LibGuides: * Film & Media Studies: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Core databases

Film Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Film Index International This link opens in a new window
Identifies reviews and provides production information about films.
FIAF International Film Archive This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles on film and television.
Complete Index to World Film since 1895 This link opens in a new window
Production information on films from 1895 to mid-1998 from over 170 countries.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on all aspects of speech, rhetoric, debate, broadcasting, and media studies.
Many major journals have indexing, abstracts and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive, 1880-2000 This link opens in a new window
Full text of complete runs of major trade and consumer magazines. Primary source material reflects the development of the entertainment industry as it evolved over the 20th century. Archive 1: Music, Radio and The Stage contains 17 titles such as Billboard (1894-2000), New Music Express (NME) (1946-2000) and The Stage (1880-2000. Archive 2: Film and Television includes 10 titles such as Variety (1905-2000), Boxoffice
(1920-2000) and Broadcast (1960-2000).

Additional databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
ProQuest Research This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles on all topics, many with links to full text. Includes articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, news, trade journals and more.
Identifies articles on all topics, many with links to full text. Includes articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, news, trade journals and more
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles on art, architecture, dance, folklore, myth, film, journalism, music and religion. Many with links to full text.