Home - CHEM 422 - Organometallic Chemistry - LibGuides at University of Rochester

Organometallic Journals

Organometallics (1982 - Present)
Organometallics records progress in one of the most active fields for organometallic, inorganic, organic, and materials chemists. Articles, communications, mini-reviews, and notes detail the synthesis, structure, bonding, chemical reactivity and reaction mechanisms, and applications of organometallic and organometalloidal compounds. Applications coverage includes organic and polymer synthesis, catalytic processes, and synthetic aspects of materials science and solid-state chemistry.
Inorganic Chemistry (1962 - Present)
Inorganic Chemistry publishes fundamental studies in all phases of inorganic chemistry. Coverage includes experimental and theoretical reports on quantitative studies of structure and thermodynamics, kinetics, mechanisms of inorganic reactions, bioinorganic chemistry, and relevant aspects of organometallic chemistry, solid-state phenomena, and chemical bonding theory. Emphasis is placed on the synthesis, structure, thermodynamics, reactivity, spectroscopy, and bonding properties of significant new and known compounds.
Journal of Organometallic Chemistry (1963 - Present)
The Journal of Organometallic Chemistry targets original papers dealing with theoretical aspects, structural chemistry, synthesis, physical and chemical properties (including reaction mechanisms), and practical applications of organometallic compounds. It also includes important research on organometallic complexes in bioorganometallic chemistry and material sciences, and of heavier main group elements in organometallic chemistry. Additionally review articles, short communications and notes are included.
Journal of the American Chemical Society (1879 - Present)
The Journal of the American Chemical Society (JACS), founded in 1879, is the flagship journal of the American Chemical Society and the world's preeminent journal in all of chemistry and interfacing areas of science. This periodical is devoted to the publication of fundamental research papers and publishes approximately 19,000 pages of Articles, Communications, and Perspectives a year. Published weekly, JACS provides research essential to the field of chemistry.
Science
Science is a weekly, peer-reviewed journal that publishes significant original scientific research, plus reviews and analyses of current research and science policy.
Nature
The criteria for publication of scientific papers (Articles and Letters) in Nature are that they:
- report original scientific research (the main results and conclusions must not have been
-are of outstanding scientific importance
-reach a conclusion of interest to an interdisciplinary readership.

To identify additional journals, use the core databases to search on your topic and ask researchers that are working in the area.

Structures

Protein Data Bank This link opens in a new window
3-D structural data of large molecules of proteins and nucleic acids.
Cambridge Structural Database This link opens in a new window
Crystal structures of small organic and organometallic molecules.
Special instructions: Use public computers on the first floor of Carlson to access the full version of Cambridge Structural Database. Contact the Chemistry Outreach Librarian with questions.

Cambridge Structural Databases
Client Software available on public computers on the 1st floor of Carlson Library
Use to find typical bond angles, lengths, crystal structures, etc.

Core Chemistry Databases

CAS SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Includes PatentPak, MethodsNow and Retrosynthesis Plan A separate registration is required before the first use. See About SciFinder for more detail.
To use off campus, use VPN.

For SciFinder, first time users must register here with your UR email address to obtain a free password.

Reaxys (2017 version) This link opens in a new window
Identifies chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions with references to journal and patent literature of chemistry. The data originates from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry, the Beilstein Handbuch der organischen Chemie and a Patent Chemistry database. To learn more, see About Reaxys.
Users should update their passwords.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
VPN required for off-campus access.
Users should update their passwords.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology, many with links to full text.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes access to molecular and bioinformatic databases from the NCBI system (previous Entrez). Automatically expands (explodes) subject headings. Truncation turns off this automatic expansion of the hierarchical subject headings.
American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text of American Chemical Society journals.
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
Dimensions is a next-generation linked research information system that makes it easier to find and access the most relevant information, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy.
Patrons can register using UR credentials.
To request access to Dimensions Google BigQuery, please contact Dale Hess dale.hess@rochester.edu.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.

Research Rabbit
AI Tool to find more papers from some good ones. See videos and this
review for more.
Compare Chemistry Databases
Review strengths and weaknesses of core chemistry database based on Sue's knowledge and experience.

Off Campus Access

All electronic library resources, including e-journals, databases, and course reserves, are available to current students, faculty, and staff from off-campus using either your My Account/NetID or VPN access. When you click on the link of a restricted library resource from the libraries' website, you will be prompted to login.

NetID
Info about your NetID and password.
Active Directory
Used to login to your Library account (My Account). For most people, it is the same as the NetID.
Remote Access (VPN)
Virtual Private Networking (VPN) establishes a connection so that you appear to be part of the University network. This eliminates repetitive logins. DUO two-factor authentication is necessary to set up your VPN.
DUO two-factor authentication
The University uses Duo to better protect University data. Duo authentication occurs after you log in with your user name and password using a mobile phone, tablet, or landline to verify your identity.

CHEM 422 - Organometallic Chemistry

STEM Librarian

Organometallic Journals

Structures

Core Chemistry Databases

Off Campus Access

Related Links

Libraries

Chemistry Department

Other Guides