Chemistry Reference Tools

Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards, Eighth Edition presents the latest updates on the unexpected, but predictable, loss of containment and explosion hazards from chemicals and their admixtures and actual accidents. The extensively cross-referenced book enables readers to avoid explosion and loss of containment of chemicals. Primary and more specialized sources are easily traced, and this new edition includes available record updates, also adding a number of new records. In this newly updated and expanded edition, the content is presented in a clear and user-friendly format.

The Comprehensive Handbook of Chemical Bond Energies offers quick access to experimental BDE data in the most inclusive, well-organized, and up-to-date collection available today. This handbook compiles the most recent experimental BDE data for more than 19,600 bonds of 102 elements. The author organizes the data by bond type, functional group, bond order, bond degree, molecular size, and structure for ease of use. Data can also be located using the Periodic table. The book presents data for organic molecules, biochemicals, and radicals as well as clusters, ions, hydrogen- and surface-bonded species, van der Waals complexes, isotopic species, and halogen-clusters/complexes. It also introduces entirely new data for inorganics and organometallics. The final chapter summarizes the heats of formation for atoms, inorganic/organic radicals, and monoatomic ions in the gas phase.

This handbook is a "single source of information for those practicing scientists and research students who must use various aspects of chemical analysis in their work." Contents include chromatography (Gas, High-Performance, Liquid, Thin Layer) , supercritical fluid extraction, electrophoresis, Spectroscopy (UV, IR, NMR), spectrometry (Mass Spec, AA), qualitative tests, solution properties and safety tables.

Analytical chemists will find all the conventional wet and instrumental techniques in one exhaustive reference along with all the critical data needed to apply them. Worked examples, troubleshooting tips, and numerous tables and charts are provided for easy access to the data. NEW: 3 major chapters on Analysis of Indoor Air, Analysis of Pesticides, Analysis of Trace Metals

Convert Spanish Chemistry terms to English and English to Spanish. 70,000 entries Useful bilingual appendices

Definitions of terms in electrochemistry

(Online) This book set provides both an important database for professionals as well as detailed reading ranging from historical facts, discoverers' portraits, colour plates of mineral types, natural occurrences, and industrial figures to winning and refining processes, biological roles and applications in modern chemistry, engineering and industry. Elemental data is presented in fact tables which include numerous physical and thermodynamic properties, isotope lists, radiation absorption characteristics, NMR parameters, and others. Further pertinent data is supplied in additional tables throughout the text.

(Online) Presents valuable material, on the application of protective groups in organic chemistry, that is not easily found by casual searching. Helps chemists to plan, investigate, and carry out organic syntheses in an efficient manner.

The Handbook of Acid-Base Indicators compiles the most up-to-date, comprehensive information on over 200 water-based and solvent-based indicators into a single source. Organized alphabetically, entries include: common name, other names, CA index name, CAS registry number, Merck index number, chemical structure, chemical/dye class, molecular formula, molecular weight, pH range, color change at pH, pKa, physical form, solubility, UV-visible (Lambda-max), melting point, and boiling point. This resource also offers unique coverage including protocols for synthesizing indicator compounds; data relating to adverse effects, toxicity, and safety; and major applications for each indicator.

The book is a one-stop reference that presents updated data in a handy format specifically designed for use when reaching a decision point in designing an analysis or interpreting results.Enhancements to the Third Edition: Includes data from the CRC Handbook of Fundamental Spectroscopic Correlation Charts new information on gas, liquid, and thin layer chromatography; nuclear magnetic resonance spectrometry; infrared spectrophotometry; and mass spectrometry Reviews the detection of outliers in experimental data Provides basic information on thermocouples, chemical indicators, and chromatographic column regeneration Explores the latest stationary phases for chromatographic methods and extractions Examines carcinogens and chemical, electrical, radiation, and laser hazards Includes information on laboratory safety and equipment, from advice on choosing lab gloves and apparel to selecting respirators

Provides electrochemical information, including details of experimental considerations, representative calculations, and illustrations of the possibilities available in electrochemical experimentation. The book is divided into five parts: Fundamentals, Laboratory Practical, Techniques, Applications, and Data. The first section covers an overview of electrochemical conventions, terminology, fundamental equations, and electrochemical cells, experiments, literature, textbooks, and specialized books. Part 2 focuses on the different laboratory aspects of electrochemistry which is followed by a review of the various electrochemical techniques ranging from classical experiments to scanning electrochemical microscopy, electrogenerated chemiluminesence and spectroelectrochemistry. Applications of electrochemistry include electrode kinetic determinations, unique aspects of metal deposition, and electrochemistry in small places and at novel interfaces and these are detailed in Part 4. The remaining three chapters provide useful electrochemical data and information involving electrode potentials, diffusion coefficients, and methods used in measuring liquid junction potentials.

The Handbook of Green Chemistry is a one-stop resource covering green catalysis, green solvents and green processes. The Handbook of Green Chemistry covers highly topical areas in green chemistry such as feedstocks, green chemical engineering, green catalysis (homogeneous, heterogeneous and biocatalysis), separation techniques and solvents like supercritical fluids, ionic liquids and reactions in water. It covers the big environmental and product design issues faced by chemists such as how to make nanoscience greener, design safer, sustainable and less toxic chemicals and make chemical synthesis a greener and more sustainable process.

8 volume set covers fundamentals, applications and types of liquid crystals

(Online) This book provides a state-of-the-art, comprehensive overview of our current understanding of the fundamental properties of magnetically ordered materials, and their use in a wide range of sophisticated applications. The Handbook is published in five themed volumes, as follows: Volume 1- Fundamentals and Theory Volume 2- Micromagnetism Volume 3- Novel Techniques for Characterizing and Preparing Samples Volume 4- Novel Materials Volume 5- Spintronics and Magnetoelectronics
Magnetic materials are used ubiquitously in the modern world, in fields as diverse as, for example, electrical energy transport, high-power electro-motors and generators, telecommunication systems, navigation equipment, aviation and space operations, micromechanical automation, medicine, magnetocaloric refrigeration, computer science, high density recording, non-destructive testing of materials, and in many household applications. Research in many of these areas continues apace. The progress made in recent years in computational sciences and advanced material preparation techniques has dramatically improved our knowledge of fundamental properties and increased our ability to produce materials with highly-tailored magnetic properties, even down to the nanoscale dimension.

This 6 volume handbook is the most comprehensive reference in nuclear chemistry starting with the physical basics and including such diverse areas as the chemistry of transactinides and exotic atoms as well as radioactive waste management and radiopharmaceutical chemistry relevant to nuclear medicine. The nuclear methods of the investigation of chemical structure also receive ample space and attention.

(Online) This comprehensive book set includes four volumes, covering the methods and protocols for the synthesis, fabrication, and characterization of nanomaterials.

(Online) Extensive and recently updated.

Available in print at QD65 .L36 2005 and online, the Sixteenth Edition features an enormous compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings in every area of chemistry.Included in this massive compendium are listings of the properties of approximately 4,400 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds.This Sixteenth Edition offers 40% new or extensively revised content and starting with this edition, the author includes equations that allow users to calculate important values such as temperature and pressure. Contents: Organic Compounds * General Information, Conversion Tables, and Mathematics * Inorganic Compounds * Properties of Atom, Radicals, and Bonds * Physical Properties * Thermodynamic Properties * Spectroscopy * Electrolytes, Electromotive Force and Chemicals * Physicochemical Relationships * Polymers, Rubbers,Fats, Oils, and Waxes * Practical Laboratory Information

The third edition of Leung's Encyclopedia of Common Natural Ingredients includes the most recent research findings on a wide variety of ingredients, giving readers a single source for understanding and working with natural ingredients. Entries, listed alphabetically by common name, include source, description, chemical composition, pharmacology, uses, commercial preparations, regulatory status, and references. This expanded edition (6,500 references) includes a new section on traditional Indian medicine, with information on nine commonly used herbs.

This book … focusing on name reactions on ring formation. Ring formation reactions have found widespread applicability in traditional organic synthesis, medicinal/pharmaceuticals, agricultural, fine chemicals, and of late, especially in polymer science

Topics are organized into the following sections: oxidation, reduction, asymmetric synthesis, and functional group manipulations Each section includes a description of the functional group transformation, the historical perspective, mechanisms, variations and improvements on the reaction, synthetic utilities and applications for the reaction, experimental details, and references to the primary literature

This book continues in this well-established series of works by presenting a comprehensive treatise on name reactions in homologation reactions. Each section includes a description of the reaction, the historical perspective, a mechanism for the reaction, variations and improvements on the reaction, synthetic utilities of the reaction, experimental details, and references to the current primary literature. Primary topics include organometallics, carbon-chain homologation, radical chemistry, asymmetric C-C bond formation, and other types.

Name Reactions for Homologations, Part II comprises a comprehensive treatise on name reactions for homologations. … Part II discusses Rearrangements, Asymmetric C-C Bond Formation, and Miscellaneous Homologation Reactions. Arranged alphabetically by name reactions, the listing provides: description of the reaction, historical perspective, A mechanism for the reaction, variations and improvements on the reaction, synthetic utilities of the reaction, experimental details, and references to the current primary literature.

The chemistry of heterocyclic compounds and methods for their synthesis form the bedrock of modern medicinal chemical and pharmaceutical research. Name Reactions in Heterocyclic Chemistry provides a one-stop repository for this important field of organic chemistry. The primary topics include three- and four-membered heterocycles, five-membered heterocycles including indoles, furans, thiophenes, and oxazoles, six-membered heterocycles including quinolines, isoquinolines, and pyrimidines, and other heterocycles. Each name reaction is summarized in seven sections: Description Historical perspective Mechanism Variations and improvements Synthetic utility Experimental References

This book builds on the first volume on this topic by presenting a comprehensive treatise on name reactions in heterocyclic chemistry. Primary topics include updates to the first volume on the new and/or expanded reactions in three and four-membered heterocycles, five-membered heterocycles, six-membered heterocycles. Each section includes a description of the reaction, the historical perspective, a mechanism for the reaction, variations and improvements on the reaction, synthetic utilities of the reaction, experimental details, and references to the current primary literature.

A concise guide to the essentials of organic chemistry -- the literature, nomenclature, stereochemistry, spectroscopy, hazard information, and laboratory data. The 2nd edition updated information on many classic subjects such as mass spectrometry and infrared, ultraviolet, and nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy and new sections on chiral separations and crystallography.

New edition of the most complete reference guide to pharmaceutical compounds available! Pharmaceutical Substances is designed to be a complete reference guide to every pharmaceutical compound of significance. It is essential as a first point of reference not only for specialists in drug chemistry but also for anyone involved in the synthesis or use of pharmaceuticals. This reference work describes the production/isolation processes of about 1300 active pharmaceutical substances (including the syntheses of their intermediates) that are or have been marketed. In order to illustrate what particular information can be drawn from the book a typical monograph is depicted and labelled. Frequently-used abbreviations are explained in a separate list. With respect to the names of reagents and intermediates in the course of the syntheses the authors tried to use the names found in the catalogues of the commercial providers of fine chemicals, e.g. Sigma-Aldrich, otherwise the Chemical Abstracts Names are given. In addition, to the respective patents and publications in journals several standard reference books for Pharmaceuticals and Fine Chemicals were used and sometimes also cited. In the 5th edition of Pharmaceutical Substances, all compounds are organized alphabetically according to their International Non-proprietary Name (INN). For added ease of use, the book features 4 indexes: Trade Names Intermediates Enzymes, Microorganisms, Plants and Animal Tissues Substance Classes For further information about our chemistry products, please visit: Thieme Chemistry

(Online) This book offers concise information on the properties of polymeric materials, particularly those most relevant to physical chemistry and chemical physics. Extensive updates and revisions to each chapter include eleven new chapters on novel polymeric structures, reinforcing phases in polymers, and experiments on single polymer chains. The study of complex materials is highly interdisciplinary, and new findings are scattered among a large selection of scientific and engineering journals. This book brings together data from experts in the different disciplines contributing to the rapidly growing area of polymers and complex materials.

Prudent Practices in the Laboratory, updated edition, has an expanded chapter on chemical management and delves into new areas, such as nanotechnology, laboratory security, and emergency planning. Developed by experts from academia and industry, with specialties in such areas as chemical sciences, pollution prevention, and laboratory safety, Prudent Practices in the Laboratory provides guidance on planning procedures for the handling, storage, and disposal of chemicals. The book offers prudent practices designed to promote safety and includes practical information on assessing hazards, managing chemicals, disposing of wastes, and more. Also available on the NCBI Bookshelf.

(Online) Purification of Laboratory Chemicals, Eighth Edition, tabulates methods taken from literature for purifying thousands of individual commercially available chemicals. To help in applying this information, the more common processes currently used for purification in chemical laboratories and new methods are discussed.

This 4th Edition answers questions regarding solvents and solvent effects in organic chemistry including new chapters on "Solvents and Green chemistry", "Classification of Solvents by their Environmental Impact", and "Ionic Liquids".

This succinct compilation of essential reference data for the interpretation of NMR, IR, UV/Vis, and mass spectra also provides a hands-on guide for interpreting experimental spectral data and elucidating the structure of the respective compounds behind them.

Solvents have been the cause of occupational health problems for many years. This book examines the clinical consequences of exposure to different solvents, particularly in the workplace. Medical professionals will find useful information about antidotes, tests for exposure, and hospital management of affected patients. A glossary of medical terms is included to assist non-medical readers in understanding the text.

(PRINT) A one-volume encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds. Information provided: chemical, common and generic names, Over 15,000 trademarks and associated companies, CAS Registry Numbers for over 12,000 compounds, Over 8,500 chemical structures, molecular formulae, weights and percentage composition, capsule statements identifying compound classes and scientific significance, scientific and patent literature references, physical and toxicity data, therapeutic and commercial uses, caution and hazard information.

Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards, Eighth Edition presents the latest updates on the unexpected, but predictable, loss of containment and explosion hazards from chemicals and their admixtures and actual accidents. The extensively cross-referenced book enables readers to avoid explosion and loss of containment of chemicals. Primary and more specialized sources are easily traced, and this new edition includes available record updates, also adding a number of new records. In this newly updated and expanded edition, the content is presented in a clear and user-friendly format.

4th Edition in Print at Carlson