E-books
All of our e-books can also be discovered through the search box on the library’s homepage (https://library.rochester.edu). Simply search for a topic or title and then click the “Click to access resource” option on the left-side of your search results...or, here is a blank search you can use to quickly find titles amongst the 1 million+ e-books in our catalog: http://bit.ly/ebook-search-ur. Your results can be filtered using the facets listed at the left by date, subject terms, discipline, etc.
Library resources beyond UR
WorldCat is the worldwide catalog of library resources that you can request and have sent via interlibrary loan to any River Campus library. If another New York, national or international library has an item you'd like to borrow that UR libraries don't own, WorldCat is the best way to find such an item and request it via interlibrary loan. In order to use WorldCat, you'll need an ILLIAD account, which you can setup online here by logging in with your NetID: https://illiad.lib.rochester.edu/.
Other useful resources to support online education
Most important tip: I'm always available to help you locate the information you need! You can chat, email, or zoom with me using the tools in the left sidebar.
The River Campus Libraries' Articles, Books & More search is an ideal place to start if you're not sure where to begin your searching. (Also, if you have the title of a specific article, you can usually type that in to get a link directly to the article if we have electronic access.)
(For more tips on Articles & Books, see our guide.)
The rest of this guide contains more specific resources for finding scholarly articles, print and electronic books, and a list of common references for optics research.
If there's anything you don't see here that you've found helpful, let me know using my contact info in the left column! I'm always looking for ways to make this guide more helpful and comprehensive.
If you have a citation for a specific article that we have online, I recommend using the Libraries' eJournal Finder to navigate through the journal, volume, issue, and article:
To search more broadly for scholarly literature and patents:
Besides the Articles, Books & More search, the UR Catalog provides another view into the print and electronic resources available to you. Try them both!
The most relevant call number ranges for optics print materials fall in QC350 - 467 (Science: Physics: Optics. Light) and TA1501-1820 (Technology: Engineering (General). Civil Engineering: Applied Optics. Photonics).
The Physics-Optics-Astronomy (POA) Library, located in Bausch and Lomb Hall 374, houses print books in optics that are shelved in the general stacks and on the course reserve shelves, the latter accessible through the Q&i desk. In addition, POA houses the History of Optics collection, which contains over three hundred items that are of historical value or seminal significance in the development of the optics field.
The Carlson Science and Engineering Library and Rush Rhees Library also house print books and other relevant materials on optics. Furthermore, Carlson and POA Libraries regularly produce exhibits and displays that focus on optics and related topics.
Electronic resource: Handbook of Optics: Volume I - Geometrical and Physical Optics, Polarized Light, Components and Instruments, Third Edition by
Volume I covers geometrical and physical optics, polarized light, components, and instruments.
Electronic resource: Handbook of Optics: Volume II - Design, Fabrication, and Testing; Sources and Detectors; Radiometry and Photometry, Third Edition by
Volume II covers design, fabrications, testing, sources, detectors, radiometry, and photometry.
Electronic resource: Handbook of Optics: Volume III - Vision and Vision Optics, Third Edition by
Volume III is in full-color throughout, and covers vision and vision optics.
Electronic resource: Handbook of Optics: Volume IV - Optical Properties of Materials, Nonlinear Optics, Quantum Optics, Third Edition by
Volume IV covers optical properties of materials, nonlinear optics, and quantum and molecular optics.
Electronic resource: Handbook of Optics, volume V: Atmospheric Optics, Modulators, Fiber Optics, X-Ray and Neutron Optics, Third Edition by
Volume V covers atmospheric optics, modulators, fiber optics, and x-ray and neutron optics.
Encyclopedia of Modern Optics by
The Encyclopedia of Modern Optics, Second Edition, provides a wide-ranging overview of the field, comprising authoritative reference articles for undergraduate and postgraduate students and those researching outside their area of expertise. Topics covered include classical and quantum optics, lasers, optical fibers and optical fiber systems, optical materials and light-emitting diodes (LEDs). Articles cover all subfields of optical physics and engineering, such as electro-optical design of modulators and detectors. This update contains contributions from international experts who discuss topics such as nano-photonics and plasmonics, optical interconnects, photonic crystals and 2D materials, such as graphene or holy fibers. Other topics of note include solar energy, high efficiency LED's and their use in illumination, orbital angular momentum, quantum optics and information, metamaterials and transformation optics, high power fiber and UV fiber lasers, random lasers and bio-imaging. Addresses recent developments in the field and integrates concepts from fundamental physics with applications for manufacturing and engineering/design Provides a broad and interdisciplinary coverage of specialist areas Ensures that the material is appropriate for new researchers and those working in a new sub-field, as well as those in industry Thematically arranged and alphabetically indexed, with cross-references added to facilitate ease-of-use
