LibGuides: * Linguistics: Research Resources

DiscoverUR

DiscoverUR
Use DiscoverUR to explore all library resources.

DiscoverUR Search Tips
Click here to learn more about the searching capabilities within DiscoverUR to make your research easier and more efficient.

Databases

Popular linguistics databases:

Enhanced Electronic Grammars
Online reference specifically designed for the needs of linguists and typologists. Search across dozens of languages and hundreds of linguistic phenomena.
Ethnologue
Provides descriptions, statistics, maps and bibliographies about 7,000 known living languages.

Glottolog
Comprehensive reference information for the world's languages, especially lesser-known languages.

ProQuest databases can be searched at the same time by clicking on one of the ProQuest databases, then choosing "Change Databases" from the dropdown menu next to the database name.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts - LLBA
Identifies articles, books and reports in linguistics and related fields, many with links to full text.
MLA International Bibliography
Identifies articles, books, dissertations on literature, linguistics, film and folklore.
APA PsycINFO via ProQuest
Identifies articles, books and dissertations in psychology and related subjects, many with links to full text, 1806 to current.

EBSCO databases can be searched at the same time by clicking on one of the EBSCO databases, then clicking on "Choose Databases" above the search box at the top of the screen.

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Articles on all aspects of speech, rhetoric, debate, broadcasting, and media studies.
Many major journals have indexing, abstracts and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).
SocINDEX
Identifies articles, books and other resources in sociology, anthropology, education, and other social sciences.
Includes some links to full text.
Social Sciences Full Text
Identifies articles in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, politics and law, many with links to full text.
Abstracts included from 1994-current; full text for many articles from 1994-current.

For classes cross-listed with BCSC, BME, or NSCI:

PubMed
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology, many with links to full text.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes access to molecular and bioinformatic databases from the NCBI system (previous Entrez). Automatically expands (explodes) subject headings. Truncation turns off this automatic expansion of the hierarchical subject headings.
Web of Science
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.

Browse Linguistics Journals

Browse anthropological linguistics and sociolinguistics journals using Browzine:

Other Linguistics Journals

Annual Review of Linguistics
Direct link to the journal Annual Review of Linguistics. You may be prompted to login with your UR email and password.

Browse computational linguistics journals using Browzine:

Browse comparative and historical linguistics journals using Browzine:

Browzine icon BrowZine allows you to easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available through University of Rochester covering all disciplines. Create an account (free) and save your favorite journals to your bookshelf for easy access!

Find Background Information in Reference Resources

Title	E-book Link/Print Book Location
The Oxford Handbook of African American Language	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of African Languages	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Applied Linguistics (2d ed.)	E-book Print: Rhees Stacks P129. O95. 2010
The Oxford Handbook of Arabic Linguistics	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Case	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Chinese Linguistics	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Cognitive Linguistics	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Syntax	E-book Print: Rhees Stacks P291 .O95 2005
The Oxford Handbook of Compositionality	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Compounding	E-book Print: Rhees Stacks P245 .O94 2011
The Oxford Handbook of Computational Linguistics (2nd ed.)	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Construction Grammar	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Corpus Phonology	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Derivational Morphology	E-book Print: Rhees Stacks P245 .O94 2014
The Oxford Handbook of Developmental Linguistics	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Endangered Languages	E-book Print: Rhees Stacks P40.5.E53 O94 2018
The Oxford Handbook of Ergativity	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Event Structure	Print: Rhees Stacks P281 .O94 2019
The Oxford Handbook of Experimental Semantics and Pragmatics	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Experimental Syntax	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Grammatical Number	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Grammaticalization	E-book Print: Rhees Stacks P299.G73 O94 2011
The Oxford Handbook of Historical Phonology	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Inflection	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Information Structure	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Japanese Linguistics	E-book Print: Rhees Stacks PL533 .O94 2008
The Oxford Handbook of Laboratory Phonology	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Language and Law	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Language and Race	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Language and Society	E-book Print: Rhees Stacks P41 .O94 2016
The Oxford Handbook of Language Evolution	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Language Production	E-book Print: Rhees Stacks P118 .O94 2014
The Oxford Handbook of Language Prosody	E-book Print: Rhees Stacks P53.68 .O94 2020
The Oxford Handbook of Lexicography	E-book Print: Rhees Stacks P327 .O94 2016
The Oxford Handbook of Linguistic Analysis (2nd ed.)	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Linguistic Fieldwork	E-book Print: Rhees Stacks P128.F53 O94 2012
The Oxford Handbook of Linguistic Interfaces	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Linguistic Minimalism	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Linguistic Typology	E-book Print: Rhees Stacks P204 .O94 2011
The Oxford Handbook of Lying	Print: Rhees Stacks BF637.D42 O94 2019
The Oxford Handbook of Modality and Mood	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Morphological Theory	E-book Print: Rhees Stacks P241 .O94 2019
The Oxford Handbook of Names and Naming	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Neurolinguistics	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Polysynthesis	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Pragmatics	E-book Print: Rhees Stacks P99.4.P72 O94 2017
The Oxford Handbook of Reference	Print: Rhees Stacks P325.5.R44 O94 2019
The Oxford Handbook of Sociolinguistics	E-book Print: Rhees Stacks P40 .O94 2013
The Oxford Handbook of Southeast Asian Englishes	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Taboo Words and Language	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Tense and Aspect	E-book Print: Rhees Stacks P281 .O94 2012
The Oxford Handbook of the History of English	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of the History of Linguistics	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of the Mental Lexicon	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of the Word	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Translation Studies	E-book Print: Rhees Stacks P306 .O94 2011
The Oxford Handbook of Universal Grammar	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Vowel Harmony	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of Word Classes	E-book
The Oxford Handbook of World Englishes	E-book

Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences online and Rhees Reference P29 .C28 2011
Classification and Index of the World's Languages Rhees Reference P203 .V6
Compendium of the World's Languages Rhees Reference P371 .C36 2000 (earlier editions in Rhees Stacks)
Concise Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics online
Dictionary of American Regional English Rhees Reference PE2843 .D52 1985 (see companion indexes by region, usage, and etymology in Rhees Stacks)
Dictionary of Historical and Comparative Linguistics Rhees Reference P143 .T727 2000
Dictionary of Untranslatables: A Philosophical Lexicon online
Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics Rhees Reference P129 .E527 2013
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics Rhees Reference P29 .E48 2006
Encyclopedia of the World's Endangered Languages Rhees Reference P40.5 .L332 E45 2007
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics Rhees Reference P99 .E65 1986
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics online and Rhees Reference P29 .I58 2003
Longman Dictionary of Language Teaching and Applied Linguistics online
Reverse English Dictionary online
Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies online and earlier edition at Rhees Reference P306 .E57 2009
Routledge Linguistics Encyclopedia online
Sage Deaf Studies Encyclopedia online
World's Major Languages Rhees Reference P371 .W6 2009

The atlas case is located on the back wall of the room adjacent to the Rhees Reference stacks.

Atlas of Languages of Intercultural Communication in the Pacific, Asia, and the Americas Rhees Reference P130.5 .A87 1996
Atlas of the World's Languages Rhees Reference Atlas Case G1046 .E3 2007
Modern Language Association Language Map: A Map of Languages in the United States online
World Atlas of Language Structures Online (WALS Online) online and Rhees Reference Atlas Case P143 .W67 2005

Oxford English Dictionary online
Idioms and Phrases Index Rhees Reference PE1689 .I3 1983
Oxford Dictionary of Idioms Rhees Reference PE1464 .O94 2004
Dictionary of English Collocations: Based on the Brown Corpus Rhees Reference PE1689 .K54 1994

Want to Roam the Stacks?

Print materials (books, journals, etc.) pertaining to linguistics can be found in Library of Congress class P. Grammars and dictionaries are interspersed through much of the class according to their language. The below linked document outlines the subclasses in class P and can be of great help if you wish to browse the physical library collections.

Class P - Language and Literature
Download this PDF to view subclass subjects and their corresponding call numbers for all of class P. Below is a list of a majority of the P subclasses and a list of subjects and call number ranges for subclass P (Philology. Linguistics). Note: Grammars are often located within their specific language subclass (e.g., grammars for Slavic languages will be found in subclass PG).

CLASS P – LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE

Subclass P	Philology. Linguistics
Subclass PA	Greek language and literature. Latin language and literature
Subclass PB	Modern languages. Celtic languages
Subclass PC	Romance languages
Subclass PD	Germanic languages. Scandinavian languages
Subclass PE	English language
Subclass PF	West Germanic languages
Subclass PG	Slavic languages. Baltic languages. Albanian language
Subclass PH	Uralic languages. Basque language
Subclass PJ	Oriental languages and literatures
Subclass PK	Indo-Iranian languages and literatures
Subclass PL	Languages and literatures of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania
Subclass PM	Hyperborean, Indian, and artificial languages

SUBCLASS P

P1–1091	Philology. Linguistics
P1–85	General
P87–96	Communication. Mass media
P94.7	Interpersonal communication
P95–95.6	Oral communication. Speech
P98–98.5	Computational linguistics. Natural language processing
P99–99.4	Semiotics. Signs and symbols
P99.5–99.6	Nonverbal communication
P101–410	Language. Linguistic theory. Comparative grammar
P118–118.75	Language acquisition
P121–149	Science of language (Linguistics)
P201–299	Comparative grammar
P301–301.5	Style. Composition. Rhetoric
P302–302.87	Discourse analysis
P306–310	Translating and interpreting
P321–324.5	Etymology
P325–325.5	Semantics
P326–326.5	Lexicology
P327–327.5	Lexicography
P375–381	Linguistic geography
P501–769	Indo-European (Indo-Germanic) philology
P901–1091	Extinct ancient or medieval languages

Rush Rhees Call Number Directory
Refer to this call number directory to locate the stacks area you need at Rush Rhees. Class P is located in Level B. Below is a map of that location.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
Request books, articles, and other materials not available at the University of Rochester Libraries.