LibGuides: WRTG 105/WRTG 105B Man, Machine, and Morality/Reasoning &amp; Writing (Otis): Research Guide

Picking your topic IS research!

Researching your topic: Step 1 - Encyclopedia and bibliographies

Getting started on your topic? Begin by checking out these encyclopedia and bibliography databases. They'll provide you with a basic background for your topic, and a list of important papers published on your topic. This is a great time-saver.

When you have a list of books or articles to search for, you can search from our Articles & Books tab on our homepage: http://www.library.rochester.edu.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedia of philosophical topics, including bibliographies.
Oxford Bibliographies Online--Philosophy Segment This link opens in a new window
Combines the information of an encyclopedia and a bibliography, with introductory essays and a guide to sources.

Researching your topic: Step 2 - Finding Articles and Books on your topic

DiscoverUR - Library Search
Start here to search the library's resources!
PhilPapers
An index and bibliography of papers in philosophy.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
ProQuest Research This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles on all topics, many with links to full text. Includes articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, news, trade journals and more.
Identifies articles on all topics, many with links to full text. Includes articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, news, trade journals and more
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.
Wilson OmniFile This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles on many subjects with some full text.
Includes full text from these databases, when available: General Science Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, Index to Legal periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Index, Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, and Wilson Business Abstracts.

If you have an article that you like and would like to see who else has cited it since it was published, try Google Scholar - just find your article and then click the "Cited By" link.

Social Science Librarian

Eileen Daly-Boas

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Prefer Zoom? If I'm on chat, I'm happy to switch to Zoom.
Pronouns: she/her/hers

(585) 236-4145

Subjects: Citing & Writing, Education, Philosophy, Religion & Theology

Interlibrary Loan

If UR doesn't have the article or book you need, Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that will deliver a copy to you. PDFs of articles usually arrive in two days or less! Just go to the ILL page: https://illiad.lib.rochester.edu/

Still can't find what you're looking for? Please contact me!