Patents

Google Patents This link opens in a new window
Patents and patent applications from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Has a thumbnail viewer for drawings.
Sporadically updated. More about Google Patent Search .
USPTO Patent Database This link opens in a new window
Full text and images of U.S. patents.
To view the full text patents, a plug-in is required. Go to the USPTO help page for more information. Full text for patents from 1976 - current. Pre-1976 patents are searchable only by patent number and current classification code.
Espacenet This link opens in a new window
Identifies patents from many countries, some with page images.
FreePatentsOnline This link opens in a new window
Full text and images of U.S. patents from 1974+, U.S. patent applications from 2001+, and European patents 2000+.
View patent images as pdf or other formats.
The Lens This link opens in a new window
The Lens serves integrated scholarly and patent knowledge as a public good to inform science and technology enabled problem solving. Discover, analyze, and map global innovation knowledge using our institutional subscription.
InnovationQ Plus This link opens in a new window
InnovationQ is a patent search tool that rapidly sifts through big data to quickly and efficiently pinpoint relevant patents, applications, and non-patent literature from IEEE. There are visualizations, advanced features, and the ability to locate "similar" patents to the target one..
Only one searcher permitted at a time. Must request permission and sign-on information from Kathy Wu, Business Librarian kathyw@library.rochester.edu.

Also See SciFinder and Reaxys.

DiscoverUR Catalog Search

Use the Catalog Search in DiscoverUR to search specifically for books or journal titles or other materials available at the University of Rochester Library. Use the full Articles, Books & More for searching for article authors and titles.

Need More?

WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
Identifies and locates books and other materials owned by libraries in the Rochester region and nationally.
tags: firstsearch, first search, world cat, worldcat

Interlibrary Loan
Not finding the article or book you need in the library? Use this free service to obtain library resources. A pdf of an article is usually delivered in 24 - 48 hours.
Recommend a purchase
If you think the library should purchase a copy of a book, report, or other types of materials, please fill out this form to let us know. UR login required.

Off Campus Access

All electronic library resources, including e-journals, databases, and course reserves, are available to current students, faculty, and staff from off-campus using either your My Account/NetID or VPN access. When you click on the link of a restricted library resource from the libraries' website, you will be prompted to login.

NetID
Info about your NetID and password.
Active Directory
Used to login to your Library account (My Account). For most people, it is the same as the NetID.
Remote Access (VPN)
Virtual Private Networking (VPN) establishes a connection so that you appear to be part of the University network. This eliminates repetitive logins. DUO two-factor authentication is necessary to set up your VPN.
DUO two-factor authentication
The University uses Duo to better protect University data. Duo authentication occurs after you log in with your user name and password using a mobile phone, tablet, or landline to verify your identity.

TEM 441 - Product Development and Technology Management

Engineering Librarian

Contact Your Business Librarian

Contact a Librarian

Patents

DiscoverUR Catalog Search

Need More?

Off Campus Access