LibGuides: * Arabic Language and Culture: Researching Arabic and Islamic Topics

What is a Scholarly Source?

Scholarly sources are written by experts as a way to communicate their research findings and ideas to other scholars and researchers in the field. Typically published in books and journals, scholarly sources (also called academic, peer-reviewed, or refereed sources) contain new and original research, while also building on the research of others. These sources typically undergo a rigorous publication process that includes a peer-review system in which other content experts provide feedback on an article's content and methodology before the article is accepted for publication.

Using scholarly articles can help you:

Build context around your topic and find evidence to support your arguments or ideas
Interpret and analyze primary sources or historical events effectively
Understand the scholarly conversation that already exists on a topic
Identify other sources or authors that might be relevant to your research
Develop your skills at assessing research material in the field

It is important to recognize that there is a long history of systemic biases within the scholarly publishing process. Students and scholars should strive to bring diverse voices, viewpoints, and thought into their research, which may require looking beyond "traditional" academic resources – be creative! Less "traditional" source-types can work in conjunction with "traditional" academic literature to add a much deeper level of understanding for your topic and ideas. For suggestions on where to find diverse voices for your topic, reach out to your librarian.

For an example of the peer-review process, check out the Journal of American History (March 1997) – it includes Referees' Reports for Joel Williamson's article, "Wounds Not Scars: Lynching, the National Conscience, and the American Historian."

Tips for Researching in a Foreign Language

For sources about Arabic Language and Culture, written in English

STEP 1: Go to library.rochester.edu, and click "advanced search"

STEP 2: Type in your keywords, and select the language as "English"

For sources about Arabic Language and Culture, written in Arabic

STEP 1: Go to library.rochester.edu and click "advanced search"

STEP 2: Type in your keywords and select the language as "Arabic"

ALSO

you can try entering your search terms in Arabic

Databases with Scholarly Sources

The University of Rochester provides access to a wide array of databases including many with sources relevant to Arabic language and culture. The databases listed below represent some of the most commonly used tools for research in this area and serve as a good starting point for almost any topic or research question. If you need help searching in any of these databases, remember you can always reach out to a librarian!

Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
This database includes scholarly sources on the history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures of North Africa and the Middle East. This is an abstract database, so if you don't see the full-text for an article, click the red "FindText@UR" button to see if UR provides full-text access through another database or InterLibrary Loan (we often do!).
Oxford Bibliographies Online--Islamic Studies This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary bibliography that includes the range of foundational documents, traditions, institutions, and history of Muslims in various countries and regions throughout the world from the origins of Islam to the present day. Includes history, religion, philosophy, anthropology, Arabic language and literature, and literature in other languages including Persian, Turkish, and Urdu.
Oxford Bibliographies Online--African Studies This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary bibliography for African Studies that combines broad introductions to subjects such as African society, politics, and literature, with specific studies of individual states, peoples, literary traditions, and more.

AMIR (Access to Mid-East and Islamic Resources
This page lists many Open Access resources that pertain to Middle-Eastern, African, and Islamic Studies

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
ATLA Religion This link opens in a new window
Articles on all aspects of religion. Some full-text.

* Arabic Language and Culture

What is a Scholarly Source?

Tips for Researching in a Foreign Language

Databases with Scholarly Sources

Arabic and Islamic Studies Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases