Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EESC 320 Sustainable Systems: More about Zotero

Syncing Your Account

If you're regularly using more than one computer in your research, Zotero's sync feature can keep your library up to date on all of them.  Zotero can store a copy of your library on the Zotero.org server and check it for updates whenever you open your library on a different computer.  All your computers must be running the same version of Zotero.

First, set up a (free, of course) Zotero.org user account. Then:

  • Open Zotero preferences (via the gear menu) and select the Sync tab. 
  • Enter your Zotero user name and password. 
  • Check the "sync automatically" box.
  • Check both boxes under File Syncing and choose Zotero storage for My Library. This will sync your PDF attachments as well as citations (more info).
  • Click the green circular arrow button at the top right corner of the Zotero window.
  • Zotero will upload your library to the server.

Repeat this configuration on each of your computers.  Any updates you make on one of your computers will be reflected on the others.  This even works to synchronize your library among Windows, Mac and Linux computers.

For more details and help troubleshooting sync problems, check the Zotero site.

Adding to a group

You can create groups for other Zotero users to share citations. Once you have an account, you can go to https://www.zotero.org/groups and create a new group, public or private.

 

Zotero's Groups feature allows you to share references with other Zotero users online. It's a great way to work on collaborative research projects.

First, set up Zotero - synchronize your library.

  • To create a shared library, click the Create Groups button near the top left of your Zotero window (small blue/green button with two “people” icons, second from the left).
  • To join an existing Zotero library, search for it at zotero.org/groups or be invited by the group’s owner.
  • You must log in to the zotero.org website to create or join a group.

 

 

You now have two sections in your Zotero collections pane: My Library and Group Libraries.

Personal and group libraries are entirely separate, and changes made to items in one library do not affect the other. You can drag items back and forth libraries to copy items.

Search for existing public groups or create a new group. Groups may be public (searchable, and anyone can join) or private (users can only join if invited).

Creating Quick Bibliographies

Select the references or collections you want to include. Hold the control key and click to select multiple items. Right-click one of the selected items and choose Create Bibliography.

Choose the bibliographic style you want, select Copy to Clipboard, click OK and paste into your word processor.

This method works with any word processor (or anywhere you can paste text).

For an annotated Bibliography:

It's easy to create an annotated bibliography from your Zotero library.

  • Add annotated citation style to your Zotero Style Library (currently there are two options: APA and Chicago) For more info: https://www.zotero.org/support/styles
  • Add annotation to the Extra Field (near the bottom)
  • Select items for your bibliography by clicking on them
  • Right click on one of the selected/highlighted items and choose 'Create Bibliography from Items.'

Attribution

Creative Commons License The content of this guide was created by Jason Puckett and licensed by Georgia State University Library under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.

Adding articles to a Zotero Group