LibGuides: BME 245 Biomaterials: Library Resources

DiscoverUR

DiscoverUR
Use DiscoverUR to explore all library resources.

DiscoverUR Search Tips
Click here to learn more about the searching capabilities within DiscoverUR to make your research easier and more efficient.

Encyclopedias & Handbooks

For basic information and general definitions search some of our online encyclopedias:

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students.
VPN Required for off-campus access.

Foundations of Biomaterials Engineering by Maria-Cristina Tanzi; Silvia Farè; Gabriele Candiani
ISBN: 9780081010341
Publication Date: 2019-03-19
Provides readers with an introduction to biomaterials engineering.
Fundamental Biomaterials: Metals by Sabu Thomas (Editor); Preetha Balakrishnan (Editor); M. S. Sreekala (Editor)
ISBN: 9780081022054
Publication Date: 2018-07-25
Provides current information on the development of metals and their conversion from base materials to medical devices.
Concise Encyclopedia of Biomedical Polymers and Polymeric Biomaterials by Munmaya Mishra (Editor)
ISBN: 9781315116440
Publication Date: 2017-08-16
Presents new and selected content from the 11-volume Biomedical Polymers and Polymeric Biomaterials Encyclopedia. Acknowledging the evolving nature of the field, the encyclopedia also features newly added content in areas such as tissue engineering, tissue repair and reconstruction, and biomimetic materials.
Ullmann's Polymers and Plastics, 4 Volume Set by Wiley-VCH
ISBN: 9783527338238
Publication Date: 2016-04-25
Contains a wealth of information on the production and use of all industrially relevant polymers and plastics, including organic and inorganic polymers, fibers, foams and resins in 4 volumes.
Polymer Science: a Comprehensive Reference by Martin Moeller (Editor-In-Chief); Krzysztof Matyjaszewski (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780080878621
Publication Date: 2012-12-05
Reports progress in polymer science in 10 volumes: Volume 1: Basic Concepts and Polymer Properties; Volume 2: Polymer Characterization; Volume 3: Chain Polymerization of Vinyl Monomers; Volume 4: Ring-Opening Polymerization and Special Polymerization Processes; Volume 5: Polycondensation; Volume 6: Macromolecular Architectures and Soft Nano-Objects; Volume 7: Nanostructured Polymer Materials and Thin Films; Volume 8: Polymers for Advanced Functional Materials; Volume 9: Polymers in Biology and Medicine; Volume 10: Polymers for a Sustainable Environment and Green Energy.

Journals

BrowZine App
Browse current Journals that University of Rochester subscribes to using a mobile app.

Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology, many with links to full text.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes access to molecular and bioinformatic databases from the NCBI system (previous Entrez). Automatically expands (explodes) subject headings. Truncation turns off this automatic expansion of the hierarchical subject headings.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Indexes the biomedical literature on drug, medical device and disease-related research. Covers all MEDLINE journals plus 3,000 unique titles, and conference abstracts back to 1947.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and other literature on engineering, with some links to full text. Includes the Engineering Village backfile with access back to 1884.
Users should update their passwords.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
Dimensions is a next-generation linked research information system that makes it easier to find and access the most relevant information, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy.
Patrons can register using UR credentials.
To request access to Dimensions Google BigQuery, please contact Dale Hess dale.hess@rochester.edu.
CAS SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Includes PatentPak, MethodsNow and Retrosynthesis Plan. CAS Formulus, and CAS Analytical Methods have recently been added and can be found under the three dot menu on the upper left. A separate registration is required before the first use. See About SciFinder for more detail. To use off campus, use VPN..

Medical Devices

FDA links

US Food & Drug Administration

FDA Medical Devices
FDA Drugs
FDA Vaccines, Blood and Biologicals
FDA - Medical Device Databases
List of FDA databases with different types of regulatory medical device information.
Access GUDID - Global Unique Device Identification Database
The Global Unique Device Identification Database (GUDID) contains key device identification information submitted to the FDA about medical devices that have Unique Device Identifiers (UDI).

Medical Devices and Human Engineering by Joseph D. Bronzino (Editor); Donald R. Peterson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781351228671
Publication Date: 2018-10-08
Medical Devices and Human Engineering, the second volume of the Biomedical Engineering Handbook, Fourth Edition, presents material from respected scientists with diverse backgrounds in biomedical sensors, medical instrumentation and devices, human performance engineering, rehabilitation engineering, and clinical engineering.

BME 245 Biomaterials

BME Librarian

Chemistry & Materials Science Librarian

Interlibrary Loan

Off-campus Access

DiscoverUR

Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Journals

Databases

Medical Devices