LibGuides: * Electrical and Computer Engineering: Home

General Search

DiscoverUR
WorldCat

DiscoverUR is a good place to start a general search to determine what's available for a given topic. You can use keywords, author name, or any other information to start.

Interlibrary Loan
Not finding the article or book you need in the library? Use this free service to obtain library resources. A pdf of an article is usually delivered in 24 - 48 hours.
Recommend a purchase
If you think the library should purchase a copy of a book, report, or other types of materials, please fill out this form to let us know. UR login required.

ECE resources

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text from articles and conference papers in computer science and related disciplines.
AES E-Library This link opens in a new window
Full text files of the progression of audio engineering research from 1953 to the present.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and other literature on engineering, with some links to full text. Includes the Engineering Village backfile with access back to 1884.
Users should update their passwords.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full text of IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions and conference proceedings as well as active IEEE standards. Also includes access to the IEEE eLearning Library.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text from articles and conference papers in computer science and related disciplines.
Books24x7.com This link opens in a new window
Full text eBooks on computing and information technology.
Synthesis Collection of Technology This link opens in a new window
Full-text series of eBook lectures on research topics in Computer Science and Engineering.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Full text of the entire O'Reilly collection of reference and how-to computer books.
Patrons must select Institution Not Listed and input their UR email to access the database.
Springer eBook Collection – Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Full text of Springer ebook titles in computer science. Provides options for printing, downloading and use in course packs.

American Society for Engineering Education Open Textbooks - Electrical and Computer Engineering
Open-access textbooks collected by the ASEE Engineering Library Division.

Google Patents This link opens in a new window
Patents and patent applications from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Has a thumbnail viewer for drawings.
Sporadically updated. More about Google Patent Search .
USPTO Patent Database This link opens in a new window
Full text and images of U.S. patents.
To view the full text patents, a plug-in is required. Go to the USPTO help page for more information. Full text for patents from 1976 - current. Pre-1976 patents are searchable only by patent number and current classification code.
Espacenet This link opens in a new window
Identifies patents from many countries, some with page images.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full text of IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions and conference proceedings as well as active IEEE standards. Also includes access to the IEEE eLearning Library.
FreePatentsOnline This link opens in a new window
Full text and images of U.S. patents from 1974+, U.S. patent applications from 2001+, and European patents 2000+.
View patent images as pdf or other formats.

ASM Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Data on metals properties and performance. Authoritative source on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology.
Online handbooks include: 26 volumes of the ASM Handbooks, 3 ASM Handbooks Supplements, and 2 ASM Desk Editions (Engineered Materials Handbook and Metal Handbook).
ThomasNet This link opens in a new window
Find suppliers or sources of components, equipment, supplies, raw materials and custom manufacturing services in North America.
The only free platform designed for sourcing components, equipment, MRO products, raw materials and custom manufacturing services. Discover OEMs, distributors and custom services; Meet certification, diversity and location needs; Send RFQs and RFIs.
Springer Materials This link opens in a new window
Data in the physical sciences and engineering from Landolt-Bornstein, etc.
Data in the physical sciences and engineering from Landolt-Bornstein, chemical safety data, the Dorthmund Data Bank Software and Separation Technology (DDBST), a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases. The chemical safety data is from REACH: Registration, Evaluation, Authorization and Restriction of Chemicals, GHS: Globally Harmonized System, RoHS: Restriction of Hazardous Substances and WEEE: Waste from Electrical and Electronic Equipment.
Millipore Sigma This link opens in a new window
Chemical properties, structures, MSDS, pricing, IR and NMR spectra. Search by substance name, CAS registry number, product name or number. A plugin needs to be downloaded from the site to enable structure searching.

MatWeb
Search for properties of materials such as polymers, metals, ceramics etc. Materials may be searched by trade name.

Citation Linker
If you have a citation to an article, Citation Linker will check to see if the library has it online. Enter as much of the citation as you have. If nothing is found, try again after removing page numbers and dates.
dblp Computer Science Biography
The dblp computer science bibliography provides open bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings.
Hajim School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
MSDS Locator

ProQuest Research, Newspapers & Business This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in journals, magazines and newspapers, many full text. Includes ABI/Inform, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, and Alt-PressWatch.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on business, news, and companies worldwide, current and historical financial quotes, and company profiles.