LibGuides: BME 101 Intro to Biomedical Engineering: Resources

DiscoverUR

DiscoverUR
Use DiscoverUR to explore all library resources.

DiscoverUR Search Tips
Click here to learn more about the searching capabilities within DiscoverUR to make your research easier and more efficient.

Databases

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Science encyclopedia articles, definitions, biographies, study guides and graphics.
includes McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science and Technology,9th ed.,McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, 6th edition,McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science and Technology and more. updated daily.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students.
VPN Required for off-campus access.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and other literature on engineering, with some links to full text. Includes the Engineering Village backfile with access back to 1884.
Users should update their passwords.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full text of IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions and conference proceedings as well as active IEEE standards. Also includes access to the IEEE eLearning Library.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text from articles and conference papers in computer science and related disciplines.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology, many with links to full text.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes access to molecular and bioinformatic databases from the NCBI system (previous Entrez). Automatically expands (explodes) subject headings. Truncation turns off this automatic expansion of the hierarchical subject headings.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Access to technical papers and monographs in optics, photonics and imaging from SPIE journals, books and conference proceedings.

Patents

Google Patents This link opens in a new window
Patents and patent applications from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Has a thumbnail viewer for drawings.
Sporadically updated. More about Google Patent Search .
USPTO Patent Database This link opens in a new window
Full text and images of U.S. patents.
To view the full text patents, a plug-in is required. Go to the USPTO help page for more information. Full text for patents from 1976 - current. Pre-1976 patents are searchable only by patent number and current classification code.
Espacenet This link opens in a new window
Identifies patents from many countries, some with page images.
FreePatentsOnline This link opens in a new window
Full text and images of U.S. patents from 1974+, U.S. patent applications from 2001+, and European patents 2000+.
View patent images as pdf or other formats.

Chinese Patent Search
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization Patent Search
Search international patent applications

Recommended Books

Spreadsheet Tools for Engineers Using Excel ® 2007 by Byron S. Gottfried
ISBN: 9780073385860
Publication Date: 2009-01-22
Introduction to Engineering Analysis by Kirk D. Hagen
ISBN: 9780133485080
Publication Date: 2013-08-18
For use in the first-year engineering course.
Physics of the Body, Revised 2nd Edition by John R. Cameron; James G. Skofronick; Roderick M. Grant
ISBN: 1930524943
Publication Date: 2017-09-01
Physics of the Body provides a wealth of information on the relationship between physics and the functions of the various systems of the body, such as the eyes, ears, lungs, and heart.
Biomaterials and Bioengineering Handbook by Donald L. Wise
ISBN: 0824703189
Publication Date: 2000-03-30
A report on progress in the development of materials used in or on the human body.
Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals by Joseph D. Bronzino; Donald R. Peterson
ISBN: 9781439825181
Publication Date: 2014-12-17
Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook - Volume 1 by Myer Kutz
ISBN: 9780071498388
Publication Date: 2009-07-13
The two-volume Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook offers you unsurpassed coverage of the entire biomedical engineering field, including the fundamental concepts, design processes and procedures, and applications.
Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook - Volume 2 by Myer Kutz
ISBN: 9780071498395
Publication Date: 2009-07-13

Ebooks

Books24x7.com This link opens in a new window
Full text eBooks on computing and information technology.
Knovel Optics and Photonics This link opens in a new window
Ebooks on optical engineering essential for engineers working with the modeling and design of optical components and systems.
Provides technological background, guidelines, calculations and best practice information related to optics and photonics.
Springer eBook Collection - Biomedical and Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
Full text of selected Springer ebook titles in biomedical and life sciences.
Provides options for printing, downloading and use in course packs.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Full text of the entire O'Reilly collection of reference and how-to computer books.
Patrons must select Institution Not Listed and input their UR email to access the database.
Synthesis Collection of Technology This link opens in a new window
Full-text series of eBook lectures on research topics in Computer Science and Engineering.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a crucial resource for constants, physical properties of any type of substance, and experimentally validated data on organic and inorganic compounds.

Also available in print.

Handbook of Industrial Chemistry and Biotechnology by James A. Kent (Editor)
ISBN: 9780387278421
Publication Date: 2007-11-09
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by Wiley-Interscience Publication Staff (Editor); Kirk-Othmer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780471484943
Publication Date: 2004-03-29
The Encyclopedia of Materials
ISBN: 9780080431529
Publication Date: 2001-09-19
CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae by Daniel Zwillinger (Editor)
ISBN: 9781439835487
Publication Date: 2011-06-22

Websites

Newspapers & Professional Magazines

ProQuest Research, Newspapers & Business This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in journals, magazines and newspapers, many full text. Includes ABI/Inform, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, and Alt-PressWatch.
Wall Street Journal - Dow Jones This link opens in a new window
Access the daily edition of the Wall Street Journal (New York Times, and more).
Link takes you to the "News Page" function in Factiva, which provides 2 weeks of daily backfiles. To search the entire backfile of the WSJ (and many other news sources), go to the Search interface.

BME 101 Intro to Biomedical Engineering

Your Librarian

Off-campus access

Interlibrary Loan

DiscoverUR

Databases

Patents

Recommended Books

Ebooks

Websites

Newspapers & Professional Magazines