Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free and Extended Access to Materials During COVID-19
This guide includes links to sources that are will be helpful for online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic, including electronic resources at U of R, vendors offering special free access, and other free online learning sources.
Learn more about Library support during this period:
Vendors and Publishers Offering Extended Access
Manchester University Press
Manchester University Press is offering free access to its digital collection of over 1,600 ebooks and journals.
ProQuest Recent Newspapers: U.S. Northeast Collection
ProQuest is offering free access to its U.S. Northeast Recent Newspapers Collection, which includes the Democrat & Chronicle, through July 31, 2020.
Sage is offering access to the following June. Log in with your NetID or on the UR VPN to access.
ScienceDirect is offering free access to their textbooks until August 31st, 2020. Users accessing ScienceDirect through IP or remote access will be able to use these books while campuses are closed.
SIAM has made its Epidemiology Collection freely available.
SIAM Mathematics of Data Science
SIAM has made its new journal, Mathematics of Data Science, freely available.
University of Michigan
University of Michigan is offering free-to-read access to scholarly e-books in the Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) until August 31, 2020.
WorldData.ai is a website containing freely available datasets in a variety of subject areas including health, agriculture, politics, finance, and many more.
World Scientific is offering free access to all World Scientific journal content published since 2001. This takes effect now, until July 31, 2020. 1 Log in with your NetID or on the UR VPN to access.
Off Campus Access
All electronic library resources, including e-journals, databases, and course reserves, are available to current students, faculty, and staff from off-campus using either your My Account/NetID or VPN access. When you click on the link of a restricted library resource from the libraries' website, you will be prompted to login.
Info about your NetID and password.
Used to login to your Library account (My Account). For most people, it is the same as the NetID.
Remote Access (VPN)
Virtual Private Networking (VPN) establishes a connection so that you appear to be part of the University network. This eliminates repetitive logins. DUO two-factor authentication is necessary to set up your VPN.
DUO two-factor authentication
The University uses Duo to better protect University data. Duo authentication occurs after you log in with your user name and password using a mobile phone, tablet, or landline to verify your identity.
List of librarians by subject
Contact your Outreach Librarians for finding any specific material, suggestions for alternate titles, or assistance with assignment design to facilitate interaction.