It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MKT 213: Marketing Projects: Home
About this page
We’ve done our best to select the most pertinent materials for these Course Resources pages, but if these are not helping with yourtopic/project, we encourage you to use the Schedule an Appointment link in the Profile box on this page.
Marketresearch.com is the platform that provides access to two leading collections of market research reports: Kalorama and Freedonia Focus. Freedonia Focus Reports provide analysis on a wide variety of markets and industries on 15 industry categories and two major geographic collections. Topics run the gamut from raw materials to finished manufactured products and various consumer goods and services. Kalorama provides worldwide business intelligence and syndicated market research in the life sciences industry (topics include pharmaceutical, biotechnology, medical devices and diagnostics.
Financial, statistical and market information on active and inactive global companies throughout the world. Special instructions: requires an account for use. Contact Kathy Wu (email@example.com) for further questions.
To sign up CompuStat Introduction training workshop, click here
To Sign up CompuStat Advanced User Workshop, Click this link
Access to the complete collection of market research handbooks from RKMA; data goes to very granular levels.
Collection includes market research handbooks covering US and international consumer markets; entertainment & media; healthcare business; restaurants, food & beverage; retail business; sports marketing; travel & tourism; and casinos, gaming & wagering.
This database provides access to Industry (reports by country), Company, and Country reports, plus Company News, Financial Deals, and Case Studies, Market size, segmentation, competition, and forecasts. MarketLine Explorer capitalizes on actionable intelligence spanning 22 global industries. Combining macroeconomic data and information on thousands of companies, Explorer offers detailed coverage of the global trends that are shaping industries, impacting companies, and driving innovation. At the login screen, click on IP Access.
Additional modules within MarketLine: Financial Deals Tracker: Track market activity with MarketLine's database of global mergers and acquisitions (M&A), private equity deals, venture finance deals, private placements, IPOs, and partnerships. Company Prospector: Screen companies and build lists of potential business partners, clients, and investment targets in industries and countries of interest. Investment & Advisory Prospector: Identify advisory & investment firms operating in specific industries, and gain insight into the investment and inorganic strategy of companies. Company Report Generator: Generate fresh custom company reports featuring analytical text and charts which draw on MarketLine's company datasets. Example sections include company overview, history, SWOT analysis, M&A, partnerships and agreements, news and product information.
The following databases are our best resources for hi-tech or medical/pharma market research:
Contains financial ratios for industries and services, arranged by NAICS and SIC industry codes.
To find key ratios for the industry of your company: look up the company. 1) Click "Industry Classification" in the left hand panel. 2) click the most appropriate line of business in the tree structure. 3) Click "Key Stats & Ratios" in the left hand panel.
Pinpoint sought after very niche company, industry and market data (eg market size, value etc.) included in thousands of market research reports published by hundreds of leading market research providers. SPECIAL NOTE: This database requires a special login and password. To freely conduct searches of Profound to discover if what you need is in a report, use this sign in information:
But you must obtain prior authorization to actually download/view the data for this particular database. Contact Business and Economics Librarian Kathy Wu at firstname.lastname@example.org to request authorization. You will need to identify specific tables, sections or pages, as opposed to entire reports--contact me to discuss this further
If you can't find a report specifically on your product/project/industry, you may have to search the article databases for articles about your product/project/industry, that include a statistic here and there. Yeah, I know, it's a lot more work! Here are your 4 best bets for business articles, in the order in which I would try them:
Full text articles published in the New York Times via the ProQuest platform.
Includes international, national and New York regional news, in addition to business, science, medicine, arts, sports and lifestyle news. Some issues for 1953, 1962-1963, 1965, 1978 were never published due to pressman's strikes. No Sunday issue was published until April 21, 1861.
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.
Hot Tip!To narrow your search just to articles mentioning numbers, etc. from Euromonitor reports (a source we don't subscribe to) - try searching for your product (say, coffee) in the Subject field, and the name Euromonitor in the *full text* (you'll have to change the field dropdowns for both terms). Works like a charm.
WARC provides insight, intelligence, evidence, expertise, case studies, benchmarks and guidance for marketers. It focuses on providing a wide range of data on global advertising and marketing trends, such as expenditure data, industry trends and consumer insights. Advertising expenditure includes data both by medium and format from 1982 onwards.
Ad$pender monitors advertising expenditures and occurrence information for 3+ million brands across 18 types of media, from 2010 to the present. The tool allows you to break down information by category, parent, company, subsidiary and brand.
For quick numbers, especially on "hot" or "trendy" topics, try Statista:
US and international statistics. Includes full text statistical tables and abstracts of additional statistical sources.
Covers material in American Statistics Index (ASI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and Statistical Reference Index (SRI). Googling for material not in full text in the database works quite well.
Comprehensive company/residential directory; build lists using 30 variables or Map Based Search. Includes consumer demographics and historical business data.
Reference USA is a series of databases from Infogroup, the largest business and residential data compiler in the US. Data is updated on a monthly basis and telephone verified for accuracy, and geocoded. Users can build lists of companies using more than 30 selections such as geography, industry, and employee size. Users can pinpoint their geographical parameters using ReferenceUSA’s Map Based Search feature which allows radii and polygons to be formed, allowing for the study of very specific areas. Data breakdowns can also be viewed in exportable graphs, charts and heat maps. Plus, the U.S. Historical Businesses database provides 10 years of historical data. Reference USA also maintains a database for US Consumers to allow the study of consumer demographics compiled at the individual level. The new US Jobs database is updated hourly with content on current job and internship postings.
Generates an instant list of books and videos owned by the UR Libraries (They are all available online - no trip to the library necessary!).
The Business Expert Press collection of ebooks has LOTS of books on all aspects of "Marketing" and writing marketing plans. Here are two examples, and then a link that will bring up the whole list (and get you into the Business Expert Press database, so you can do more searching on your own). All practical and real-world, and all fully downloadable to your own device!
Excellent for authoritative background information on any aspect of marketing. Volume 1: Marketing Strategy Volume 2: Marketing Research Volume 3: Consumer Behavior Volume 4: Advertising and Integrated Communication Volume 5: Product Innovation and Management Volume 6: International Marketing
Finally... let's include - of all things! ;) - the idea of the library catalog (read: books... but lots of ebooks, too). The search box below allows you to search the contents of all the UR libraries (by Title Keyword, or just Keyword, or Author, Title, etc. if you know what you're looking for).
The resources in this guide are a tiny sampling of what is available through library subscriptions. My Business Resources Guide arranges the whole gamut of business resources available to you into lists by type of information (articles, market research, companies, etc.) and by topic (Finance, Entrepreneurship, etc.) . Try these or simply get in touch and let me know what you need.