You are ready to begin researching a topic when you can answer the following questions:
Like encyclopedias and dictionaries, handbooks are useful for getting a feel for a topic and gathering background information that can inform your research or suggest potential subtopics or keywords. These handbooks offer overviews of various aspects of mindfulness.
Handbook of Mindfulness: Culture, Context, and Social Engagement by
This handbook explores mindfulness philosophy and practice as it functions in today's socioeconomic, cultural, and political landscape. Chapters discuss the many ways in which classic concepts and practices of mindfulness clash, converge, and influence modern theories and methods, and vice versa. Experts across many disciplines address the secularization and commercialization of Buddhist concepts, the medicalizing of mindfulness in therapies, and progressive uses of mindfulness in education. The book addresses the rise of the, "mindfulness movement", and the core concerns behind the critiques of the growing popularity of mindfulness. It covers a range of dichotomies, such as traditional versus modern, religious versus secular, and commodification versus critical thought and probes beyond the East/West binary to larger questions of economics, philosophy, ethics, and, ultimately, meaning. Featured topics include: A compilation of Buddhist meditative practices. Selling mindfulness and the marketing of mindful products. A meta-critique of mindfulness critiques - from McMindfulness to critical mindfulness Mindfulness-based interventions in clinical psychology and neuroscience. Corporate mindfulness and usage in the workplace. Community-engaged mindfulness and its role in social justice. The Handbook of Mindfulness is a must-have resource for clinical psychologists, complementary and alternative medicine professionals/practitioners, neuroscientists, and educational and business/management leaders and policymakers as well as related mental health, medical, and educational professionals/practitioners.
Handbook of Mindfulness: Theory, Research, and Practice by
An authoritative handbook, this volume offers both a comprehensive review of the current science of mindfulness and a guide to its ongoing evolution. Leading scholars explore mindfulness in the context of contemporary psychological theories of attention, perceptual processing, motivation, and behavior, as well as within a rich cross-disciplinary dialogue with the contemplative traditions. After surveying basic research from neurobiological, cognitive, emotional/affective, and interpersonal perspectives, the book delves into applications of mindfulness practice in healthy and clinical populations, reviewing a growing evidence base. Examined are interventions for behavioral and emotion dysregulation disorders, depression, anxiety, and addictions, and for physical health conditions.
![]](http://syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=1118294874/LC.GIF&client=springshare)
The Wiley Blackwell Handbook of Mindfulness by
The Wiley Blackwell Handbook of Mindfulness brings together the latest multi-disciplinary research on mindfulness from a group of international scholars: Examines the origins and key theories of the two dominant Western approaches to mindfulness. Compares, contrasts, and integrates insights from the social psychological and Eastern-derived perspectives. Discusses the implications for mindfulness across a range of fields, including consciousness and cognition, education, creativity, leadership and organizational behavior, law, medical practice and therapy, well-being, and sports.
DiscoverUR searches many of the library's resources at once. This is a powerful, fast research tool!
For a basic search, enter your keywords in the search box. If necessary, use the filters on the left side of the search results page to narrow down your results.
Tip: When off-campus, you may be asked to log in with your NetID & password to access resources.
You can also find articles using a library database.
A library database is an organized collection of articles that lets you search search for a particular topic, article, or book in a variety of ways (e.g., keyword, subject, author, title).
Materials and information available in a library database may never appear in a Google Scholar search, or in a Google search. If Google isn't giving you what you need, try one of the databases below:
There are many resources for help with writing on campus.
For some easy-to-use guides to citing in MLA, APA, and other popular citation styles, go to our Writing and Citing guide.
The Writing, Speaking and Argument Center can help you at any stage of writing.
