CHEM 427 - Organic Structure Determination

(Online) Keeping mathematics to a minimum, this book introduces nuclear properties, nuclear screening, chemical shift, spin-spin coupling, and relaxation. This book provides the student with the physical background to NMR spectroscopy from the point of view of the whole of the periodic table rather than concentrating on the narrow applications of 1H and 13C NMR spectroscopy. Aids to structure determination, such as decoupling, the nuclear Overhauser effect, INEPT, DEPT, and special editing, and two dimensional NMR spectroscopy are discussed in detail with examples, including the complete assignment of the 1H and 13C NMR spectra of D-amygdain.

(Print) This book introduces nuclear properties, nuclear screening, chemical shift, spin-spin coupling, and relaxation. It provides the student with the physical background to NMR spectroscopy from the point of view of the whole of the periodic table rather than concentrating on the narrow applications of 1H and 13C NMR spectroscopy. Aids to structure determination, such as decoupling, the nuclear Overhauser effect, INEPT, DEPT, and special editing, and two dimensional NMR spectroscopy are discussed in detail with examples, including the complete assignment of the 1H and 13C NMR spectra of D-amygdain.

(Online) High-Resolution NMR Techniques in Organic Chemistry, Third Edition describes the most important NMR spectroscopy techniques for the structure elucidation of organic molecules and the investigation of their behaviour in solution. Appropriate for advanced undergraduate and graduate students, research chemists and NMR facility managers, this thorough revision covers practical aspects of NMR techniques and instrumentation, data collection, and spectrum interpretation.

(Print) High-Resolution NMR Techniques in Organic Chemistry describes the most important high-resolution NMR techniques that find use in the structure elucidation of organic molecules and the investigation of their behavior in solution. The techniques are presented and explained using pictorial formats wherever possible, limiting the number of mathematical descriptions. The emphasis is on the more recently developed methods of solution-state NMR spectroscopy with a considerable amount of information on implementation and on the setting of critical parameters for anyone wishing to exploit these methods.

(Print) Includes new material on the symmetric properties of extended arrays (crystals), projection operators, LCAO molecular orbitals, and electron counting rules. Also contains many new exercises and illustrations.

(online) This third edition of the Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry provides authoritative and comprehensive coverage of all aspects of spectroscopy and closely related subjects that use the same fundamental principles, including mass spectrometry, imaging techniques and applications. It includes the history, theoretical background, details of instrumentation and technology, and current applications of the key areas of spectroscopy. The new edition will include over 80 new articles across the field. These will complement those from the previous edition, which have been brought up-to-date to reflect the latest trends in the field. Coverage in the third edition includes: Atomic spectroscopy Electronic spectroscopy Fundamentals in spectroscopy High-Energy spectroscopy Magnetic resonance Mass spectrometry Spatially-resolved spectroscopic analysis Vibrational, rotational and Raman spectroscopies The new edition is aimed at professional scientists seeking to familiarize themselves with particular topics quickly and easily. This major reference work continues to be clear and accessible and focus on the fundamental principles, techniques and applications of spectroscopy and spectrometry.