It can be difficult to find indigenous sources. Your strategy should include finding spaces where their perspective is valued. This activity will help you get started.
Choose one of the following sites and answer the questions below.
Worksheet for the above activity. Click on "File," then either "Make a copy" (if you're logged into Google Drive) or "Download" to use this Google Doc. You do not need to request edit access.
American Indian Newspapers aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. Representing a huge variety in style, production and audience, the newspapers include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. The 45 unique titles also include bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages.
Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. International in scope and thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.
The featured resources are global in scope, including documentary and indigenous media, produced by anthropologist and ethnographers.
Provides a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. This digital archive highlights the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.
The Indigenous Peoples of the Americas Collection contains more than 3,700 titles relating to indigenous American law including 30,000+ pages of tribal codes, 400+ indigenous treaties, federal case law, jurisprudence, scholarly articles, books, pamphlets, and more. The database also includes the Indian Law Reporter, an essential source for indigenous American case law.
