New Instructor Guide: Classroom & Instructional Partners

In addition to support in developing and executing your data management plan, our Data Services partner can work with you through classroom workshops and one-on-one consultation.

Topics covered in Data Literacy sessions include:

• Finding & citing data for your research projects.
• Understanding data biases and data manipulation.
• Introduction to specific tools for data collection and analysis.

Rare Books, Special Collections, and Preservation (RBSCP) connects your classes with rare and unique historical materials and supports primary-source and archival research. Please note that due to the nature of the collections and preparation time, RBSCP cannot guarantee all requests submitted once the semester has started and requires a minimum of two weeks’ notice to prepare an instruction session.

Areas of instruction and collaboration include:

•    Primary source and archival literacy across our collections and archival collections in general
•    Basic and in-depth instruction with material from our collections
•    Long term collaboration on faculty research and collection acquisition, assignment creation, and student-driven exhibits
 

To learn more, contact Autumn Haag, RBSCP's Assistant Director of Outreach: ahaag@library.rochester.edu

Your liaison librarian is here to work with you and your students on information literacy and library research support. Partner with a librarian to develop or refine research assignments, have a custom library resource page for your class, and have one or more class sessions in the library for students to work through information literacy concepts and have structured time to make progress on their research.

Topics covered in Information Literacy Sessions can include:

• Developing research questions and search strategies.
• Evaluating and citing sources.
• The social and political dimensions of information use and misuses.

Liaisons will also frequently consult with students working on a research assignment. Please consider adding the following language (or similar, customized for your class and assignment) to your syllabi: Our librarian for this course is [Name], they can help you with your research for this class and others. You can make an appointment with our librarian on the library's website.

At the Barbara J. Burger iZone, we’re committed to helping individuals build their creative confidence and problem-solving skills.The learning initiatives in iZone are often facilitated by iZone student employees, supported by an iZone staff member. Each of our learning initiatives are designed to focus on: 

• Creative Problem-Solving Frameworks: Explore methodologies like design thinking and systems thinking to tackle challenges innovatively. 
• Practical Applications: Gain hands-on skills such as user research, prototyping, and strategic planning. 
• Soft Skills: Strengthen collaboration, communication, and critical thinking to succeed in any context.

For more information or to schedule a session for your class, please reach out to Samantha Monaghan, Curriculum Design Specialist for Barbara J. Burger iZone: smonaghan@library.rochester.edu 

Mary Ann Mavrinac Studio X is the hub for extended reality at the University of Rochester. Attend hands-on, skill-building workshops on XR content creation and development or request a customized consultation with our staff.

•    Studio X: UR's Extended Reality hub, enabling cross-disciplinary collaboration and hands-on learning in immersive technologies.
•    Studio X provides: class sessions, workshops, and research collaboration/consultation. 
•    Examples of offerings include: XR software/hardware training, XR course integrations, customized XR workshops, and research project support.