Skip to main content

OPT248/448 - Vision and the Eye - Prof. Sarah Walters (also BCS223, TEO448)

Online education resources in response to the COVID-19 pandemic

Research Support

I am available to provide research support to you and your students remotely via Zoom at this link: https://rochester.zoom.us/my/jharvey1. Please email me first to setup an appointment at jharvey@library.rochester.edu.

 

E-books

All of our e-books can also be discovered through the search box on the library’s homepage (https://library.rochester.edu). Simply search for a topic or title and then click the “Click to access resource” option on the left-side of your search results...or, here is a blank search you can use to quickly find titles amongst the 1 million+ e-books in our catalog: http://bit.ly/ebook-search-ur. Your results can be filtered using the facets listed at the left by date, subject terms, discipline, etc. 

 

Local Libraries

WorldCat (https://www.worldcat.org/) is the worldwide catalog of library resources that you can request and have sent via interlibrary loan to Rush Rhees Library for the rest of the spring semester. For some assignments, local public libraries may have print copies of research resources that students need (assuming local libraries stay open). Students can use WorldCat to quickly identify whether a local library has a specific title in its collection. If a student needs help figuring out if something is available to them locally, please ask them to contact me...I am happy to help track down the resource, if possible.

 

Free resources during the COVID-19 pandemic to support online education

Some academic publishers are providing resources to support online STEM education during the COVID-19 pandemic:

  • JoVE (The Journal of Visualized Education): JoVE publishes peer-reviewed scientific video protocols to accelerate biological, medical, chemical and physical research. As many colleges and universities are making the difficult decision to move to remote teaching and learning models, JoVE is happy to provide all of our Education video content free to use in STEM teaching efforts through June 15th.

 

Not sure where to get started?

Most important tip: I'm always available to help you locate the information you need! You can chat, email, or call me using the tools in the left sidebar.

The River Campus Libraries' Articles, Books & More Search is an ideal place to start if you're not sure where to begin your searching. (Also, if you have the title of a specific article, you can usually type that in to get a link directly to the article if we have electronic access). This search can be found at the top of the main UR library home page (https://library.rochester.edu). 

(For more tips on Articles, Books & More, see our guide.)

You can signup for your online UR library account, and check your account, at this link. For Interlibrary loan services (ILL), please signup for an account and check your ILL account at this link. These links can also be found on the UR library home page (https://library.rochester.edu) at "My Account" at the top right, and "Interlibrary Loan" under "Featured Resources".

The rest of this guide contains more specific resources for finding scholarly articles and citation management tools. 

If there's anything you don't see here that you've found helpful, let me know using my contact info in the left column! I'm always looking for ways to make this guide more helpful and comprehensive.

Finding scholarly articles


To search more broadly for scholarly literature and patents, these databases are particularly useful:

Finding print and electronic books

Besides the Articles, Books & More Search, the UR library catalog provides another view into the print and electronic resources available to you that are in our collections here in the libraries at River Campus. Search the library catalog by going to the main library webpage (https://library.rochester.edu) and in the main search box, mouse over the dropdown menu (default view where it says Articles, Books & More, with a down arrow to the right) and select Library Catalog. Try them both!

The most relevant call number ranges for optics print materials fall in QC350 - 467 (Science: Physics: Optics. Light) and TA1501-1820 (Technology: Engineering (General). Civil Engineering: Applied Optics. Photonics).

The Physics-Optics-Astronomy (POA) Library, located in Bausch and Lomb Hall 374, houses print books in optics that are shelved in the general stacks and on the course reserve shelves, the latter accessible through the Q&i desk. In addition, POA houses the History of Optics collection, which contains over three hundred items that are of historical value or seminal significance in the development of the optics field.

The Carlson Science and Engineering Library and Rush Rhees Library also house print books and other relevant materials on optics. Furthermore, Carlson and POA Libraries regularly produce exhibits and displays that focus on optics and related topics.

In addition, the Edward G. Miner Library at URMC has a separate online library catalog, resources and databases that are more relevant to health and medical research. The main Miner online catalog can be accessed at https://www.urmc.rochester.edu/libraries/miner.aspx.

Common Optics References

Citation Management Tools

To keep up with references and appropriately cite them in papers and bibliographies, consider one of these tools. Each will copy article, book and other citations from databases into a single location that you can manage. Style options include CSE, APA, MLA, Chicago and many others.