Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

DiscoverUR Search Tips: Search Tips

Selects your affiliated library for your campus or reach out to one of our library staff.

Choose your Affiliated Library

Welcome to our Search Tips web page, where you can find information on how to search all University of Rochester library resources easily and effectively.

For a more targeted experience, choose your affiliated Library: 


If you are interested in in-depth guidance on how to find information focused on a particular discipline or topic, choose the appropriate Subject Librarian below:

Librarians at River Campus Libraries

Or find your librarian by subject area

Special Collections Curators (River Campus Libraries)

Contact one of the curators below for questions in their areas of expertise.

Autumn Haag, Assistant Director​

  • 19th Century Social Justice and Activism
  • African American History and Culture
  • Religion
  • Rochester and Monroe County History
  • Women’s History
  • Political Collections - William Henry Seward, Thurlow Weed, and Midge Costanza

Jessica Lacher-Feldman, Exhibitions and Special Projects Manager

  • 20th and 21st Century Literature and Literary Collections
  • 20th and 21st Century Social Justice and Activism
  • AIDS Education
  • LGBTQI History
  • Political Collections – Louise Slaughter
  • Theatre

Melissa S. Mead, John M. and Barbara Keil University Archivist and Rochester Collections Librarian

  • Geography and Maps
  • Political Collections – Thomas E. Dewey, Marion B. Folsom, Kenneth B. Keating, and Adolph Julius Rodenbeck
  • Science
  • University History

Andrea Reithmayr, Special Collections Librarian for Research and Collections

  • 18th and 19th Century Literature and Literary Collections
  • Architecture
  • Art
  • Bibliographic or Book History (incl. Bindings)
  • Children’s Books/Literature
  • Horticulture
  • Kodak
  • Photography
  • Spiritualism

Anna Siebach-Larsen, Director, Rossell Hope Robbins Library and Koller-Collins Center for English Studies

  • Early Modern Collections (1500-1700)
  • Medieval Collections

Librarians at Miner Library

Linda Hasman- Research & Clinical Services
Title: Assistant Director
Email: Linda_Hasman@urmc.rochester.edu
Phone Number: 275-3399 
Liaison for: Anesthesiology, Emergency Medicine, PACU/Same Day Surgery, Surgery,Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute, Public Health Sciences, Infectious Disease, Environmental Medicine


Daniel Castillo
Title: Head, Scholarly Communication and Research Initiatives
Email: Daniel_Castillo@urmc.rochester.edu
Phone Number: 275-6873 
Liaison for: Otolaryngology , Obstetrics and Gynecology , Ophthalmology , Dermatology , Allergy/Immunology/Rheumatology , Endocrinology , Chaplaincy Services


Elizabeth Grace
Title: Head-Collections & Systems
Email: Elizabeth_Grace@urmc.rochester.edu
Phone Number: 273-2265
Liaison for: Neurobiology and Anatomy , Neurosurgery , Neurology , Nephrology , Gastroenterology , Pulmonary/Critical Care , Food & Nutrition Services


Darcey (Mulligan) Rodriguez
Title: Liaison Librarian
Email: Darcey_Mulligan@urmc.rochester.edu
Phone Number: 276-7094 
Liaison for: School of Nursing (SON), Psychiatry, Nursing Education, Nursing Methods Office, Nursing Leadership Institute, Council of Nursing Education, Palliative Care, Social Work/Patient and Family Centered Care, Legal Affairs (Office of Counsel), and UR Ventures.


  Photo of Lorraine PorcelloLorraine Porcello
Title: 
Evidence Based Practice & Instruction Librarian, Branch Librarian- Highland Hospital 
Email: Lorraine_Porcello@urmc.rochester.edu
Phone Number: 
275-3247 (EIOH); 341-6761 (HH) 
Liaison for: Highland Hospital, Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, Cardiology, Medical Humanities


Robin Lacagnina

Title: Liaison Librarian - Branch Libraries
Email: Robin_Lacagnina@urmc.rochester.edu
Phone Number: 275-7710 
Liaison for: Pediatrics, Golisano Children's Hospital Family Resource Library, Simulation 

 


Meredith Gozo

Title: Curator - Rare Books and Manuscripts
Email: Meredith_Gozo@urmc.rochester.edu
Phone Number: 275-8827

Librarians at Sibley Library

Image result for jim farrington libraryFarrington, Jim
Title: Head of Public Services
Email: jfarrington@esm.rochester.edu
Phone Number: 274-1304

 


Rick McRae's picture McRae, Rick
Title: Reference Librarian
Email: rmcrae@esm.rochester.edu
Phone Number: 275-6943 

 

 


Image result for Szymanski, GerrySzymanski, Gerry
Title: Reserves and Digital Services Librarian
Email: gszymanski@esm.rochester.edu
Phone Number: 274-1313