LibGuides: WRTG 105B Reasoning and Writing In the College (Schaefer): Finding Articles, Data & News

Finding Articles on your topic

All Topics

Google Scholar
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.

If you're looking for articles in popular magazines or newspapers, use the databases below.

ProQuest Research
Identifies articles on all topics, many with links to full text. Includes articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, news, trade journals and more.
Identifies articles on all topics, many with links to full text. Includes articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, news, trade journals and more
JSTOR
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Wilson OmniFile
Identifies articles on many subjects with some full text.
Includes full text from these databases, when available: General Science Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, Index to Legal periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Index, Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, and Wilson Business Abstracts.

Science & Medicine

APA PsycINFO via ProQuest
Identifies articles, books and dissertations in psychology and related subjects, many with links to full text, 1806 to current.
Web of Science
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.
PubMed
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology, many with links to full text.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes access to molecular and bioinformatic databases from the NCBI system (previous Entrez). Automatically expands (explodes) subject headings. Truncation turns off this automatic expansion of the hierarchical subject headings.

Looking for more databases?
Use the dropdown menus to pick a subject.

Citation Mining: Finding articles by citation

Once you have one (or more) useful article on a topic, use the references at the end of article to find more sources on your topic using our Citation Search tool. This helps you see what was written previous to your current article, often called citing backward.

Use Google Scholar to see who has cited your article after it was published. This helps you see what has been written after your article was published, citing forward.

LibKey Nomad Browser Plugin
This browser plugin will add a button to each article so that you can easily get to the University's subscribed articles.

Connected Papers
A visual tool to help researchers find research on a topic or other papers cited by or closely connected to what you've already found. Search by topic, title of a paper you've already found, by DOI or by paper urls from archives like PubMed, Semantic Scholar, or arXiv.

Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License by Justina Elmore, University of Rochester.

Statistical Data Resources

Statista
A data aggregation platform with statistics, facts, and market data in a wide range of topic areas.
Downloadable in JPG, XLS, and PPTP.
Social Explorer
Provides interactive tools to create maps, presentations, and analysis of U.S. and international data, including census, health, crime, religion, and business.
Statistical DataSets
Graphical, interactive access to hundreds of datasets covering the social sciences, healthcare, and more. US, some international. Also known as Data Planet Statistical DataSets.

Data & Statistics: Open Data Sets by Topic
Find additional data on any topic

Government Information

USA.gov
Official portal to U.S. government web pages. Keyword access to digitized government documents.
Intended audience: citizens, businesses, non-profits and governments. Keyword access to digitized government documents. Search by topic and activity. Links to state and local government, and other tools.
World Bank Open Data
free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.

For more Goverment Sources, see:

* Government Information
by Kathy Wu Last Updated Jul 13, 2023 37 views this year

World News

Gale Newsstand
Full-text of over 1,000 regional, national, and international newspapers, including several from New York State
ProQuest Research, Newspapers & Business
Identifies articles in journals, magazines and newspapers, many full text. Includes ABI/Inform, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, and Alt-PressWatch.

Google News - World

For more News Sources, see:

* News
by Justina Elmore Last Updated May 6, 2025 478 views this year

WRTG 105B Reasoning and Writing In the College (Schaefer)

Librarian

Contact a Librarian

Interlibrary Loan

APA Citations