LibGuides: * Gender, Sexuality & Women's Studies: LGBTQ+ History

LGBTQ+

AD Respect
Library of worldwide corporate ads with direct references to GLBT people or a GLBT theme, including political ads and those from government and health agencies, nonprofits, gay and anti-gay organizations.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 Parts 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of fully-searchable rare and unique content from microfilm, newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets and other types of primary sources. Content is sourced from major gay and lesbian organizations worldwide – the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives, GLBT Historical Society and others, and covers social, political, health and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, including the gay rights movement and the HIV/Aids crisis.

Boarded-up Stonewall Inn window that pleads for peaceful and quiet conduct on the streets (1969)

1969 The Year of Gay Liberation (NYPL Exhibit/Archive)
2013 Supreme Court Hearings on DOMA/Prop 8 Collection
Archives of Lesbian Oral Testimony
Biography, Stonewall Participants (PBS)
Center for LGBTQ Studies, CUNY
Corporate Equality Index Archive (HRC)
2002-2017
Daughters of Bilitis Project
Videos digitized from the Daughters of Bilitis Video Project collection at the Lesbian Herstory Archives

Declassified Documents Reference System This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 78,000 declassified U.S. federal documents.
It covers major international events, including the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond. It is also a source of information about US post- World War II domestic policy and international relations.

Gay Alliance Of The Genesee Valley Records,1970-2012 (Cornell)
Gay Peoples Union Collection (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee)
Digital copies of primary source materials documenting GPU and Milwaukee’s gay liberation movement.
GLBT Historical Society
The History Project (Gay Community, Boston, MA)
The Homosexual in Our Society: Part 1
The Homosexual in Our Society: Part 2
Lambda Legal - Landmark Cases
The Lavender Scare
Lesbian Herstory Archives
LGBT and HIV/AIDS Activist Collections
LGBT Materials in the NYPL
Includes records, artifacts, images, ephemera, documents and more from ACT UP New York, Mattachine Society, Inc. of New York, Gay Activist Alliance, International Gay Information Center Collection, among other resources.
LGBT Pride Month
LGBT Religious Archives Network
This is a resource center and information clearinghouse for the history of LGBT religious movements. It contains information ranging from oral history of early LGBT religious leaders to online exhibitions presenting artifacts from LGBT religious history. This innovative venture aims to encourage scholarly research and historical study of these important movements for social change.
Mazer Lesbian Archives at UCLA
Milwaukee Gay/Lesbian Cable Network Records
Collection consists of regular and special programming on local LGBT issues, dating from 1987 to 1994.
ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives, LGBTQ
People With a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans History
Queer Japan Web Archive
Queer Zines Archives Project
Rainbow History Project
Rochester, New York Voices of LGBT History
Stonewall Oral History Project
Veterans History Project, Speaking Out: LGBT Veterans (Library of Congress)
Wearing Gay History: A Digital Archive of Historical LGBT T-Shirts

Rochester LGBTQ+ History

Gay Alliance of the Genesee Valley records, 1970-2012 (Cornell University) Records of the organization and information on various services, programs and events provided by GAGV, and political advocacy, grant proposals, and work with other New York State organizations. Much of the collection is comprised of organizational records, such as board meeting minutes, financial and administrative records.
Gay Brotherhood of Rochester Papers
Papers of the GBR, a student-led community group which first formed at the University of Rochester as a subgroup of the Gay Liberation Front in 1970. They were later a founding affiliate group of the Gay Alliance of Genesee Valley (later, the Out Alliance).
ImageOut: The Rochester LGBT Film & Video Festival
Provides an archive of festival programming dating back to 1996.
Out Alliance Library, Archives & Cyber Center (Rochester, NY)
Contains over 10,000 items/titles including books, periodicals, and DVDs as well as non-circulating items available for research.
more...less...
Formerly the Gay Alliance of the Genesee Valley, which adopted a more inclusive name in October of 2017.
RJ Alcalá Gay Rights and Culture Collection
Papers of RJ , a 1971 graduate of the Eastman School of Music and a founding member of the Gay Liberation Front at the University of Rochester. He is credited with naming The Empty Closet, one of the longest continually-running LGBTQ+ newspapers in the United States.
Shoulders to Stand On (DVD)
Trans Rochester Speaks from RIT, conversations with members of Rochester's Trans Community. Pam Barres, included in STSO is featured.
Voices of LGBT History (UR)

AIDS

ACT UP Documents
"This is about people dying"
ACT UP Oral History Project
Europeana Collections
A portal to +20 million digital items from +1,500 European archives, libraries, museums from 32 countries. In mutliple languages, the portal includes links to texts (books, newspapers, etc.), images (works of arts, maps, etc.), video (film, TV broadcasts, etc.), and sound (music, radio broadcasts).

* Gender, Sexuality & Women's Studies: LGBTQ+ History

Trial Databases

LGBTQ+

Rochester LGBTQ+ History

AIDS