ProQuest searches an array of sources on a wide variety of topics. Use the "Source Type" limiters on the left-hand side to limit to Newspapers, Magazines, or Trade Journals for articles suited for a general audience.
Identifies articles on all topics, many with links to full text. Includes articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, news, trade journals and more
Articles & Books searches much of the library's content in a single search. Use the "Content Type" limiters on the left-hand side of the page to find specific kinds of sources. There's a long list! Trying a different content type, like "Patent" or "Technical Report" could bring you interesting results.
Finding scholarly articles
If you have a citation for a specific article that we have online, I recommend using the Libraries' eJournal Finder to navigate through the journal, volume, issue, and article:
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities. VPN required for off-campus access. Users should update their passwords.
Identifies journal articles and other literature on engineering, with some links to full text. Includes the Engineering Village backfile with access back to 1884. Users should update their passwords.
Full text of IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions and conference proceedings as well as active IEEE standards. Also includes access to the IEEE eLearning Library.
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology, many with links to full text.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes access to molecular and bioinformatic databases from the NCBI system (previous Entrez). Automatically expands (explodes) subject headings. Truncation turns off this automatic expansion of the hierarchical subject headings.
Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Includes PatentPak, MethodsNow and Retrosynthesis Plan. CAS Formulus, and CAS Analytical Methods have recently been added and can be found under the three dot menu on the upper left. A separate registration is required before the first use. See About SciFinder for more detail. To use off campus, use VPN..
The Lens serves integrated scholarly and patent knowledge as a public good to inform science and technology enabled problem solving. Discover, analyze, and map global innovation knowledge using our institutional subscription.
To view the full text patents, a plug-in is required. Go to the USPTO help page for more information. Full text for patents from 1976 - current. Pre-1976 patents are searchable only by patent number and current classification code.
Dimensions is a next-generation linked research information system that makes it easier to find and access the most relevant information, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy. Patrons can register using UR credentials.
To request access to Dimensions Google BigQuery, please contact Dale Hess dale.hess@rochester.edu.
InnovationQ is a patent search tool that rapidly sifts through big data to quickly and efficiently pinpoint relevant patents, applications, and non-patent literature from IEEE. There are visualizations, advanced features, and the ability to locate "similar" patents to the target one.. Only one searcher permitted at a time. Must request permission and sign-on information from Kathy Wu, Business Librarian kathyw@library.rochester.edu.
Data on metals properties and performance. Authoritative source on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology.
Online handbooks include: 26 volumes of the ASM Handbooks, 3 ASM Handbooks Supplements, and 2 ASM Desk Editions (Engineered Materials Handbook and Metal Handbook).
Data in the physical sciences and engineering from Landolt-Bornstein, etc.
Data in the physical sciences and engineering from Landolt-Bornstein, chemical safety data, the Dorthmund Data Bank Software and Separation Technology (DDBST), a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases. The chemical safety data is from REACH: Registration, Evaluation, Authorization and Restriction of Chemicals, GHS: Globally Harmonized System, RoHS: Restriction of Hazardous Substances and WEEE: Waste from Electrical and Electronic Equipment.
Find suppliers or sources of components, equipment, supplies, raw materials and custom manufacturing services in North America.
The only free platform designed for sourcing components, equipment, MRO products, raw materials and custom manufacturing services. Discover OEMs, distributors and custom services; Meet certification, diversity and location needs; Send RFQs and RFIs.
ThermoDex contains records for selected printed and web-based compilations of thermochemical and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances.
Chemical properties, structures, MSDS, pricing, IR and NMR spectra. Search by substance name, CAS registry number, product name or number. A plugin needs to be downloaded from the site to enable structure searching.
Find suppliers or sources of components, equipment, supplies, raw materials and custom manufacturing services in North America.
The only free platform designed for sourcing components, equipment, MRO products, raw materials and custom manufacturing services. Discover OEMs, distributors and custom services; Meet certification, diversity and location needs; Send RFQs and RFIs.
A large online catalog of products for industry. It contains over 410,000 items including: hand tools; hardware; storage equipment; springs
protective clothing; drills and drill bits; pumps; piping and tubing; plumbing equipment; and measuring, leveling, and inspecting equipment.
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a crucial resource for constants, physical properties of any type of substance, and experimentally validated data on organic and inorganic compounds.
Identifies chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions with references to journal and patent literature of chemistry. The data originates from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry, the Beilstein Handbuch der organischen Chemie and a Patent Chemistry database. To learn more, see About Reaxys. Users should update their passwords.
Find chemical properties and structures with related references.
Find chemical properties and structures with related references. Search by structure, name, molecular formula, CAS Registry number, property value or any combination. Retrieve basic property information, description of hazard, derivatives properties, and references to synthetic methods and spectra. Covers properties of inorganic, organic, organometallic, pharmacological agents, analytical reagents or natural products. This is the online version of "Dictionary of organic compounds", "Dictionary of natural products", "Dictionary of inorganic compounds", "Dictionary of organometallic compounds", "Dictionary of pharmacological agents", and "Dictionary of analytical reagents". For more information see the introduction on the database website.
