LibGuides: * Comparative Literature: Home

Welcome

Hello! I'm Jessica Lacher-Feldman and I'm here to help you find the best (and most efficient) ways to do research. I'm happy to meet with you in person, online, email, chat or telephone.

Other Resources

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, etc.

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
A customizable general reference solution for librarians and learners offering more than 600 titles from over 80 publishers.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online This link opens in a new window
Full text biography, criticism and bibliography for writers from all eras, nationalities and genres.

Articles and other Sources

DiscoverUR is a simple, one-stop searching for articles, books, e-books, videos, digital media, and more.
DiscoverUR also helps you manage your research. Sign-in to your account for additional functionality including:

Renewing books and videos
Creating a favorites lists of books, articles, and more
Saving your searches
Exporting citations to Refworks, Endnote, and other citation managers
View full search results (some databases only show results when you're signed in)

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles, books, dissertations on literature, linguistics, film and folklore.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Identifies and locates books and other materials owned by libraries in the US and internationally.
Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of UR, in all disciplines and formats, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections.

tags: firstsearch, first search, world cat
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Gateway to full text works of poetry, drama and prose, literary criticism and reference.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles and cited references in selected arts and humanities journals.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Punctum books This link opens in a new window
Punctum books is an open access and print-on-demand independent publisher dedicated to radically creative modes of intellectual inquiry of high-quality academic books in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Fine Arts, and Architecture & Design. Punctum is devoted to cultivating trans-disciplinary academic work that takes risks with form and style, and to fostering the work of both traditional and non-traditional scholar-researchers, including thought leaders at prestigious universities, early to mid-career researchers at a wide variety of academic institutions, precarious academics, independent scholars, and others who understand the importance of sharing their work with the Open Commons.