Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

* Biomedical Engineering

Articles & Books

Encyclopedias & Handbooks

For basic information and general definitions search some of our online encyclopedias: 

Databases

For more specific information search our Databases. Databases are lists of online records organized according to particular criteria.

Database Structure

Biomedical Databases

Engineering Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Other Subject Specific Databases

Pre-Print Archives

Standards

Full Text Online
Print
Tips for Finding Print Standards in Carlson Library.
  1. Search Articles, Books & More. (Library Homepage)
  2. Go to Advanced Search
  3. Enter title of the standard in title field. ex. "American National Standard for safe use of lasers" 
  4. Select Exact Match. Then, search.
  5. Too many results? Try one of these revisions (not all at once)
    1. Add Author = spelled out version of the standard provider name ex. American National Standards Institute
    2. Add publication year range ex. 1992-1994
    3. Limit subject terms to those with "standards" in them
  6. Too Few Results?
    1. Remove title and search a prominent keyword in "all fields" in combination with author spelled out  ex. keyword= piping AND Author =American Society of Mechanical Engineers

 

To identify standard titles and numbers for searching and ordering, try:
  • Stores that represent many standards providers (aggregators):
  • Stores for Individual Standard Providers:

Patents

The USPTO provides a good explanation of the Patent Application process.

Check the following resources for basic information on Patents and Patent Searching:

 

Explore the following Databases for Patents:

Medical Devices

US Food & Drug Adminisration

Other links on Medical Devices

You might want to search directly in the e-book collections below for other titles:

Journals

Newspapers & Professional Magazines