systems are continually being discovered. The use of unnatural metals - which have been introduced into human biology as diagnostic probes and drugs - is another active area of tremendous medical significance. This introductory text, written by two pioneering researchers, is destined to become a landmark in the field of bioinorganic chemistry through its organized unification of key topics. Accessible to undergraduates, the book provides necessary background information on coordination chemistry, biochemistry, and physical methods before delving into topics that are central to the field: What metals are chosen and how are they taken up by cells? How are the concentrations of metals controlled and utilized in cells? How do metals bind to and fold biomolecules? What principles govern electron transfer and substrate binding and activation reactions? How do proteins fine-tune the properties of metals for specific functions? For each topic discussed, fundamentals are identified and then clarified through selected examples. An extraordinarily readable writing style combines with chapter-opening principles, study problems, and beautifully rendered two-color illustrations to make this book an ideal choice for instructors, students, and researchers in the chemical, biological, and medical communities.

(print) This book provides a clear and concise introduction to the rapidly growing field of bioinorganic chemistry. The first part of the book deals with the function and occurrence of inorganic elements in living organisms, while later chapters address the applications of these biominerals, inorganic electrolytes and inorganic compounds in fields such as chemotherapy and radiodiagnostics.

(print) This text provides detailed coverage of physical methods used in bioinorganic chemistry. By integrating theory with experimentation, and providing a more biological orientation, the book aims to serve as a major textbook for students of bioinorganic chemistry.

(print) Modern spectroscopic and instrumental techniques are essential to the practice of inorganic and bioinorganic chemistry. This first volume in the new Wiley Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry Methods and Applications Series provides a consistent and comprehensive description of the practical applicability of a large number of techniques to modern problems in inorganic andbioinorganic chemistry. The outcome is a text that provides invaluable guidance and advice for inorganic and bioinorganic chemists to select appropriate techniques, whilst acting as asource to the understanding of these methods. This volume is also available as part of Encyclopedia ofInorganic Chemistry, 5 Volume Set. This set combines all volumes published as EIC Books from 2007to 2010, representing areas of key developments in the field of inorganic chemistry published in the Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry.

(print) This book gives a comprehensive overview about medicinal inorganic chemistry. Topics like targeting strategies, mechanism of action, Pt-based antitumor drugs, radiopharmaceuticals are covered in detail and offer the reader an in-depth overview about this important topic.

(print) Over the past several decades there have been major advances in our ability to computationally evaluate the electronic structure of inorganic molecules, particularly transition metal systems. This advancement is due to the Moore's Law increase in computing power as well as the impact of density functional theory (DFT) andits implementation in commercial and freeware programs for quantum chemical calculations. Improved pure and hybrid density functionals are allowing DFT calculations with accuracy comparable to high-level Hartree-Fock treatments, and the results of these calculations can now be evaluated by experiment. When calculations are correlated to, and supported by,experimental data they can provide fundamental insight into electronic structure and its contributions to physical properties and chemical reactivity. This interplay continues to expand and contributes to both improved value of experimental results and improved accuracy of computational predictions. The purpose of this EIC Book is to provide state-of-the-art presentations of quantum mechanical and related methods and their applications, written by many of the leaders in the field. Part 1of this volume focuses on methods, their background and implementation, and their use in describing bonding properties,energies, transition states and spectroscopic features. Part 2focuses on applications in bioinorganic chemistry and Part 3discusses inorganic chemistry, where electronic structure calculations have already had a major impact. This addition to the EIC Book series is of significant value to both experimentalists and theoreticians, and we anticipate that it will stimulate both further development of the methodology and its applications in the many interdisciplinary fields that comprise modern inorganic and bioinorganic chemistry. This volume is also available as part of Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry, 5 Volume Set. This set combines all volumes published as EIC Books from 2007to 2010, representing areas of key developments in the field of inorganic chemistry published in the Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry.

(print) With its updates to quickly changing content areas, a strengthened visual presentation and the addition of new co-author Paul Fischer, the new edition of this highly readable text is more educational and valuable than ever. Inorganic Chemistry, 5/e delivers the essentials of Inorganic Chemistry at just the right level for today's classroom -- neither too high (for novice readers) nor too low (for advanced readers). Strong coverage of atomic theory and an emphasis on physical chemistry provide a firm understanding of the theoretical basis of inorganic chemistry, while a reorganized presentation of molecular orbital and group theory highlights key principles more clearly.

(print) This highly readable text provides the essentials of Inorganic Chemistry at a level that is neither too high nor too low. Praised for its coverage of theoretical inorganic chemistry, it discusses molecular symmetry earlier than other texts and builds on this foundation in later chapters. Plenty of supporting book references encourage you to further explore topics of interest.

(print) This highly readable book provides the essentials of Inorganic Chemistry with molecular symmetry as its foundation.Chapter topics include atomic structure, molecular orbitals, organometallic chemistry, simple bonding theory, symmetry and group theory, and more.For chemists and other professionals who want to update or improve their background in the field.

(print) The bestselling textbook inorganic chemistry text on the market covers both theoretical and descriptive aspects of the subject, and emphasizes experimental methods, industrial applications, and modern topics. 

(Online) The over 10,000 entries in this comprehensive Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology provide clear and concise definitions for anyone working in life sciences today. It incorporates related terms from neuroscience, genetics, microbiology, immunology, pathology, and physiology. This fourth revised edition reflects the enormous changes brought about by the explosion of new technologies, especially high throughput approaches and functional genomics. As a result, this edition is over 30% larger than the previous edition, with 3400 new entries. As with the prior edition, additions are reflective of online search queries performed by users of the dictionary. The entries in this authoritative work have been widely praised for their clarity, brevity, and accuracy throughout. The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology features numerous tables and other useful features.

(Print) Since its first edition in 1975, this extraordinary textbook has helped shape the way biochemistry is taught, offering exceptionally clear writing, innovative graphics, coverage of the latest research techniques and advances, and a signature emphasis on physiological and medical relevance. Those defining features are at the heart of the new Seventh Edition of Biochemistry, which again communicates fundamental concepts and the latest breakthroughs in a way that makes the information engaging and understandable for students approaching the subject for the first time.

(print)This books has exceptional clarity and concision, a more biological focus, cutting-edge content, and an elegant, uncluttered design.

(print) Authors Dave Nelson and Mike Cox combine the best of the laboratory and best of the classroom, introducing exciting new developments while communicating basic principles of biochemistry.

(Print) The "Gold Standard" in Biochemistry text books, Biochemistry 4e, is a modern classic that has been thoroughly revised. Don and Judy Voet explain biochemical concepts while offering a unified presentation of life and its variation through evolution. Incorporates both classical and current research to illustrate the historical source of much of our biochemical knowledge.

(print) Biochemistry is a modern classic that has been thoroughly revised. Don and Judy Voet explain biochemical concepts while offering a unified presentation of life and its variation through evolution. Incorporates both classical and current research to illustrate the historical source of much of our biochemical knowledge.

(Print) This text presents the discipline from a boichemist's point of view as well as a biological perspective. It shows how biochemical processes work in living organisms and the working methods of practitioners.

Volume 1 has a brief historical overview, and discusses targets of biologically active molecules, bioactive materials, and socioeconomic factors of drug development. Volume 2 covers enzymes and other molecular targets; Volume 3, membranes and receptors; Volume 4, quantitative drug design; and Volume 5, biopharmaceuticals, including pharmacokinetics and metabolism. Volume 6 consists of a cumulative subject index

This Handbook on Metalloproteins focuses on the available structural information of proteins and their metal ion coordination spheres. It centers on the metal ions indispensable for life but also considers metal ions used as substitution probes in studies of metalloproteins. Emphasizing the structure-function relationship, the book covers the common and distinct characterstics of metallo- enzymes, proteins, and amino acids bonded to copper, zinc, iron, and more.

Includes methodologies and databases for biochemistry and molecular biology. This title offers logical presentation that enables the reader to conveniently locate the information relevant to his or her needs. It features tables containing data on amino acids, proteins, nucleosides, nucleotides, and nucleic acids.

In recent years, the analysis and classification of metalloproteins at the interface between chemistry and biology has accelerated. Many developments and initiatives have taken place and this two-volume handbook provides a comprehensive, yet focussed, collection of 105 major metalloproteins. Content is presented in both a large format and full colour and covers the most relevant transition metals such as Iron, Nickel, Copper, Cobalt, Molybdenum, Manganese Tungsten and Vanadium. Each contribution is presented in a similar format and shows a ribbon plot of the overall 3D Structure on their first page, a representation of the metal active site and numerous other figures and tables underpinning the remarks. Comparative information is provided on different proteins and every entry has been extensively referenced to current literature. Incorporates full-colour representation of molecular structures throughout. Unifies information from molecular biology, enzymology, spectroscopy, biochemistry, chemistry, biophysics, macromolecular crystallography and structural biology . Includes comprehensive sections that cover: Functional Class, Occurrence, Amino Acid Sequence Information, Protein Production, Purification and Molecular Characterisation, Metal Content and Cofactors, Activity Test, Spectroscopy, 3D Structure, Functional Aspects.

Written in uncommonly engaging, lucid, and elegant prose, this text is an understand-it-yourself, do-it-yourself manual designed to help research students in any discipline understand the fundamental structure of quality research and the methodical process that leads to genuinely significant results. It guides the reader, step-by-step, from the selection of a problem to study, through the process of conducting authentic research, to the preparation of a completed report, with practical suggestions based on a solid theoretical framework and sound pedagogy. Suited for the core text in any introductory research course or even for self-instruction, this text will show students two things: 1) that quality research demands planning and design; and, 2) how their own research projects can be executed effectively and professionally.