DiscoverUR searches many of the library's resources at once. This is a powerful, fast research tool!
For a basic search, enter your keywords in the search box. If necessary, use the filters on the left side of the search results page to narrow down your results.
Tip: When off-campus, you may be asked to log in with your NetID & password to access resources.
Interlibrary loan (also known as ILL) is a free service that allows you to access materials that we don't have in our collections. Articles and book chapters are usually provided via downloadable PDF, often within 1-2 days or less. Books must be sent to us, and this often takes between a couple of days and a week. You will be notified via email when the materials are available for download or pickup. Submitting a request is easy! If you need help, let your course librarian know! See this link for more info:
Encyclopedias and handbooks provide extensive background information on a topic. These can be particularly useful when you're deciding on a topic or just getting started with your research. These kinds of books are also great sources of potential keywords to consider using in your search for more information. They can help you get a feel for the language and specialized terminology used to discuss the aspects of climate change that you're interested in.
Encyclopedia of the Anthropocene by
Encyclopedia of the Anthropocene presents a currency-based, global synthesis cataloguing the impact of humanity's global ecological footprint. Covering a multitude of aspects related to climate change, biodiversity, contaminants, geology, energy and ethics, leading scientists provide foundational essays that enable researchers to define and scrutinize information, ideas, relationships, meanings and ideas within the Anthropocene concept. Questions widely debated among scientists, humanists, conservationists, politicians and others are included, providing discussion on when the Anthropocene began, what to call it, whether it should be considered an official geological epoch, whether it can be contained in time, and how it will affect future generations. Although the idea that humanity has driven the planet into a new geological epoch has been around since the dawn of the 20th century, the term 'Anthropocene' was only first used by ecologist Eugene Stoermer in the 1980s, and hence popularized in its current meaning by atmospheric chemist Paul Crutzen in 2000. Presents comprehensive and systematic coverage of topics related to the Anthropocene, with a focus on the geosciences and environmental science. Includes point-counterpoint articles debating key aspects of the Anthropocene, giving users an even-handed navigation of this complex area. Provides historic, seminal papers and essays from leading scientists and philosophers who demonstrate changes in the Anthropocene concept over time.
The Oxford Handbook of Climate Change and Society by
Climate change presents perhaps the most profound challenge ever confronted by human society. The Oxford Handbook of Climate Change and Society is a definitive analysis drawing on the best thinking on questions of how climate change affects human systems, and how societies can, do, and should respond. Key topics covered include the history of the issues, social and political reception of climate science, the denial of that science by individuals and organized interests, the nature of the social disruptions caused by climate change, the economics of those disruptions and possible responses to them, questions of human security and social justice, obligations to future generations, policy instruments for reducing greenhouse gas emissions, and governance at local, regional, national, international, and global levels.
Routledge Handbook of Climate Change and Society by
As the time-scales of natural change accelerate and converge with those of society, Routledge Handbook of Climate Change and Society takes the reader into largely uncharted territory in its exploration of anthropogenic climate change. Current material is used to highlight the global impact of this issue, and the necessity for multidisciplinary and global social science research and teaching to address the problem. The book is multidisciplinary and worldwide in scope, with contributors spanning specialisms including agro-forestry, economics, environmentalism, ethics, human geography, international relations, law, politics, psychology, sociology and theology. Their global knowledge is reflected in the content of the text, which encompasses chapters on American, European and Chinese policies, case studies of responses to disasters and of the new technological and lifestyle alternatives that are being adopted, and the negotiations leading up to the Copenhagen conference alongside a preface assessing its outcomes. Starting with an initial analysis by a leading climatologist, key issues discussed in the text include recent findings of natural scientists, social causation and vulnerability, media and public recognition or scepticism, and the merits and difficulties of actions seeking to mitigate and adapt. This accessible volume utilizes a wealth of case studies, explains technical terms and minimises the use of acronyms associated with the subject, making it an essential text for advanced undergraduates, postgraduate students and researchers in the social sciences.
Routledge Handbook of the Climate Change Movement by
This handbook provides a comprehensive overview of the growing transnational climate movement. A dual focus on climate politics and civil society provides a hitherto unavailable broad and systematic analysis of the current global movement, highlighting how its dynamic and diverse character can play an important role in environmental politics and climate protection. The range of contributors, from well-known academics to activist-scholars, look at climate movements in the developed and developing world, north and south, small and large, central and marginal. The movement is examined as a whole and as single actors, thereby capturing its scope, structure, development, activities and influence. The book thoroughly addresses theoretical approaches, from classic social movement theory to the influence of environmental justice frames, and follows this with a systematic focus on regions, specific NGOs and activists, cases and strategies, as well as relations with peripheral groups. In its breadth, balance and depth, this accessible volume offers a fresh and important take on the question of social mobilization around climate change, making it an essential text for advanced undergraduates, postgraduate students and researchers in the social sciences.